We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place”
Review of KIWI basecamp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
KIWI basecamp
Reviewed 5 May 2011

nice place overall, very homely feel. quite annoying that at 755 pm we landed as our flight was delayed, we called the hostel and they said "sorry its 3 minutes to 8 and our shuttle stops at 8". otherwise a nice stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller41188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2011

There are operating now!
Staff was helpful and nice. Kitchen was clean but a bit small.
It was cosy and homely feel rooms out there for you to rest at night.
They had free picking up at air-port, free breakfast and milo to serve.
I like here very much.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ngcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

I usually never write reviews for anything, but after reading someone complain about this hostel, I must say that I loved this hostel. This hostel is probably not for rich city folk. Everyone is super nice. A few people sat around, played guitar, and sang the 2 nights i were there. It was amazing! Stay here

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyloubee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

Booked a Double Room.
located upstairs so its a bit hard carrying luggages.
Free deposit box! nice!
Booking-done via Internet. Arrived and room was given as per booking.
Room-Nice! Like our room back home. No TV thou but has a TV room downstairs. Nice closet and nice view from the Window. Its like your just in your neighborhood... but it is.
Facility-No private Bathrooms: upstairs there are 2 shower rooms and 1 toilet. Good thing we didnt have long qeues in using them. Toilet with paper towels and 1 shower room with shampoos...
Kitchen were small nice and 2 of them.
Hot drinks were there and just make it yourself and the bread they were raving about is a simple homemade brown or wheat bread. its nice just cut for yourself and put butter or jam and thats the bfast! a separate bread is there to those who wants to eat at anyday.
Staff: friendly i say.. they know the place and you could ask them for some directions. Im not sure if they have booking facilities for tours also.
Location: Its quite far from the city. Have to walk around 40 mins to reach the cathedral.
Free shuttle! thats great free pick up and drop from the airport! just inform them ahead of time. Nice hostel but a little bit noisy during the wee hours as guests comes to the common room and chat all night long.. and you can hear them from the 2nd floor... thats the downside....

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trent777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

me and my friend stayed here for 2 nights before our holiday and 1 night after, mainly because they've got a free airport shuttle which was great. when we checked in with the manager, i paid for my 2 nights and my friend for hers. the day before we left i went to pay for both our beds for after our holiday. the girl at reception had a look on the computer and there it said that one of us hadn't paid. so i explained to her when we got here, who we checked in with and that we definately paid everything. right so she'd sort it out. we come back from our holiday check in and later that day same thing, so yeah you haven't paid for this and this, and that's the girl who was going to sort things out in the first place. so we're going over the same thing a couple more times instead of just getting the manager to talk to us. in the end we didn't pay them what they thought we owed but it's not the kind of thing you want after a relaxing holiday. overall the hostel is alright, nothing special but i wouldn't stay there again

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liskon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

We stayed in a double room on the first floor which was fine with a double bed with a single bunk on top (the mattress was very saggy and uncomfortable) and a dressing table and chair. It is a big hostel but is extremely crowded and quite claustrophic at times. The kitchen is very small which makes an acvitivity in there an uncomfortable affair. The communal area is quite trampy and also quite crowded. There were continual queues for the shower and toilets which was really annoying. As already mentioned the staff were not friendly and it felt like we were excluded from the long-timers clique. When we checked in we also weren't given much information, and so only discovered a second 'secret' kitchen on the first floor on the day before we left. The homemade bread that is offered is a nice thought on paper, but you must join the hovering masses as it comes out the oven, and then take care not to break a tooth on it as it is rock hard. Some plus points are though that they have a courtesy van for trips to the supermarket and free shuttles to the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msakr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Me and my partner stayed here for 4 nights a few weeks ago and we did not enjoy it at all. Upon check in we seemed more of an annoyance to the member of staff who check us in. He was not pleasant at all.

The room was ok, the beds were really noisy and could wake you if some1 was tossing. The rooms were very cramped with not alot of space for anything.

The staff at the hostel seem to make friends with those staying for long periods of time and don't seem to want to include any other people in conversations or activities.

One of the reason we booked was due to the offer of breakfast with bread. No infact we found breakfast was the bread they boast so much about, and it wasn't very good!

Overall we were disappointed by this hostel and would not advise anyone to stay as there are plenty of better hostels in chch.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kensa2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.8 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
1,943 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,371 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 107 in Christchurch
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
#2 of 136 in Christchurch
857 reviews
0.4 mi away
Colombo in the City
Colombo in the City
#13 of 146 in Christchurch
369 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KIWI basecamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KIWI basecamp

Address: 69 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range: £19 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — KIWI basecamp 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Kiwi Basecamp, we are situated on Bealey Avenue not far from Hagley Park we are an easy 15/20 minute walk from the center of town. Kiwi Basecamp has a variety of room options from Dorms, shares, singles, doubles and Triple rooms, all bedding provided, we are a cosy hostel, we have hot showers, bathrooms, kitchens,sunny deck area and T.V lounge, we have a book exchange a variety of movies and games, The staff are friendly and knowledgeable about the local area as well as New Zealand and are always here to help. We are located next to Victoria Street where you can relax in one of the many cafes and bars, You are a 15 minute walk from Merivale shopping center there you will find a variety of shops banks and a supermarket, we are about 15/20 mins from the center of town and close to bus stops also ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kiwi Basecamp Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing