We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, friendly & casual”
Review of Designer Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Designer Cottage
Ranked #5 of 132 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Welcoming, friendly & casual”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed for three nights during march. There was no problems with a late check in and it was easy to find from the airport. The location was good but as we had a car and friends nearby we cant comment on the surrounding amenities. Comfy clean room, & common kitchen with plenty of tourist info. Overall a great relaxing stay.thanks

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sscp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    28
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
35
130
49
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Akaroa, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Designer Cottage is an easy B&B to stay whild visiting Christchurch. The owner Chet has created some interesting outdoor courtyards amd gardens.

We booked in two nights in March at the Designer Cottage B&B, and really enjoy the realax, easy going B&B experience. Breakfast is continental, and served in the newly contracted function room. Viewed toward the water feature.

This is not a five star hotel, but a nice Kiwiana retreat with the lovely designer host.

We wish the B&B all the very best, and we are looking forward to return one day.

Room Tip: I will only booked the ensuite double room. Personally we don;t like sharing bathroom with others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Designer Cottages is a great collection of several houses surrounding a central courtyard just south of the CBD. Far enough out however to be out of the Earthquake zone and if driving has easy street parking Very comfortable en-suite room that was very quiet with a Continental Breakfast that is the weather is good you can enjoy in the courtyard. Great value for what you get.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Seattlefrontrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Thank you for the wonderful Christchurch experience. Off the high pace/noise of the main roads this "cottage" is found in a charming little community on the outside hub of downtown Christchurch. Close to Colombo street and all down town sights. Chet was a generous host, always being accommodating and generous whenever needed. Can't wait to come and stay again!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Papinass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

The designer cottage was a quaint comfortable place to stay. Not far from grocery stores, cafes, or entertainment in town. It's great to have personable people running the place as well. Being tucked along a residential street, it was nice to have it quiet and safe outside.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nrggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

If you are looking for a quite place to stay in christchurch with a relaxing athmosphere and affordable prices you have to check out chets designer cottage!
He found the perfect way to mix the backround of his malaysian culture with a touch of modern landscaping! The rooms are clean and comfortable and the place is just in about 10min walking distance from downtown! Chet and his staff is very friendly and knowledgeable, he even picked me up from the airport and saved me a $30 cab ride! Thanks chet

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Svendogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We stayed at Designer Cottage in November 2012 and were surprised at how much we enjoyed our stay. It was clean, comfortable and a walking distance to the downtown area. Nearby destinations such as Sumner are only a short bus ride away. The breakfasts were healthy and basic.

The star of the property is definitely the owner, Chet. He was our own personal information source on where to go, how to get there, life in Christchurch pre- and post-disasters. Chet is truly a generous spirit. He even offered to give us a farewell tour of the city in his car or drive us to the airport even!

Would not hesitate to book here again!

Room Tip: The room with its own bathroom is quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xybercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.4 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
1.2 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
1.7 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
1.1 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
#2 of 132 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Designer Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Designer Cottage

Property: Designer Cottage
Address: 53 Hastings Street West, Christchurch 8023, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Designer Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designer Cottage was a sailors' retreat in the 70s and is located in peaceful surroundings just off Colombo Street near the shops and opposite Sydenham Park. The walk to the city centre from the cottage will give you the chance to admire many listed heritage buildings on Colombo Street. We offer a variety of rooms, which are all tastefully decorated, including share facilities, private room with en-suite and a self-contained cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Designer Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing