We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Ranked #15 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Qld
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Wonderful service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We spent 2 nights at the beginning of our trip and 2 nights at the end at the Rendezvous. our first two nights we were in a standard queen room, the room was very clean and comfortable despite being quite small. Check in was quick and easy, staff assisted with baggage and were cheerful despite it being after midnight.

We found the bed very small (its about the size of a double) and slept badly so upon our return enquired about a room with a bigger bed, they quite happily upgraded us to a king which was fantastic.
.
The Rendezvous is well situated; close to restaurants, shops and a short walk to buses.
There is free wifi in the lobby and broadband in the rooms, in fact that would be our only complaint that these days when many travellers leave laptops at home and travel with ipads/tablets wifi in the room would be awesome.

Room service was speedy, meals are a little small for the price but nice.

During our stay we could not have been happier with the service; staff were pleasant and cheerful and always happy to assist with directions and booking shuttles for our transfer to the train & wildlife park etc

Thank you Rendezvous, we enjoyed our stay and happily recommend your hotel to other travellers!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMR1316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bbwatts, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hi
Thankyou for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. My team and I are delighted that you had such a positive experience and that we were able to offer you a king size bed on your return visit. With regards to the internet we will be offering FREE WiFi in all guest rooms by the end of November this year.

We look forward to welcoming back in the near future

Many thanks
Brad Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    715
    236
    71
    22
See reviews for
178
786
120
432
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The enjoyed 2 nights in the Rendezvous hotel. Our room was not big, but comfortable and clean. We were on the corner on the 14th floor, great views over the city! The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our check-in took a while, but we could wait in the bar with a complimentary drink.

The hotel is in the city centre. Valet indoor parking is optional, but free parking is available on an empty block opposite the hotel.

The breakfast was nice, with buffet continental and hot a la carte options. The staff in the restaurant were great; my partner doesn't eat chives and they were added as garnish on the omelette. They offered to change it immediately.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EBinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousCHC, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay and made the most of the Restaurant and our great views over the city. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Brad Watts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
237 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here as part of a tour group. One night at the beginning of our trip to New Zealand and on night at the end. Got into Christchurch very late at night. Comfortable beds. Rooms were clean but small. Free wifi in the lobby. Staff got everything organized quickly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millie4t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousCHC, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hi there,

A shame you couldnt have stayed longer! Thanks for the review, and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards,
Brad Watts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jakarta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Though it is located near the central park, still i think it is too expensive, compare with the small room I have got. The staff were nice and good, no complimentary for mineral water. Fortunately, there is 24 hours convenient store close to the hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ancit2an
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Ancit2an,

Thank you for your feedback. Our standard rooms are smaller at 21 square metres however we do have many other larger room types that we are happy to offer to you should you not be comfortable in the standard room. The water is charged at a discounted rate through the minibar at $3.50.

Kind Regards,
Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

After living for 37 years in New Zealand we were leaving to return to the UK. What better way to spend our last four nights than to stay in a hotel, and use up airpoints in the process. The Rendezvous Hotel in Central Christchurch seemed like a good idea. It was either that or a motel on Bealey Avenue with its boy racers and roadworks. So we checked into a 14th floor room overlooking the demolition site that is Central Christchurch. A decent enough room, with a very comfortable bed, pleasant decor and free wifi. So far so good. The carpet was frayed heading into the bathroom, not a good look, and to get into the bathroom you had to remember to negotiate a raised step. We only stubbed our toes once, each. The light above the minibar area stopped working after we moved in, we told staff at reception but it wasn't fixed. A friend delivered a farewell present for us to reception, but the staff there knew nothing about it - the present was sitting in our room. Evaluation so far, nice hotel, friendly staff, but... The killer blow came on our last night when we discovered that the 14th floor where we were staying was doubling as party central for the night. The drunken revelers turned up in great numbers at midnight in the room next to us (were they all staying in the one room?) and partied hard until 4.00am - loud talking, noise, shouting, swearing, arguing, coming and going up and down the corridor, even carrying out a cell phone conversation in the corridor outside our room at 3.30am. Staff from downstairs did pay a visit at 2.30am to try to quieten things down, but to no avail. What could they do? If we had checked into a doss house we might have expected something like this, but the Rendezvous claims to be other than a doss house. Next morning I filled out the Guest Comments questionnaire with relish. Even if we weren't leaving New Zealand, we wouldn't return to the Rendezvous and we won't be recommending it as a hotel to any of our friends. What a way to finish up 37 happy years in a country!

Room Tip: Avoid the 14th floor on a Thursday evening or a weekend, or at least ask staff before you check in w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Dr Bob,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us. I have spoken to the Manager on Duty on Thursday evening and was advised there was an issue with noise from a nearby room on the 14th Floor. When Management was made aware of this he did speak to them twice and i belive they then went out. I do sincerely apologise for the inconvience casued. When we are notified, we do make every effort to speak to the guests to ask for quiet at the time of the incident. I am glad that you did enjoy the room itself and the area we are located in.

Kind Regards,
Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

The staff were so welcoming after a 36 hour flight…they made us feel relaxed straight away and helped us find a great place to eat. We loved our room, which for a hotel was exceptionally quiet and tucked away and the breakfast was a great feast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melbignold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thanks Melanie!

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay here at Rendezvous. I hope you enjoy the remainder of your trip.

Kind Regards,
Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
163 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Because Christchurch is flat, getting around is easy, whether walking of cycling. This hotel is located in the heart of the city and provides adequate accommodations to the leisure guest. The hotel is clean with a contemporary design. Internet access is available in the room and is easy to access. Room facilities are standard and the price of the room includes a full breakfast. This hotel is a 20 minute cab ride from the airport and a short stroll to restaurants and cafes. Also there are a few boutiques and shopping venues close to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teacheragent101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousCHC, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to write about Rendezvous Hotel. You are correct in that the hotel does offer complimentary internet access, is contemporary and is well located in the city centre close to shops, cafes and popular activities. We have some great deals on at the moment too which do include breakfast. I thank you again for sharing your valuable feedback.

Kind Regards,
Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#37 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch

Property: Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Address: 166 Gloucester Street | Levels 1 to 15 of Pacific Tower, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand (Formerly Marque Hotel)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, located in the heart of the city, provides modern and stylish accommodation for the savvy business traveller and leisure guest, at an affordable price. Offering clean, contemporary design, Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch is a place where you can work at your peak. Use the latest hassle-free in room technology or relax in comfort and quiet. When your work is complete reward yourself with a satisfying meal in our restaurant and enjoy great service from people who care. Straits Cafe our 55-seat, fully-licensed restaurant, is located next to our ground floor lobby. Here you'll find an exiting range of contemporary-style dishes showcasing local and seasonal produce. Junction, our lobby bar, serves 60 peopleWe know that you want a hotel with style. Our guest rooms and suites are designed for your comfort, with individually controlled air conditioning, double glazing, amazing views and everything you need to make working a breeze. There's a choice of four room and suite designs. Because your phone and laptop still can't do everything, our efficient business centre is there when you need it and our gym and sauna, help you stay in shape when your are on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Toga Hotels, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing