We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and perfect service”
Review of Designer Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Designer Cottage
Ranked #3 of 134 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good location and perfect service”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My friends actually stay at this B&B.
B&B staff/owner is very helpful and service oriented.
Give guest the best service always be their target and every decision they make with be depend on guest priority.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    30
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
36
137
50
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indian Rocks Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We enjoyed our visit and stay at this unique B&B. The hosts are lovely, and the friendly cat Marmite is adorable. Our ensuite bedroom is tastefully and the garden courtyard is just lovely. Breakfast room is clever us of recycle materials. The local Jams Barker introduce by the owner Chet is prefect introduction to our New Zealand trip. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Private bathroom with a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sathiam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I had a lovely week at the Designer Cottage. The staff were very friendly and really helpful. I will tell my friends to go and stay there as well. The tin shed which I stayed in was nice, tidy and cosy.

Room Tip: If you are by yourself, the tin shed is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wobbie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed at Designer Cottage for the 2 nights and wished we could have stayed a little longer. The city centre is only about 1.5 kms from Designer Cottage and the walk into town took us past some great little cafe's and shops.

Close the city but far enough away to be quiet and relaxing with some great eateries close by.

Marmite the cat kept us all entertained at breakfast gazing into ther fish pond!

Chet our host was full of useful info on how to fill in our short time in Christchurch. We will have to come back to carry on exploring this great city.

Room Tip: Our newly decorated ensuite room was excellent and recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chong w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singaraja, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Our first visit to New Zealand, Christchurch. The b&B host (chet) has been very kind to us. The garden is a luxuary for us, where open spaces are limited. Animal such as chickens and the funny cat (Marmite) is really refreshing to our experience in Christchurch. Not mentioning the host is very well travel, and tell us many good places to visit in Christchurch. Again we hope to stay with Designer Cottage again. Many thanks again.

Room Tip: The room with private bathroom, with a view toward the cottage garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KuanHooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

If you are looking for a relax experience in Christchurch. Personally I would highly recommended Designer Cottage Christchurch Bed and Breakfast. This house belong to a christchurch designer, a home away from home experience.

The garden is stunning, and the location is very close to Cafe and many restaurants. Walking to the city square took us about 20 min. The owner is very welcoming and friendly. Thank you for the great time.

Room Tip: Ensuite Rooms in the garden courtyard with garden views are great. The price is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

When we booked our room at the designer cottage, we expected nothing more than a clean room with a bed, and a breakfast. We received much more.

The room was indeed clean and comfortable, freshly renovated, and that with some taste (there is definitely some design). The cottage itself is an old but well maintained house, with several annexes. The continental breakfast is served in one of those annexes, all the guests sitting around the same table and exchanging about their experiences in a warm and chatty atmosphere. Our hosts were extremely kind and helpful, and gave us some sound advices on what to do, where to eat, etc... We learnt some very interesting facts about Christchurch thanks to them. Overall, they did their very best to make us feel welcome and comfortable and we had an excellent stay there. We ended spending three nights there instead of two as originally planned.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank MzTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.4 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 145 in Christchurch
628 reviews
1.2 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 145 in Christchurch
646 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 145 in Christchurch
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
1.4 mi away
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
#2 of 134 in Christchurch
839 reviews
1.9 mi away
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 134 in Christchurch
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Designer Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Designer Cottage

Property: Designer Cottage
Address: 53 Hastings Street West, Christchurch 8023, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Designer Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designer Cottage was a sailors' retreat in the 70s and is located in peaceful surroundings just off Colombo Street near the shops and opposite Sydenham Park. The walk to the city centre from the cottage will give you the chance to admire many listed heritage buildings on Colombo Street. We offer a variety of rooms, which are all tastefully decorated, including share facilities, private room with en-suite and a self-contained cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Designer Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing