We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super in every way!”
Review of City Centre Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Centre Motel
Ranked #30 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Unlike many hotels or motels where you get certain number of megabytes of Internet usage, here get six hours. Have washer/dryer on premises. Short walk to see earthquake damage to downtown area. Beds uber-comfortable and very clean accommodations. Great breakfast restaurant on corner of Colombo and Bealey. Were tired after a day of driving and whale-watching and this was just the ticket for R & R.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SolemnSojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2013

Warm Kiwi welcome from this conveniently locate city centre motel. Clean, comfortable room and helpful, friendly staff. Easy walk to city and botanical gardens. Would use again if visiting city and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

This was our last of 10 hotel/motel stays in New Zealand and it was the best. The position was really good - easy walking distance to the town centre and an excellent restaurant nearby. Tina was an excellent host who went the extra mile with advice and information. The room was really lovely - very clean, felt new, enough space and good facilities. The free internet was fast and much appreciated. Tina organised our airport shuttle and looked after our luggage for some hours after checkout time. Although the motel was fully booked on both nights we were not bothered by cars or neighbours. I highly recommend this little gem.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne2846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This Hotel is located in a nice central location near everything you need, the staff are so freindly and so helpfull assisted me with everything i needed the rooms so clean and spacious. The linen so clean and was fresh daily. The price was good and I will come here again thank you to the lovely lady on the front desk as she was so sweet and was so willing to assist me always

Room Tip: Ask staff about the tours in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sami H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We had a very friendly and helpful host - Tina.
She told us the directions and highlights around Christchurch area.
We stayed in the Motel for a total of 4 days in December 2012.
The location is convenient with bus to the central area, away from the earthquake area.

We were happy with the facilities too.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We were in the first level nearest to the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ongailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the City Centre motel during December 2012 in a studio unit. The motel is very well layed out and has comfortable rooms. The location is central on Colombo Street- though do keep in mind that due to the earthuqake rehabilitation work, many streets are shut/ open for one-way traffic.
Tina our houst was very warm and ever willing to help.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abhi150581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

This was by far the best accommodation I've stayed in so far in NZ. Tina was so helpful and friendly and the room was immaculate - spotlessly clean and perfectly maintained. I would highly recommend this to anyone who appreciates a clean environment and a friendly host!

Room Tip: Room #1 is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kizza J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Belmont Motor Inn
Belmont Motor Inn
#36 of 146 in Christchurch
102 reviews
1.4 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#22 of 146 in Christchurch
269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#33 of 146 in Christchurch
947 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#15 of 146 in Christchurch
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
#6 of 146 in Christchurch
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Centre Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Centre Motel

Address: 876 Colombo Street | Christchurch Centrial, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £65 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Centre Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Tripadvisor Traveler's Choice Award for 2011 and 2012, this much sought after central city motel offers quiet comfort and yet is only 400metres to some of the city's best restaurants and bars. Winner of the Summer 2009 Garden Awards for Hotel/Motels, the City Centre Motel is a peaceful haven in the heart of our glorious Garden City. All apartments are set well back from the road and we offer free WiFi and lots of free off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Centre Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing