We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“很不错的homestay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Designer Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Designer Cottage
Ranked #5 of 139 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“很不错的homestay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

This is a 很不错的homestay. We have a short stop over in Christchurch. The place is very tidy and homely. Only a short walk to city, many restaurants and cafe closer by. The 可爱的猫 'Marmite' is very friendly and sleepy all time. 花园 is beautiful with water feature and many small garden rooms. Owner is a 设计师 (Designer), so the cottage is very well named. Love the place very much. Thank you

Room Tip: Room with private bathroom is great, our room have a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LindaFong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    28
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
35
125
48
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macau, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Prefect location for us staying at the Designer Cottage B&B. The hosts are lovely, especially the owner (Chet) has created a beautiful courtyard experience for property. Gardens are full with fruit trees and memorable items. It was an unique heritage experience for us. Relax and easy going gives us an relaxing stayed in Christchurch. Hope to revisit Christchurch again, and sure will be this unique Christchurch B&B.

Room Tip: The ensuite rooms in the courtyard, they both are lovely. With a view toward the water garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeWong2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

The owner is a Arcitecture designer. We're lucky to have found the place. Great introduction to Christchurch City. Owner is friendly, and the garden is beautiful. Love the courtyard gardens and the lovely breakfast room. Our ensuite room is facing the courtyard, so it is very relaxing. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Double Ensuite room with garden views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed at Designer Cottage for several weeks and had a great time. This bed & breakfast is a collection of a few neighboring buildings, so the rooms are quite different, but all are comfortable and full of character. The gardens between the building are beautiful and peaceful. There are a few rooms in the main house that share a bathroom, but that is noted in the title of the booking-you won't get them by accident. We stayed in several rooms, including one of the rooms with a shared bathroom, and it was never an issue. If you're concerned about it, email the owner, Chet, and he'll let you know.

Chet himself is a terrific host. We loved having breakfast with him, because he is gifted at bringing out people's stories and facilitating conversations among strangers from around the world. You will really meet some interesting people at his breakfast table. He really wants his guests to be comfortable and it shows.

In addition, he can tell you the best places in Christchurch to eat and give you good tips on things to do and how best to get there. We took most of his recommendations and they were all worth following. The cottage is within walking distance of downtown, Sydenham restaurants, and some local attractions. If you don't want to walk, buses stop frequently nearby.

Our stay at Designer Cottage was unexpectedly and repeatedly extended, and Chet was always understanding, flexible, and able to accommodate us.

Chet describes his charming bed & breakfast as "simple" but his hospitality really makes staying at Designer Cottage the kind of personal experience you will never get at a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank angrygordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Chet came over to greet me even though I arrived after front desk operating hours and gave me some wonderful advice on things to see in the city the next day. A lot of the businesses have moved out of the city center closer to Designer Cottages so there are places to walk to close by. I booked the single room (with shared bathroom) and it was nicely decorated, the bed was comfortable, the wifi worked great, and it had a flat screen TV! Not to mention that the room was clean and tidy! There is only one other room to share the bathroom and because it wasn't booked I had the bathroom to myself. The bathroom was spotless and I am pretty sure it was recently renovated with new tile, sink, toilet (low water usage), and shower. The breakfast was delicious and included locally roasted coffee (organic and ethically sourced), juice, fresh baked bread (from bakery) for toast, NZ jams, cereals, fresh fruit, and yogurt. The overall grounds are beautifully kept & has a tranquil feeling and I highly recommend staying here as Chet is a wonderful host!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cammiekoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

My husband and I stayed in our own ensuite. The night was quiet, the bed was comfortable and roomy for two and in the morning - a lovely breakfast. Our hosts were absolutely charming, welcoming and accommodating. We communicated our travel plans clearly and we received all the necessary details for a pleasant and wonderful 2 day stay. I would highly recommend the Designer Cottage to anyone keen to have a lovely stay - close to central Cch.

Room Tip: Communicate your particular needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 6feb2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyprus
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

The owner is extremely hospitable and nice! Enjoyed my stay in the cottage very much! On the last day I couldn't stay for breakfast, but Chet provided me with some fruits and snacks instead. Would recommend it to anybody

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gkeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.4 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
1.2 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
1.7 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
1.4 mi away
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
#2 of 139 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
1.9 mi away
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 139 in Christchurch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Designer Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Designer Cottage

Property: Designer Cottage
Address: 53 Hastings Street West, Christchurch 8023, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Designer Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designer Cottage was a sailors' retreat in the 70s and is located in peaceful surroundings just off Colombo Street near the shops and opposite Sydenham Park. The walk to the city centre from the cottage will give you the chance to admire many listed heritage buildings on Colombo Street. We offer a variety of rooms, which are all tastefully decorated, including share facilities, private room with en-suite and a self-contained cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Designer Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing