We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house with great people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belmont on Harewood
Ranked #4 of 141 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this place for the first night in NZ. It's location is close to the Christchurch Airport which is good for us to have a rest after long hours flight. The house is stunning and the host Jan was pretty kind and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrankGUO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Alan and Jan are wonderful hosts and they went "way out of their way" to make us feel right at home. Alan picked us up at the airport, where we had spent an entire day, due to our flight change that we weren't aware of. They made reservations at a wonderful restaurant for us and transported us. The next morning we had to be at the airport at 5:30, to fly standby, and Alan woke us and drove us back to airport and gave us a wonderful breakfast that he backed for us.
There home is absolutely charming! Beautifully furnished and very comfortable! We recommend staying there when in Christchurch and we hope to go back and stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We met our daughter on April 4th in Christchurch to begin a wonderful week-long visit to the South Island of New Zealand. We had previously arrived on April 3rd. Alan and Jan arranged to pick up all of us at the airport, requiring 2 trips on 2 different days; great service! We enjoyed our stay with Alan and Jan very much, with wonderful conversations, food and service. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The location is ideal both with regard to the airport and public transportation to the center of town. Highly recommended and we can't wait to go back. Thanks Alan and Jan.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zapdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed for two nights 1st and 2nd March prior to our 21day Motorhome tour of South and North Islands. Such a wonderful house full of character. With first class hosts Alan and Jan making us so welcome into their home. Excellent facilities and a first class breakfast, easy access to transport links into the city and restaurants and shops close by. Would highly recommend anyone visiting Christchurch either prior to touring or before departing NZ, to stay you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms are first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalViDroitwichWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belmontonharewood, Owner at Belmont on Harewood, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Hi Malcolm and Vi,
It was great to share our home with you both and help set you up for a great holiday with Wilderness Motorhomes. Jan and I enjoyed your company very much and we are happy that you also enjoyed ours. Thanks for your kind words and thought. You as our guests and your needs, are always our top priority and for us, having lovely people like you makes it even easier to help make your time in NZ special.

Travel on and go well. Cheers Alan and Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Alan and Jane provide a warm, personal reception in a wonderful setting in an house full of character. We stayed one night in the red room Feb. 14th which was cozy and comfortable, and one night in the Platinum Room Feb. 27th, which was a real luxurious treat! Tremendous breakfast.The personal service by Alan is remarkable and outstanding: he even drove us to restaurants (we highly recommend restaurant "St. Germain" ), picked us up at our arrival with the Tranz Alpine Express and drove us to the airport at 4 AM ! When I discovered I forgot my jacked at the B&B, I only had to cellphone him and he brought it within 20 minutes. He's a warm, friendly character with a admirable philosophy. If you are in Christchurch and don't want to be in the busy center but within driving distance of everything, choose this excellent, outstanding B&B.

Patrick and Chris Vanhelmont-Meyers

Room Tip: The Platinum Room is worth the surcharge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick_Vanhelmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belmontonharewood, Owner at Belmont on Harewood, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Hi Patrick and Chris,
It was great to have you both choose us as your Christchurch home for your arrival, and doubly nice to have you return and stay with us a second time. Sharing our home, comparing your and our own adventures over a wine and helping make your time in Christchurch as memorable as we are able, is and was a pleasure for both Jan and I.
We look forward to seeing you both again some time in the future when the city has re established itself as the must visit place in NZ. As Shaun Connery so aptly put it, shaken but not stirred.

Travel safely and well.
Regards Alan and Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Alan and Jan were wonderful hosts and we enjoyed their company during the two days we stayed. Beautiful old house with much warmth and character. Laundry facilities are available if required with drying room.

I noted that not all rooms had tea and coffee available for guests to help themselves too so maybe if this could be set up in the dining room for others.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the front rooms which normally has a shared bathroom however we had the bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belmontonharewood, Owner at Belmont on Harewood, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Hello Donna,
thank you for your words and suggestions re the tea and coffee making facilities in our rooms.
Prior to the earthquake repairs, all of our rooms were set up with these facilities and after we have finally completed our earthquake repairs, that has been reset, unfortunately, not until after you stayed with us.
Having five rooms with different features such as shared bathrooms as in your case, or luxury en-suites as in the Platinum room, gives guests great flexibility for both budget and needs and often as when you stayed, we are able to add value by making other than shared facilities available when we have un booked rooms.

It was great meeting you and we enjoyed sharing our home with a couple from Australia.

Travel safely and go well.
Regards Alan and Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We recently had a one night stay in mid-February and for us it worked quite well. After a 12 hour flight Alan was prompt to collect us and get us settled into our room. The overall atmosphere is one that allows you linger at your own pace which was perfect for us .Thank You Alan and Jan as it was great meeting up with you both and we enjoyed our brief time with you and the exciting town of Christchurch . As mentioned in other review access to public transit was easy as we did not require to hire a car isnce we only there for one day.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belmontonharewood, Owner at Belmont on Harewood, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thanks for your kind words. Jan and I love travelling ourselves and we appreciate the extra effort required to pass on feelings and thoughts of the experiences you have while you are travelling and being hosted. Our lovely old home is only a temporary haven for many but we enjoy sharing her and knowing that our guests have appreciated our efforts.

Safe travel to you both and may you have many more fun adventures. NZ would love to see you again.
Best wishes Alan and Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.7 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
699 reviews
4.1 mi away
Designer Cottage
Designer Cottage
#3 of 141 in Christchurch
287 reviews
3.2 mi away
Eco Villa
Eco Villa
#8 of 141 in Christchurch
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
#2 of 141 in Christchurch
665 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pomeroy's on Kilmore
Pomeroy's on Kilmore
#12 of 141 in Christchurch
132 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
#1 of 141 in Christchurch
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmont on Harewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmont on Harewood

Address: 37 Harewood Road | Papanui, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range: £102 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Belmont on Harewood 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmont on Harewood, A quality Bed and Breakfast. Our Art and Craft 1905 Villa and home, is a beautiful 'boutique hotel' and heritage building. 6.4 Km from the Christchurch Airport, we have central heating throughout and free Wifi throughout the home. All rooms have either En-suite and private bathrooms available. Close to Christchurch Airport, retirement homes like Camelia Courts, Golden Age, Wendover and Parklands Hospital, as your alternative to Christchurch hotels and motels, your business or holiday needs, for your arrival and departures, we are perfectly located. Enjoy Kiwi hospitality. Subject to availability, we offer a bus, train or plane, courtesy pickup service. This service does need to be confirmed at point of Reservation. We are fully compliant with disabled shower and toilet facilities and access. We are also fire alarm and sprinkler protected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Belmont on Harewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing