We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grrrrrrr.....worst experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Ranked #12 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We were there in Christchurch for just one day...a stopover for our next destination...stayed at Rendezvouz. Although the hotel n the room was clean..but the rooms were very small n the beds were very uncomfortable...so much dat couldn't sleep the whole night. Internet was free just in the hotel lobby..so it was always crowded with no place to sit in the lobby... The city is very calm and beautiful.... The best and amazing part is the city is reviving again after a big disaster of earthquake.... The riverside is amazing with a big walkway and lots of fun on the clean beaches..... One can sit and relax for hours on the beach taking sunbath and enjoy the beautiful weather in the evening.... The best place is the central part of the city near the Cathedral where one can enjoy lots of shopping and good food... Iastly I would recommend not to stay in this hotel rather prefer some other good one near cathedral like Novotel.....

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank varunbansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Hi there,

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your room when you recently stayed at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch. We do have a number of different room types and offer upgrades if we are informed at the time. Our internet is complimentary throughout the hotel however it is broadband in the rooms and only wireless in the lobby. I am pleased to hear you found the room to be clean and tidy and that you enjoyed what Christchurch itself has to offer.

Kind Regards,
Shelley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,059)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,884 - 1,890 of 2,059 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

Not many hotels left standing but this was relatively new and so survived. The rooms are comfortable but small and the two elevators must be amongst the slowest in the world! There are not many shops still standing in the city but a row of historic buildings and shops are close to the hotel as is the tram stop which also houses cafes and restaurants. Cathedral Square is just a couple of minute away and so the location is very convenient. Good restaurants and bars are now few and far between in the CBD.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dougalfreebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousCHC, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Hi

Thankyou for taking the time to write. Yes, the landscape of Christchurch has changed significantly but what is exciting news is that the city centre rebuilding is well underway and in and around our prescient there are a number of new builds underway which will bring more life back into the city. With regards to our guest lifts, the upgrades that are planed will improve the efficiency and speed significantly.

Kind regards

Brad Watts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I feel badly nit-picking at this hotel because Christchurch is still such a tragedy after the earthquake and I understand that accommodation is tight. This is one of the few hotels left standing in the downtown core - so the location is good. But our first room was so small the two of us could not walk around in it without one sitting on the bed. There was no place to put 2 duffle bags. We contacted the desk and they did change our room without any rate increase. I was somewhat surprised when the duty manager said that these smaller rooms were intended for the Asian clientele. Our second room was better (somewhat) with regard to size but still small and awkward - there were walls where there should have been an open space. It was in fact so small that I put my toiletries on the window sill. We found the dining room/café somewhat lacking I seem to recall plastic tables and chairs, the breakfast buffet (which I really try to avoid) had more canned fruit and fresh. Also I found it (café) to be very very crowded. On our first night arrival - we were somewhat late (7.p.m. ish) we found that if we were to have any sort of a decent meal without people falling over you - we were best advised to eat in the bar area. I do not particularly mind doing that but the chairs in the bar were hardly suited to eating dinner.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank popsicleCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Hi there,

Thank you for your valued feedback. Our standard rooms which you were originally booked into are cosy but do have luggage stands in each room. If there are two people staying for a longer period of time we do recommend our larger Deluxe rooms which i understand we upgraded you to free of charge. We do have a busy restaurant and our apologies we were not able to serve you at the requested time. We do however offer an alternative which is the bar area or room service is available. The tables are wooden and the chairs are metal frames with wooden backs and fabric seating so we are unsure which plastic tables or chairs you are referring to. I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations and we do value the feedback to try and improve the service for our guests.

Kind Regards,
Shelley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Was there only the night before my flight back to singapore. Very clean, relatively new hotel... Very central, bars and hangout spots closeby... also tram goes just in front of the hotel... convenience+++

Spacious nice bathroom, Good breakfast...

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank pramodhk30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Pramodhk30,

Thank you for your comments, you are correct - there are more bars and restaurants popping up every week near the hotel which means the city is on the up! A shame you could'nt have stayed longer.

Kind Regards,
Shelley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

The room we got was very small but really new and comfortable. Shower was huge. The service and staff could not be faulted, awesome. Highly recommended. If only all hotel s could provide this level of service. Food great as well. Good location and although the city is struggling after the quake they are coming back strong.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Disboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Hello Disboy,

Fantastic to hear your comments! Our staff in the hotel are great at what they do whether it is in the kitchen, cleaning rooms or welcoming guests, that's what we pride ourselves on. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand.

Kind Regards,
Shelley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We were surprised to find a 22-story hotel in the center of town, given how many other buildings were damaged by earthquakes in 2010 and 2011. Our room was rather moderate in size but clean, modern and with a comfortable bed. Rather large bathroom. Front desk employees very helpful. The restaurant always seemed to be too busy for a last-minute reservation, probably due to the tour groups and convention groups coming through. We did the next best thing: ordered food in the bar (which came from the same restaurant). The BLAT was excellent. This is a great location if you have business in the city center but there is not much to do at night. I am sure this will change as the rebuild of the city continues. One note: if you are looking for a fitness center, their tiny little room is a poor example. There are other reasons to stay at the Rendezvous.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank activenretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Dear Activenretired,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the staff were helpful. You are correct - the BLAT is excellent! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Shelley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This is one of only a handful of hotels that are open in the devastated heart of Christchurch. Restaurant is small, but the food is very nice and the staff are great. Rooms are a bit small, but well appointed and the showers are great. Don't be put off by the boarded up buildings in the area, life is very much going on in Christchurch.

Room Tip: There are only two elevators, so get a room on a lower floor and the stairs are an alternative
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Chris,

Thank you for your valuble feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and got to experience the great food our restaurant offers. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Shelley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.4 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
702 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#34 of 146 in Christchurch
961 reviews
0.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch

Address: 166 Gloucester Street | Levels 1 to 15 of Pacific Tower, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand (Formerly Marque Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £77 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, located in the heart of the city, provides modern and stylish accommodation for the savvy business traveller and leisure guest, at an affordable price. Offering clean, contemporary design, Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch is a place where you can work at your peak. Use the latest hassle-free in room technology or relax in comfort and quiet. When your work is complete reward yourself with a satisfying meal in our restaurant and enjoy great service from people who care. Straits Cafe our 55-seat, fully-licensed restaurant, is located next to our ground floor lobby. Here you'll find an exiting range of contemporary-style dishes showcasing local and seasonal produce. Junction, our lobby bar, serves 60 peopleWe know that you want a hotel with style. Our guest rooms and suites are designed for your comfort, with individually controlled air conditioning, double glazing, amazing views and everything you need to make working a breeze. There's a choice of four room and suite designs. Because your phone and laptop still can't do everything, our efficient business centre is there when you need it and our gym and sauna, help you stay in shape when your are on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing