We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Much Selection in Christchurch, but this place was great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Terra Vive Luxury Suites & Apartments
Ranked #46 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Poor Christchurch! I assumed city center would be a bit more built up by now since the earthquake, but not really. This is obviously a newer hotel which has been built since the earthquake and quite nice. It had a nice, cozy room and great little kitchenette. The location was perfect since it was near city center and easy to get around from this location. Overall, I thought it was a really nice place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights in a one bedroom apartment. The apartment had everything we needed with a few nice touches like washing powder for the in room laundry facilities and a welcome basket of snacks. The bathroom and bedroom were nicely done and after three weeks of living out of hotel rooms it was good to relax and feel a bit more 'at home'. The washing machine and tumble dryer are a great touch and were made full use of! The owner was really helpful booking cabs for us and directing us to a local supermarket just two minutes away. If you want a great tip for an evening meal try the Thai container take away about 150 yards from the hotel. Wonderful fresh cooked Thai food and really popular with the locals. We had a take away from there on both nights. Despite what some other reviewers have said about the traffic noise we didn't have any disturbance at all and slept really well on both nights. Would definitely recommend this as a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Top floor was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We enjoyed a lovely weekend in Christchurch over Easter and stayed at Terra Vive in a 2 person unit for three nights. The room and bathroom were very clean, modern and comfortable (comfy bed). The highlight being a lovely spa bath which was a fairly standard size but could easily accommodate 2 people. Overall the stay was hassle free. We didn't really interact with the owners (whom others report are very helpful) although they were happy to make an arrangement for us as we arrived at midnight.

The location isn't bad - on the outer edge of the CBD - we found there were plenty of places to eat etc within walking distance for us, but others with small children or who are less mobile might not find the location so convenient without a car. The street is very busy but the noise wasn't too bad, however at the time there were significant roadworks right outside so we were woken fairly early on our first morning to the sounds of machinery and trucks reversing. Obviously this is fairly common around Christchurch at the moment and won't last forever, and is also outside the control of the owners.

The name of the accommodation could be somewhat misleading. To me, our room was a very standard motel room. Particularly in Australia this would not be considered an apartment (usually with separate bedrooms and a full kitchen facility). I suspect there were some larger rooms available, but ours was a studio for 2 people and only contained a kitchenette with tea/coffee making facility and microwave (which was all we needed) so if you have young children and wanted to prepare some basic meals it would be difficult. There was however a full size washing machine and dryer in the room which isn't a usual feature and was very welcome. Luxury is a fairly subjective term but the facility is either quite new or newly renovated and so everything was in good condition and modern.

Strangely there was no exhaust fan in the bathroom so things did get a bit steamy in there. I also think when in close quarters that are just times that you really want to have a fan in the bathroom. That's really the only negative I can think of and so otherwise would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnasoowho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed for two nights at the Terra Vive and found it very comfortable. The owner was friendly and informative.

The in room laundry was really appreciated and was made full use of. The room itself was comfortable and cosy, you could watch tv from either the bed or settee. We borrowed a DVD player & DVD's from the reception and spent both nights in.

The location of this accommodation is a bit out of the town, a good twenty minute walk away & also there are no restaurants or cafes close by.
We would recommend this accommodation for facilities etc.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackieshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

I only stayed here for one night but was very impressed. Check in was smooth and and woman that assisted me was very helpful. She brought me up to the room and it was actually quite large - probably bigger than my apartment in NYC. There was a large king bed, sofa, desk and tv in the main part then a kitchenette with a washer and dryer, not those annoying combo manchines. The bathroom was very moderb witg a jet tub. The location is a short walk to city centre. I would recommend to anyone.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank ClemsonWendi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I had asked my travel agent to book me a serviced apartment so was initially a bit furious when I arrived to find motel accommodation even though it was very nice. But that not being the fault of the apartment owner they still did their best to help out. We had planned to break our travel in Chch for 5 days and after touring and eating out every night we wanted to stay in, cook for ourselves and get our breath back. These apartments are not really designed for this; but when I explained the mix up; the owner Bryan provided us with a hotplate pan and we had a panini press (in each apartment) which served our purpose.

The apartments are very clean, well serviced and because of how much damage there is to the city nearer the centre -very well located. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment and them a studio, I actually preferred the studio as it felt cosier and had a ridiculously big spa bath that you could share with a friend....although to be honest I loved it so much he didn't get a look in.

Our last visit was pre-earthquake and the accommodation we stayed in then was empty waiting to be knocked down - so the choice is much more limited that previously. Would I stay again - yes!

Room Tip: If you are a couple I would opt for a studio rather than the one bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pumski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Loved the location; loved the in suite laundry; small refrigerator and microwave, and that's the extent of the cooking facilities. It was enough for us since we were only here 2 nights. Big jacuzzi tub and shower; challenge for anyone mobility challenged. Loved the free wifi; hated the sofa (just not that comfortable); We were on the 2nd floor; no lift, would've loved something less strenuous. Overall, comfortable.

Room Tip: Upper levels a bit of an exercise for luggage towing although the host did bring one up. No cooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Belmont Motor Inn
Belmont Motor Inn
#35 of 146 in Christchurch
102 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,028 reviews
1.4 mi away
Parkview on Hagley
Parkview on Hagley
#58 of 146 in Christchurch
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Christchurch
Crowne Plaza Christchurch
#37 of 146 in Christchurch
70 reviews
0.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
673 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#15 of 146 in Christchurch
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terra Vive Luxury Suites & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terra Vive Luxury Suites & Apartments

Address: 175 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#31 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £78 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Terra Vive Luxury Suites & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Terra Vive Luxury Suites & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terra Vive Luxury Suites & Apartments Hotel Christchurch
Terra Vive Luxury Suites And Apartments
Terra Vive Luxury Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing