We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheerful and Friendly”
Review of Designer Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Designer Cottage
Ranked #3 of 138 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2011

I have stayed there twice in the last year, once in the Designer Cottage and once in the Garden Shed. Both rooms had ensuite facilities. Everything was clean and tidy, as was the kitchen/dining area. Breakfast was a good time to chat with the other guests and the host, Chet, to get advice and suggestions. I was traveling by myself so a bit of cheery conversation at breakfast was a good way to start the day. The location is handy to the buses along Colombo St and small cafes and McDonalds. The B&B is about a block away from Colombo St and is in a suburban area.I enjoyed the time there and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank murrayg929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2011

I had the pleasure of staying in Designer Cottage during a 3 day visit to Christchurch.

The cottage is in a great location, just out of the city and an easy 10 min bus ride to the centre of Christchurch.

The room was clean and comfortable,. Chet is a very knowledgable and welcoming host who cares passionately about preserving the few remaining heritage buildings in the area.and takes an interest in getting to know his guests - nothing was a problem and I would highly recommend booking with Chet on your next visit to Christchurch,

Thanks for everything Chet - Great Location, Clean and comfortable room, Genuine,welcoming and knowledgable host, the perfect combination - I will certainly be back..

Martin - Brighton, UK

Room Tip: All the rooms are clean, comfortable and stylishly furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Hosts very welcoming on first arrival but were nowhere to be seen afterwards.

Room was large but quite dirty - there was a lot of dust and cobwebs in the corners.

The continental breakfast was very limited - just a few boxes of cereal and loaves of bread left out in the kitchen. Everything was self-service and we had to do our own dishes.

After spending the day in Christchurch we returned to find the window was left open by the cleaner (our room was on the ground floor so not great security)

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris140957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at Designer Cottage for 3 days No. 53 while visiting family in Christchurch. Upon arrival we were greeted by Chet who was warm and friendly.

The cottage comprises of 4 rooms downstairs and room upstairs, all rooms have touch screen locks with your own personal digits locked in as well as the front door lock. Our room was large with a queen size bed, electric blanket and side table light. TV and internet access. We also had our own on suite which was very clean.

Breakfast consisted a selection of cerals, toast, assortment of jams, yoghurt, teas, coffee, jucies and daily fresh fruit. Though the kitchen was a bit small it gave us time to meet other guest at the cottage.

Chet was very friendly and gave us a tour of all his cottages and very knowlegable about the history of the cottages. He is very passionate about saving the heritage of the cottages and improving its surrounds, during our stay he had just finished a deck. Very helpful with suggesting different places to see and eating place and easy distant to CBD.

Would recommend this place to all friends and family and both Kevin and I are looking forward to staying here again to see other improvements that he has made to the place. Great person to talk too.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seakimcel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The designer cottage situated in idyllic Sydenham, Christchurch is quaint and full of charm. Me and my husband visited the cottage in August right before the World Cup and were very delighted with Chet’s hospitability and friendliness. He has one of the best intelligence on restaurants, roads not taken in Christchurch and of all over New Zealand and it was really a beautiful experience to have met Chet and stay at his cottage.
The trip was a pre-honeymoon holiday and Chet was kind enough to provide us with the private cottage; No.55 with a cozy interior with a Victorian touch. Simple breakfast is provided which consists of cereal and kiwi fruit (picked from the cottage’s very own private backyard) every morning bread, milk, yogurt and jam which are essentials for a great boost of energy for the day! Chet and his team made sure the cottage was made up every day to ensure the house was clean and dust free when we arrived from our getaways. It was winter and the rooms were heated and the bed had an electric heater to keep you warm. The cottage is surrounded by a beautiful backyard with grass and little ornaments like an old water pump, tool shed and wooden benches which is also great for winding down. The interior of the cottage is full of history and it was almost as if we were living in a 1930s life of a family in Christchurch. Chet has done a great job in restoring and maintaining the interiors as well as the exteriors in such good condition.
While No.55 is a bit old (which you may enjoy if you value a true Christchurch stay), the B&B also have tastefully and newly renovated rooms; some with shared bathrooms and private bathrooms. Do enquire before booking as he has quite a number of rooms which may suite your individual taste (i.e. a solo holiday to rejuvenate/a family holiday/couples classic or conventional retreat).
Chet is a wonderful host and this made the holiday feel so much at home; as if we never left Malaysia. It was really nice of him to take days off and take us for rides around Christchurch and yes the chocolates! Thanks for that :) We had 4 memorable days at the cottage and we definitely can’t wait to relive our stay again; hopefully next year.

Room Tip: Do enquire before booking as he has quite a number of rooms which may suite your individual taste
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shiamila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed in No 55. It is a small and cosy cottage, but the decoration is very tired, lots of scuffs on the paint work and a very large, undecorated, patch repair to the plaster on one wall in the main bedroom. The Toilet / washroom facilities are very limited and the sink for washing in is so small that we resorted to using the kitchen sink instead. The bed in the main bedroom seriously needs attention, it was very noisy when moving.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Artificer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

The Design Cottage has convinced me with its charm. The room was large and tidy. The owner is very friendly and gave me many tips. The proximity to the center and varied food options is best.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Urafiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,984 reviews
1.2 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
683 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
662 reviews
1.9 mi away
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 138 in Christchurch
653 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
#2 of 138 in Christchurch
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Designer Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Designer Cottage

Address: 53 Hastings Street West, Christchurch 8023, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range: £51 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Designer Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designer Cottage was a sailors' retreat in the 70s and is located in peaceful surroundings just off Colombo Street near the shops and opposite Sydenham Park. The walk to the city centre from the cottage will give you the chance to admire many listed heritage buildings on Colombo Street. We offer a variety of rooms, which are all tastefully decorated, including share facilities, private room with en-suite and a self-contained cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Designer Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing