We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Hostel in New Zealand” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of KIWI basecamp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
KIWI basecamp
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Worst Hostel in New Zealand”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

After having travelled around New Zealand for the last 8 months, I can honestly say that this is the worst hostel in the country. It is the only place I have stayed where I have felt uneasy and worried that my belongings would be stolen.

The building was in an immense state of disrepair and, as far as I could tell, this was NOTHING to do with the 2011 earthquake and EVERYTHING to do with a lack of care. The windows didn't shut, the room didn't lock and the toilet was falling apart.

Horrible location, poor service and abysmal rooms. Truly awful.

I wouldn't recommend the place to anyone.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    38
    20
    20
    17
See reviews for
9
31
56
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Puchong
Level Contributor
151 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

This was my second time staying here. They have free airport pickup and only charge $10 if going to airport or to a motorhome pick up near airport . Very reasonable price. Stayed in room 5 which I love as it has a queen size bed. Paid $57 for this room. Love their free continental breakfast especially their freshly baked bread. Yes, it was still hot when I had them. Their hot water shower was great. Towels are provided free.You have to pay for wifi internet. Service is great especially from Chris the owner of this place. Very friendly person to talk with. You can take bus B to downtown for only $3.50 and use the same ticket to come back if it is less than 2 hrs. Walking to downtown is about 20 mins. Cathedral Square is open again and you can use the trams. Again I would like to say that this place is a great value place to stay in while in Christchurch.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David_TanPuchong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed in a private double for a week after we just arrived in NZ. The first impression was "just another dirty hostel", which turned out to be the absolute right impression for the rest of the stay. The reception staff was alright, one lady was nice and helpful, the other one was ignorant and rude. The kitchen is zero equipped with any cutlery or pots and the promised continental breakfast is frozen bread.......if even. The bathrooms are dirty and the hostel is taken over by staff members who do not do their work properly and party outside all night - being really loud and inconsiderate. The beds are old, the bed sheets dirty and there are weird bugs underneath the mattress. We were happy to leave that dirty. We will definitely never return their again and can not recommend this place to anyone.....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimborly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Christchurch hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stopped in for 1 night on arrival in nz. Had to move on second night as they were full due to rugby but staff found a place for everyone even gave us a lift there and back the next day. I came back and stayed 3 months whilst working. Whilst there are a lot of long stayers they are very welcoming and friendly and involved everyone. It'd so bit of a party place but it's still possible to get a good night sleep as long as your not in room 12 which Is next to the courtyard. The vest place I stayed in nz. Clean, friendly, well equipped, great staff, great customers.i left with many friends.

Room Tip: Room 12 can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonescl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed one night at the kiwi base camp and the highlight of my stay there was that my bicycle has been stolen in their backyard during the night... although it was locked to a post and that I had been told by the hostel staff that was safe.
When I reported it to the staff member on duty, her first reaction was to tell me that wasn't their responsibility, she also denied the fact that iwas told the place was safe and assured me it wasn't someone from the hostel who stole it...
Basically just non sense crap in order not to be held responsible... I had to call the police to do a crime report and the hostel manager showed up. He seemed nice and felt sorry for the theft but didn't do anything about it of course.
Apart from that, I had booked a double room for 57$, cheap but the room was not fancy at all and very noisy as it was 3 meters fRom a busy street. Didn't sleep much.
To sum up, there are dozens of better places to stay at in chch i reckon...

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank rizaucurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julieb2007
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the KBC, and both nights had good sleep - booked double rooms which were good in size. Could have done with a more thorough clean under the beds and shower rooms, but overall an ok stay. Hostel offers a free shuttle from airport and a $10 return trip or as previously stated a $3 bus just around the corner. Great location from city centre approx. 10 min walk, restaurants and conveniences also within walking distance.
Would highly recommend the $20 KBC tour of the city - Chris is a great guy very knowledgeable and takes you out to the hills as well as seeing the city its self.
I would happily stay here again!

Room Tip: We had room 8 and room 5 (5 was away from main road and road works)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julieb2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chch
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Helpful friendly staff, single room comfy double bed but could clean rubbish and dust under the bed and wipe around for a clean stay.
Ask for a towel at reception.
Don't pay $10 to get to airport, as in a previous review mentions, catch a bus and get off at Antarctic centre, one stop before and it's the usual bus fare $3.50.
Noisy location but very handy to touristy activities.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura65684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.8 mi away
Christchurch YMCA
Christchurch YMCA
#16 of 111 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
1.0 mi away
Around the World Backpackers
Around the World Backpackers
#14 of 111 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#9 of 111 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#27 of 111 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.7 mi away
All Stars Inn on Bealey
All Stars Inn on Bealey
#10 of 111 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
3.4 mi away
Haka Lodge
Haka Lodge
#6 of 111 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KIWI basecamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KIWI basecamp

Property: KIWI basecamp
Address: 69 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — KIWI basecamp 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Kiwi Basecamp, we are situated on Bealey Avenue not far from Hagley Park we are an easy 15/20 minute walk from the center of town. Kiwi Basecamp has a variety of room options from Dorms, shares, singles, doubles and Triple rooms, all bedding provided, we are a cosy hostel, we have hot showers, bathrooms, kitchens,sunny deck area and T.V lounge, we have a book exchange a variety of movies and games, The staff are friendly and knowledgeable about the local area as well as New Zealand and are always here to help. We are located next to Victoria Street where you can relax in one of the many cafes and bars, You are a 15 minute walk from Merivale shopping center there you will find a variety of shops banks and a supermarket, we are about 15/20 mins from the center of town and close to bus stops also ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your KIWI basecamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi Basecamp Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing