We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pity this is one of the few hotels standing in downtown Christchurch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Ranked #14 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
calgary
Level Contributor
139 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Pity this is one of the few hotels standing in downtown Christchurch”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I feel badly nit-picking at this hotel because Christchurch is still such a tragedy after the earthquake and I understand that accommodation is tight. This is one of the few hotels left standing in the downtown core - so the location is good. But our first room was so small the two of us could not walk around in it without one sitting on the bed. There was no place to put 2 duffle bags. We contacted the desk and they did change our room without any rate increase. I was somewhat surprised when the duty manager said that these smaller rooms were intended for the Asian clientele. Our second room was better (somewhat) with regard to size but still small and awkward - there were walls where there should have been an open space. It was in fact so small that I put my toiletries on the window sill. We found the dining room/café somewhat lacking I seem to recall plastic tables and chairs, the breakfast buffet (which I really try to avoid) had more canned fruit and fresh. Also I found it (café) to be very very crowded. On our first night arrival - we were somewhat late (7.p.m. ish) we found that if we were to have any sort of a decent meal without people falling over you - we were best advised to eat in the bar area. I do not particularly mind doing that but the chairs in the bar were hardly suited to eating dinner.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank popsicleCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for your valued feedback. Our standard rooms which you were originally booked into are cosy but do have luggage stands in each room. If there are two people staying for a longer period of time we do recommend our larger Deluxe rooms which i understand we upgraded you to free of charge. We do have a busy restaurant and our apologies we were not able to serve you at the requested time. We do however offer an alternative which is the bar area or room service is available. The tables are wooden and the chairs are metal frames with wooden backs and fabric seating so we are unsure which plastic tables or chairs you are referring to. I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations and we do value the feedback to try and improve the service for our guests.

Kind Regards,
Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    640
    736
    238
    71
    22
See reviews for
184
801
122
446
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Was there only the night before my flight back to singapore. Very clean, relatively new hotel... Very central, bars and hangout spots closeby... also tram goes just in front of the hotel... convenience+++

Spacious nice bathroom, Good breakfast...

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pramodhk30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Pramodhk30,

Thank you for your comments, you are correct - there are more bars and restaurants popping up every week near the hotel which means the city is on the up! A shame you could'nt have stayed longer.

Kind Regards,
Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

The room we got was very small but really new and comfortable. Shower was huge. The service and staff could not be faulted, awesome. Highly recommended. If only all hotel s could provide this level of service. Food great as well. Good location and although the city is struggling after the quake they are coming back strong.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Disboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Hello Disboy,

Fantastic to hear your comments! Our staff in the hotel are great at what they do whether it is in the kitchen, cleaning rooms or welcoming guests, that's what we pride ourselves on. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand.

Kind Regards,
Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
275 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We were surprised to find a 22-story hotel in the center of town, given how many other buildings were damaged by earthquakes in 2010 and 2011. Our room was rather moderate in size but clean, modern and with a comfortable bed. Rather large bathroom. Front desk employees very helpful. The restaurant always seemed to be too busy for a last-minute reservation, probably due to the tour groups and convention groups coming through. We did the next best thing: ordered food in the bar (which came from the same restaurant). The BLAT was excellent. This is a great location if you have business in the city center but there is not much to do at night. I am sure this will change as the rebuild of the city continues. One note: if you are looking for a fitness center, their tiny little room is a poor example. There are other reasons to stay at the Rendezvous.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank activenretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Activenretired,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the staff were helpful. You are correct - the BLAT is excellent! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham Common, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
556 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This is one of only a handful of hotels that are open in the devastated heart of Christchurch. Restaurant is small, but the food is very nice and the staff are great. Rooms are a bit small, but well appointed and the showers are great. Don't be put off by the boarded up buildings in the area, life is very much going on in Christchurch.

Room Tip: There are only two elevators, so get a room on a lower floor and the stairs are an alternative
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Chris,

Thank you for your valuble feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and got to experience the great food our restaurant offers. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Everyone is aware that there was an earthquake in Christchurch, NZ in 2011. Not sure how many who haven't personally visited the city since then realize how that event still colors the center city. This hotel really is a bright spot when visiting the city. The location is perfect, right off Cathedral Square and a ten minute walk to the Botanic Gardens. The rooms were comfortable, quiet and the sleep quality was excellent. The staff were courteous and helpful and even mores caring, especially about the surrounding area that is struggling to rebound. When we asked it here was something small we could do to help the GM recommended "spending some money at local shops and attractions" as that would most affect the resurgence of the downtown area. that says it all about this property. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: 9th floor was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockridgeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Rockridge,

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive feedback - you are correct the city is in the midst of rebuild and our hotel is conveniently located close to attractions that are popping up in the city centre. Glad you enjoyed your stay and spent some money in and around the city!

Kind Regards,
Shelley Jenkins
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I stayed for 1 night and the hotel is quiet nice especially considering what has happened in Christchurch over the past few years. I have found it difficult to find reasonable accommodation in the past but Rendezvous was nice. The rooms were nice and clean with good beds. The restaurant meal for dinner was much better than I expected and is very nice, but it is closed at lunch. The bar in the lobby was very busy after work. The staff were friendly. The biggest downside to the hotel is the lift access. The lifts were small and only one lift was working which was shared between 22(?) floors. It took between 5-10 minutes to get from 15th floor to the ground floor.

Room Tip: Lower floors are easy to access because of the poor lift access
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ant W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#37 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch

Property: Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Address: 166 Gloucester Street | Levels 1 to 15 of Pacific Tower, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand (Formerly Marque Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, located in the heart of the city, provides modern and stylish accommodation for the savvy business traveller and leisure guest, at an affordable price. Offering clean, contemporary design, Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch is a place where you can work at your peak. Use the latest hassle-free in room technology or relax in comfort and quiet. When your work is complete reward yourself with a satisfying meal in our restaurant and enjoy great service from people who care. Straits Cafe our 55-seat, fully-licensed restaurant, is located next to our ground floor lobby. Here you'll find an exiting range of contemporary-style dishes showcasing local and seasonal produce. Junction, our lobby bar, serves 60 peopleWe know that you want a hotel with style. Our guest rooms and suites are designed for your comfort, with individually controlled air conditioning, double glazing, amazing views and everything you need to make working a breeze. There's a choice of four room and suite designs. Because your phone and laptop still can't do everything, our efficient business centre is there when you need it and our gym and sauna, help you stay in shape when your are on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Toga Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing