We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of City Centre Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Centre Motel
Ranked #34 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This was a great little place - very central, but situated away from immediate reconstruction. We stayed in a large one-bedroom, which was large and had everything we needed. I was a bit disappointed we didn't get a balcony or lovely outside sitting areas that other units had - but that may have just been because of the configuration of our room. Hosts were very helpful and friendly. Recommended.

Room Tip: Try and make sure you get a room with a balcony or outside sitting area if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

Just spent two nights here. Big clean comfortable room with kitchenette free wifi and parking. Close to CBD. Some rooms on 2nd floor with no lift. Gave us milk on arrival for our tea. Room service breakfast available for $12. Good cafe with excellent breakfast just down the block.

Room Tip: No lift to 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwimpyow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Very impressed with the helpful staff and our room. Small kitchen with kettle, fridge and microwave. Small table, chairs, sofa, TV and a large, comfortable bed. We also had a balcony, but unfortunately the weather was not conducive to sitting outside during our stay. Free wi-fi and milk was provided.
It was sad to see the impact of the earthquakes on the city and there is a lot of noise and dust from the rebuilding work, but this did not effect our stay at the motel apart from Colombo Street being closed so we had a walk a little further to get to the city centre.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romcgrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

You can't find a more friendly and helpful host than Tina and her staff. When we arrived we found that we had made a booking mistake for the first night but Tina helped us to find another motel. On top of that she drove us to the other motel late in the evening. We really loved our stay at this place situated very close to the city center. The apartment was big and we loved sitting on the balcony.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva_Lasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

When you are greeted by someone as warm and caring as Tina, you know you chose the right place to stay in Christchurch.
The motel is a casual 15 minute walk from the Intercity Coach stop and located within walking distance of are the central city sights.
I was in room 10 which was set back from the street. It was a nice studio with more than I needed/expected. Nice touches like milk and cookies upon arrival and a little jar of real coffee and french press for your wake up cup. The studio was spacious and clean. The bed was comfy. The bathroom vanity had large drawers and a cupboard for storage which was a great bonus. The TV had Sky TV (requiring the use of two remotes.) Also, it being a newer model allowed me to plug and play my USB flash drive and watch my movies from home. A closet was roomy enough for my suitcase and hanging clothes. It contained extra blankets, pillows, an iron and ironing board. Heating in the room is good, although I got a little chilly in the bathroom, which is equipped with a heat lamp bulb in the ceiling fixture. Only two guest entry doors off each staircase made it a little more private and quiet than your normal motels. (A nice touch for smokers was an ashtray placed on each level on the staircase.) Lots of windows in the room with excellent privacy coverage. A balcony overlooked the parking and drive. An Indian restaurant is located a short walk away. Tina was happy to book shuttles to train station and airport. Public transportation is available to the airport. See my photos for more room details. If you found my review helpful, please click on "yes." Thanks.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kitchenchemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Tina at the reception was so friendly. Room is clean and large. Good place to relax as it is has a quiet surrounding. Room was equipped with a small kitchen, very convenient.

Happy to recommend this motel to anyone visiting Christchurch.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGFlyer747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

The hosts are friendly, the rooms are extremely clean, bathrooms are clean and modern. Amazing water pressure in the shower. I had a room with a spa bath too. Lovely thick and smooth sheets on a big comfortable bed. Good location to the CBD for an evening or morning walk with a cafe close by for coffee. All the amenities that I needed for my breakfast. I was happy to stay here and have and would stay here again for future visits to Christchurch.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Patchavanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Belmont Motor Inn
Belmont Motor Inn
#36 of 146 in Christchurch
102 reviews
1.4 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#22 of 146 in Christchurch
269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 146 in Christchurch
432 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#32 of 146 in Christchurch
947 reviews
0.1 mi away
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
#6 of 146 in Christchurch
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Centre Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Centre Motel

Address: 876 Colombo Street | Christchurch Centrial, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £65 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Centre Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Tripadvisor Traveler's Choice Award for 2011 and 2012, this much sought after central city motel offers quiet comfort and yet is only 400metres to some of the city's best restaurants and bars. Winner of the Summer 2009 Garden Awards for Hotel/Motels, the City Centre Motel is a peaceful haven in the heart of our glorious Garden City. All apartments are set well back from the road and we offer free WiFi and lots of free off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your City Centre Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing