We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professionally-run Hostels are the Best Hostels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Around the World Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I stayed for a week at Around The World Hostel in Christchurch this month (April, 2014) and was impressed with the friendly, professional staff and the overall high standards of this hostel. One key to their success is their ZERO TOLERANCE policy for drunkenness in the hostel. I have stayed in countless travellers' hostels and seen numerous good hostels go down the drain due to too much boozing and resulting noise, guest abuse, and hostel damage. You can have a drink here at Around The World, certainly, but you must keep your drinking under reasonable control. Bonuses here include free Wi-Fi, free tea and coffee, free movies and free local phone calls. Very few hostels anywhere on Earth can equal this, and very few can equal the friendliness, cleanliness, and professionalism of this hostel. Well Done, Around The World; no wonder this hostel wins awards.

Room Tip: This is a nice quiet hostel and therefore room choice is not so very important in my experience. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alpinewriting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda H, Owner at Around the World Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments, we all work hard to achieve reviews like yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

Accommodation was all booked up in Christchurch at the end of February, and so a friend and I opted to share the Love Shack private double at the Around the World Backpackers east of the central square. The room was tiny, in one of those detached cabins, but for one night it was all we needed. There was a nice big kitchen with lots of dishes, pots and pans. There are multiple lounge areas, and we cozied up in one with our laptops for a little internet time with our free wifi code we received at check-in.

The girl working the desk that night was incredibly friendly. I had booked a train ticket to Picton for the next day, and she was able to call and arrange a free pick-up for me! It really pays to inform your employees and to encourage them to learn these little details. Because of this, I would definitely consider spending more time at the hostel in the future.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank RunsAmok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda H, Owner at Around the World Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thanks for your review, enjoy Picton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This is a Fantastic Hostel, very clean and tidy, the staff are wonderful, extremely helpful and go that extra mile for you. I stayed here for a few weeks and it has such a welcoming atmosphere. The kitchen and bathroom areas are kept very clean and the beds are very comfortable. The BBQ on Thursday is a great way to socialize too, well worth staying in. I have stayed in a lot of hostels in OZ and NZ and this is by far the best.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMcBride2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda H, Owner at Around the World Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thanks so much for your lovely review and pleased you enjoyed our live entertainment! all the best with your travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The best hostel in Christchurch!!! I love this hostel, it feels like home for me.
The hostel is very clean, the kitchen has everything you need and more, it is well situated and the staff are very friendly and helpful.
On a thursday night they have a bbq with live music and great atmosphere. The internet is the best i've had out of 4 different hostels i've stayed in. i have travelled and stayed in different places but in Christchurch this is the only hostel for me and i'm always happy to return and made very welcome when i do.
i thank the owner and all the staff for making me feel at home away from home!!

Room Tip: I stayed in the double room and different dorms and they all very clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TylerJohnWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda H, Owner at Around the World Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thanks for your great review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

I'd give the hostel itself 5 stars because it's very clean, modern and it's got good facilities (TV room, computer room, great kitchen, good beds) and it's very close to the bus station but it's super noisy and the hostel staff doesn't seem to do anything about it! We all like to have a drink and a chat but some travellers have to get up early etc so if there's a sign saying quiet time from 8-11 I kind of expect to get a good nights sleep but people where out in the garden playing loud music until at least 11.45 and you hear everything in the rooms even with the window closed.. Shame as it really is a lovely place but wouldn't come back or recommend due to noise level at night!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank wanderlust_fernweh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda H, Owner at Around the World Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Hi thank you for saying such nice things about the hostel, I am sorry you did not get a good nights sleep! I hope the rest of your trip goes well. regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The place is nice and well located, the staff is super friendly and very helpful, I just feel like rather than tell me step by step what the rules are in the backpacker they should try to get to know you a bit before making judgement. The lady seemed worried I was gonna leave the kitchen messy? (which I didn't even used). There's a funny smell everywhere which they could get rid of. Bed wasn't the most comfortable but I did have a good night of sleep. Would stay again if the other backpackers are fully booked like last time I went to Christchurch.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlbertonC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda H, Owner at Around the World Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Hi sorry you felt that you were being targeted about following the rules. I do apologise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

After staying at horrible backpackers in christchurch this hostel was truly delightful. The owner is keen on creating a cozy family atmosphere by keeping everything clean, tidy and personal. During the week there are different activities offered such as movie night with free popcorn and a bbq in the back garden. We had a very relaxing and wonderful time here. Definetly would return

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank die-Vici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda H, Owner at Around the World Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments we enjoyed having you to stay, all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.4 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#26 of 146 in Christchurch
2,278 reviews
1 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#10 of 111 in Christchurch
251 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#4 of 111 in Christchurch
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 111 in Christchurch
217 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Countryhouse
The Old Countryhouse
#20 of 111 in Christchurch
217 reviews
0.6 mi away
All Stars Inn on Bealey
All Stars Inn on Bealey
#11 of 111 in Christchurch
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Around the World Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Around the World Backpackers

Address: 314 Barbadoes Street, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range: £17 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Around the World Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the friendliest hostels on the planet...Around the World Backpackers provides a sanctuary from loud, large hostels. Our 36 bed hostel is approx. 10 Min walk to the Restart Mall, and to the Intercity bus depot. A great place to meet people from all around the world! Kick back, relax and stay awhile. •FREE Internet •FREE unlimited WIFI •FREE tea, coffee and spices for cooking •FREE herbs (and whatever is growing in the garden)•FREE SKY TV - Movies and Sport•FREE DVDs to view•FREE phone for all NZ and mobile calls •FREE off street parking (on a first-in, first-served basis) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Around the World Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing