We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Around the World Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Great Hostel”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This is a Fantastic Hostel, very clean and tidy, the staff are wonderful, extremely helpful and go that extra mile for you. I stayed here for a few weeks and it has such a welcoming atmosphere. The kitchen and bathroom areas are kept very clean and the beds are very comfortable. The BBQ on Thursday is a great way to socialize too, well worth staying in. I have stayed in a lot of hostels in OZ and NZ and this is by far the best.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMcBride2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda H, Owner at Around the World Backpackers, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review and pleased you enjoyed our live entertainment! all the best with your travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    33
    21
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
23
55
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The best hostel in Christchurch!!! I love this hostel, it feels like home for me.
The hostel is very clean, the kitchen has everything you need and more, it is well situated and the staff are very friendly and helpful.
On a thursday night they have a bbq with live music and great atmosphere. The internet is the best i've had out of 4 different hostels i've stayed in. i have travelled and stayed in different places but in Christchurch this is the only hostel for me and i'm always happy to return and made very welcome when i do.
i thank the owner and all the staff for making me feel at home away from home!!

Room Tip: I stayed in the double room and different dorms and they all very clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TylerJohnWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda H, Owner at Around the World Backpackers, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thanks for your great review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

I'd give the hostel itself 5 stars because it's very clean, modern and it's got good facilities (TV room, computer room, great kitchen, good beds) and it's very close to the bus station but it's super noisy and the hostel staff doesn't seem to do anything about it! We all like to have a drink and a chat but some travellers have to get up early etc so if there's a sign saying quiet time from 8-11 I kind of expect to get a good nights sleep but people where out in the garden playing loud music until at least 11.45 and you hear everything in the rooms even with the window closed.. Shame as it really is a lovely place but wouldn't come back or recommend due to noise level at night!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust_fernweh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda H, Owner at Around the World Backpackers, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Hi thank you for saying such nice things about the hostel, I am sorry you did not get a good nights sleep! I hope the rest of your trip goes well. regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The place is nice and well located, the staff is super friendly and very helpful, I just feel like rather than tell me step by step what the rules are in the backpacker they should try to get to know you a bit before making judgement. The lady seemed worried I was gonna leave the kitchen messy? (which I didn't even used). There's a funny smell everywhere which they could get rid of. Bed wasn't the most comfortable but I did have a good night of sleep. Would stay again if the other backpackers are fully booked like last time I went to Christchurch.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertonC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda H, Owner at Around the World Backpackers, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Hi sorry you felt that you were being targeted about following the rules. I do apologise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

After staying at horrible backpackers in christchurch this hostel was truly delightful. The owner is keen on creating a cozy family atmosphere by keeping everything clean, tidy and personal. During the week there are different activities offered such as movie night with free popcorn and a bbq in the back garden. We had a very relaxing and wonderful time here. Definetly would return

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank die-Vici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda H, Owner at Around the World Backpackers, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments we enjoyed having you to stay, all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in a 4 shared dorm room. The hostel has a great house vibe and is very quiet, clean, and comfortable. There's a small parking lot in front and unlimited wi-fi using a voucher or through the two computers available in the reading room. There's also a tv lounge, nice backyard adjacent to an elementary school, and good kitchen. There's a single bathroom/shower on the first floor and larger ones on the second. The staff was super friendly and helpful. They even offered a free bbq/pub crawl on a test run while I was there. There's also a good cafe just a block away.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinktulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda H, Owner at Around the World Backpackers, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I urgently needed a place to stay in Christchurch at the cheapest price available and I chose Around the world backpackers randomly. The staff were very friendly, the house is very clean and beautiful and the rooms are nice, the bed was comfortable and big. If I ever go back to Christchurch, I would definitely choose to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikiran_the_cool_dud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda H, Owner at Around the World Backpackers, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for your review. kind regards ATW team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.4 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#9 of 103 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.8 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 103 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Around the World Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Around the World Backpackers

Property: Around the World Backpackers
Address: 314 Barbadoes Street, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Around the World Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the friendliest hostels on the planet...Around the World Backpackers provides a sanctuary from loud, large hostels. Our 36 bed hostel is approx. 10 Min walk to the Restart Mall, and to the Intercity bus depot. A great place to meet people from all around the world! Kick back, relax and stay awhile. •FREE Internet •FREE unlimited WIFI •FREE tea, coffee and spices for cooking •FREE herbs (and whatever is growing in the garden)•FREE SKY TV - Movies and Sport•FREE DVDs to view•FREE phone for local Christchurch calls and national 0800 numbers•FREE off street parking (on a first-in, first-served basis) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Around the World Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing