We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“scw on tour 3” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Ranked #14 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“scw on tour 3”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel is situated in the middle of this lovely city, and signs of the recent devastation abound.
However the attractions are beginning to reappear, with the iconic city centre tram running outside the hotel again. There is a short walk to the beautiful park and rivers, the accomodation
is very clean and well kept whilst the staff are helpful and friendly, go there and help the cause!

Room Tip: room at front and high for best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousCHC, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Steve,

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay! You are correct, Christchurch is on the mend and we are very close to the already operating attractions in the city. Appreciate the time you took to write this review.

Kind Regards,
Brad Watts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    607
    703
    228
    71
    22
See reviews for
171
773
116
425
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel is well located near the centre of what remains of the city. The staff were helpful. The room was clean well appointed nice decor etc. Not large, but not cramped. Good view. All very new and clean looking. The lifts might have been a bit slow during busy periods. Dining room appeared small for a hotel of this size, but there was never a problem finding a table for breakfast. Valet parking was fine. The business centre had free access to computers with internet connection and printers.
Happy to stay there again. There was nothing lacking in a reasonably attractive hotel. I would not be looking for anything better

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SnapperSnatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousCHC, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hi there,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful feedback. It is very much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed the room and the service we provided. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Brad Watts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

The rooms are very good and most have a good view of what remains of the city, whichever part of the hotel your room is located in. This hotel may seem like it's in the middle of nowhere but that's not true, Within a few minutes' walk you are right in the heart of the city, Hagley Park, the casino and restaurants on one end and the other end leads you to the cardboard cathedral and the 185 empty chairs memorial. Just across the hotel is the famously rebuilt New Regent Street, which is a very happening and vibrant street with cafes, restaurants and of course, shopping. Staff at the hotel are very nice and ready to help you out. I would stay here again when in Christchurch.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 201Sheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bbwatts, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hi Sheila
Thankyou for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. My team and I are delighted that you had such a positive experience when you stayed with us and explored the surround prescient.

We look forward to welcoming back in the near future

Many thanks
Brad Watts
General manager
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed at the Rendezvous for two nights (at start and end of trip) in April this year. It was central, clean and all up lovely place to stay. Free wifi in the lobby which was great. Customer service was friendly and helpful. I would recommend this to anyone. As a solo female traveller I really felt comfortable at this hotel. Oh - and I found the bed super comfy!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bbwatts, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hi Sheila
Thankyou for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. My team and I are delighted that you had such a positive experience when you stayed with us and explored the surround prescient.

We look forward to welcoming back in the near future

Many thanks
Brad Watts
General manager
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qld
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We spent 2 nights at the beginning of our trip and 2 nights at the end at the Rendezvous. our first two nights we were in a standard queen room, the room was very clean and comfortable despite being quite small. Check in was quick and easy, staff assisted with baggage and were cheerful despite it being after midnight.

We found the bed very small (its about the size of a double) and slept badly so upon our return enquired about a room with a bigger bed, they quite happily upgraded us to a king which was fantastic.
.
The Rendezvous is well situated; close to restaurants, shops and a short walk to buses.
There is free wifi in the lobby and broadband in the rooms, in fact that would be our only complaint that these days when many travellers leave laptops at home and travel with ipads/tablets wifi in the room would be awesome.

Room service was speedy, meals are a little small for the price but nice.

During our stay we could not have been happier with the service; staff were pleasant and cheerful and always happy to assist with directions and booking shuttles for our transfer to the train & wildlife park etc

Thank you Rendezvous, we enjoyed our stay and happily recommend your hotel to other travellers!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMR1316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bbwatts, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hi
Thankyou for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. My team and I are delighted that you had such a positive experience and that we were able to offer you a king size bed on your return visit. With regards to the internet we will be offering FREE WiFi in all guest rooms by the end of November this year.

We look forward to welcoming back in the near future

Many thanks
Brad Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The enjoyed 2 nights in the Rendezvous hotel. Our room was not big, but comfortable and clean. We were on the corner on the 14th floor, great views over the city! The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our check-in took a while, but we could wait in the bar with a complimentary drink.

The hotel is in the city centre. Valet indoor parking is optional, but free parking is available on an empty block opposite the hotel.

The breakfast was nice, with buffet continental and hot a la carte options. The staff in the restaurant were great; my partner doesn't eat chives and they were added as garnish on the omelette. They offered to change it immediately.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EBinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousCHC, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay and made the most of the Restaurant and our great views over the city. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Brad Watts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
234 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here as part of a tour group. One night at the beginning of our trip to New Zealand and on night at the end. Got into Christchurch very late at night. Comfortable beds. Rooms were clean but small. Free wifi in the lobby. Staff got everything organized quickly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millie4t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RendezvousCHC, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hi there,

A shame you couldnt have stayed longer! Thanks for the review, and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards,
Brad Watts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#17 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.2 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#30 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch

Property: Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Address: 166 Gloucester Street | Levels 1 to 15 of Pacific Tower, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand (Formerly Marque Hotel)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, located in the heart of the city, provides modern and stylish accommodation for the savvy business traveller and leisure guest, at an affordable price. Offering clean, contemporary design, Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch is a place where you can work at your peak. Use the latest hassle-free in room technology or relax in comfort and quiet. When your work is complete reward yourself with a satisfying meal in our restaurant and enjoy great service from people who care. Straits Cafe our 55-seat, fully-licensed restaurant, is located next to our ground floor lobby. Here you'll find an exiting range of contemporary-style dishes showcasing local and seasonal produce. Junction, our lobby bar, serves 60 peopleWe know that you want a hotel with style. Our guest rooms and suites are designed for your comfort, with individually controlled air conditioning, double glazing, amazing views and everything you need to make working a breeze. There's a choice of four room and suite designs. Because your phone and laptop still can't do everything, our efficient business centre is there when you need it and our gym and sauna, help you stay in shape when your are on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing