We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The service is what makes it”
Review of City Centre Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Centre Motel
Ranked #27 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Tina will go out of her way to make your stay enjoyable. Hotel is about as close as you can get to city centre-just a short walk to the gardens and museum

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OJillers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
There are newer reviews for City Centre Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

231 - 237 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

It is a converted convent. It is a bit outdated but spotless with large quiet rooms and a kitchenette. Reception was the key to enjoying this area after what it has been through. Tina was amazing and helped us with all of our needs and local info in regards to restaurants, attractions and of course the walk around the CBD and the history of before and after the earthquake. We took the walk around the whole CBD and entered the "container shopping district".

There is so much work to do in Christchurch. The devastation is enormous.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

The motel is well situated just outside the CBD and the Red Zone so one can easily walk to view the areas of the earthquake destruction. But, where it's located, and due to the cordoned off area around the CBD, the motel is situated on a street that doesn't have straight through access due to the Red Zone so it's best to access the motel from the west end of the downtown. The motel is within walking distance to the casino and the Botanical Gardens. There's restaurants and cafes in the area. The room was clean, spacious and quiet. The WiFi was free. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. There was laundry, computer and car wash available but we didn't access these ammenities. Received a complimentary paper in the morning. Would recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RicknElsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We were very comfortable at the City Centre Motel. Mary was in hospital so we did not have the pleasure of meeting her (we hope that she is continuing to make good progress) but Tina was exceptionally kind and helpful, enabling us to get to Akaroa without waiting for the shuttle bus by loaning us the use of her own car. This was extremely convenient for us but seemed to us to be going well beyond the call of duty for a motel owner!
Our room was well-provided and quiet. The motel is very well-situated at one end of Colombo Street - we walked to the Botanic Gardens without difficulty. There may, I imagine, be posher motels in Christchurch but we were very satisfied with this one, which provided us with notably personal and individually attentive service in a lovely environment (trees, flowers, lawn) and was very clean and very conveniently placed.
Christchurch was a lovely city, we gather. The Botanic Gardens remain lovely and we were glad to go there. The central area remains in a very distressed state and we hope that the planning and rebuilding of the next Christchurch will soon be under way. In the meantime we were impressed by how so many business were continuing to trade despite appalling set-backs, and the City Centre Motel was definitely open for business and a very good place to stay.
You have to be creative in your map-reading if you are using a pre-earthquake Sat Nav, as we were. You cannot drive from one end of Colombo Street to the other, evidently, and your Sat Nav may have this route in mind for you. Those who Iive in Christchurch have had to be endlessly resilient and inventive and some inventiveness and creativity is required of those who visit the city, as we were pleased to be able to do.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Mary and Tina are very gracious and helpful hosts. Rooms are clean, comfortable, with a decent little kitchen for those inclined to eat in. Flowers and gardens around the complex are a nice touch. Facilities are getting a bit dated but given what Christchurch has been through its amazing this and other hotels/motels in the area are even standing!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moneychanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Comfortable and clean. All you need for a city break. So sad all the damage done in the city centre. Must say not a lot to see as the centre is cordoned off.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynne_sayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My wife and I spent our first night of our NZ honeymoon here. After traveling for nearly 30 hours, we were exhausted. We were very pleased to find that the motel was clean, comfortable, and in a great location.

After sleeping in we explored christchurch. The earthquake damage is extensive and sad. It's actually quite impressive that the motel is undamaged, given its proximity to the city center.

Overall, a great place to stay in Christchurch.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank dzaveloff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.4 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#22 of 146 in Christchurch
252 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 146 in Christchurch
414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belmont Motor Inn
Belmont Motor Inn
#34 of 146 in Christchurch
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 146 in Christchurch
1,911 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
1,904 reviews
0.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Centre Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Centre Motel

Address: 876 Colombo Street | Christchurch Centrial, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £55 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Centre Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Tripadvisor Traveler's Choice Award for 2011 and 2012, this much sought after central city motel offers quiet comfort and yet is only 400metres to some of the city's best restaurants and bars. Winner of the Summer 2009 Garden Awards for Hotel/Motels, the City Centre Motel is a peaceful haven in the heart of our glorious Garden City. All apartments are set well back from the road and we offer free WiFi and lots of free off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your City Centre Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing