We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Centre Motel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
City Centre Motel
Ranked #26 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2010

The hotel is a short walk from the city centre with a number of restaurants nearby; it is also accessible by bus. The staff were lovely and went out of their way to make my trip enjoyable. The grounds are well kept with rose bushes that can be viewed from the windows.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tramper89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    108
    27
    3
    0
See reviews for
82
182
33
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2010

Don't bother looking at anywhere else if you're after a great motel.

We arrived after booking the wrong dates online - a month early! (Whoops) The hosts were accommodating, rebooking us without question. Considering we'd already caused them a hassle cancelling an earlier booking at the last moment this was very nice.

The rooms are very clean and spacious. The motel is in a quiet location, but very close to town. Cafe Valentino's in a excellent spot for dinner.

The only (tiny) downside is the parking - It's unmarked so you may have to lug your gear back and from your room.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_BeerMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2010

Wow! What a wonderful place! The quaintness and personality of a B&B, but it is a motel so there is privacy. We stayed in a suite with a living room/small kitchen which was very nice. Everything was immaculate. There were washers and dryers which may not seem like a big deal, but on a long trip, with limited baggage weight, they come in very handy.

The motel is within easy walking distance to downtown and easy driving to all arteries out of town.

What sets this apart from many places is the cleanliness, location, but most importantly the proprietors. Tina and Mary are simply wonderful and very helpful people. We asked which Dominos Pizza we should call as we were weary and they gave us a 3 for $20 coupon they had received in the mail that day. With the also weary US dollar, that was a big bargain.

We highly recommend and thank you again, Tina and Mary for your wonderful hospitality and friendliness!!!!!!!!!! All the best to both of you.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

My husband and I and another couple have just returned from New Zealand, having stayed for two separate two night stays at the City Centre Motel. We booked at the City Centre after reading reviews on TA about this and other hotels/motels, as well as doing other research. We could not have chosen a better place to stay in Christchurch.

We booked two large one bedroom apartments. It was nice to have the extra space and the kitchenette came in handy. As well as being comfortable and quiet, both apartments were immaculate and well cared for. The free off-street parking was a plus, as was having a guest laundry on the premises. The motel also has quite a collection of books to borrow while you are there, as well as a range of tourist brochures and discount coupons for several attractions. The towels and linens are of a very good quality, which is not the case in all motels. It is apparent that the owners care very much about the comfort of their guests and the condition of the property, which is, as stated in other reviews, just a few blocks' stroll from Cathedral Square as well as many shops and restaurants.

The real draw here, however, are the hosts, Mary and Tina. As many others have stated, these ladies are gems and transform the experience of staying here from staying in yet another anonymous hotel room to one of being in a place where people know your name and care about whether you are having a good stay. On our initial stay, we were not due to arrive until after midnight. Mary arranged for an airport pickup and when we arrived at the hotel, our instructions about entering our rooms were right where they were supposed to be, the lights and heat were on, and there was milk in the fridge. Tina provided some much welcomed help with our laundry (after a week on the road in Australia this was very much appreciated). Both ladies were spot on with directions, suggestions, and recommendations about places to eat. When we left Christchurch to continue touring the South Island, we were able to store some of our luggage until our return, which was a great help. When Mary heard that we were going to visit some wineries north of Christchurch, she told us that that was the day for the Christmas Country Fete at a town near where we would be, and suggested we give it a go. We did, and thoroughly enjoyed an experience we would not have had if left to the guidebooks and our own devices. When asked about any places that delivered pizza (we just wanted an easy meal in our rooms after a long day) Mary provided a coupon that had just come that day to save us some money. We enjoyed talking to these charming ladies, and, because of them, our stay at the City Centre became one of the highlights of our holiday.

On the day we left, Mary confirmed the route to the airport and the location of the car rental return, as well as showing us the location of the last gas station at which we could top off the tank of the rental vehicle, if needed. She made sure Tina was there to say good bye to us and, as we pulled out of the parking lot, they both waved good bye and wished us safe travels. Having traveled extensively throughout the world, I can say with some assurance that most hotel proprietors don't ever do that.

While exploring Christchurch, we saw many of the other hotels and motels. The large chain motels usually had a bus parked in front, loading or unloading luggage, while swarms of people milled around the lobby or sat waiting to get back on the coach. Being independent travelers on our holiday, we were so glad we were not among these groups, and could return to the quiet calm of the City Centre Motel. I highly recommend the City Centre Motel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TxOffWeGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

Stayed 1 night 26/10/10. Arrived by Tranzcoastal train and easily got to hotel using the shuttle bus which was waiting for passengers when the train arrived ($6 each) and took everyone to the door of their respective hotels. Well situated, clean and comfortable motel, about 600m walk from the centre, Cathedral Square. It has been built to withstand earthquakes and has suffered no recent damage. No obvious supermarket or convenience stores nearby. Very helpful and knowledgeable owner who pointed us to an excellent nearby restaurant (Strawberry Fayre). Large room with space for seating area, well equipped kitchenette and although only cooking equipment is a microwave, the owner brought up a 2 ring electric stove. Large bathroom with excellent shower. Comfortable kingsize bed, very good bed linen and towels and we had the best sleep so far here on our travels. Shame we were only staying 1 night. It has a guest laundry although we did not have need of it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue_the_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirlingshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

We stayed for 2 nights at the start of our trip and one night at the end.
Our room and bathroom were spotless. The location is ideal being no more than a lesuirely stroll into the town centre and being a light sleeper proved no obstacle to a sound nights sleep.
However, what REALLY makes a stay at City Centre Motel a must are the absolutely delightful hosts Mary and Tina.
There aren't enough superlatives to describe the care with which they look after their guests. When I enquired whether they could recommend a florist they not only suggested one but they also spoke to the shop personally, placed the order for me AND then, while we were out, they actually drove to the florist, collected the flowers and brought them back to the Motel for me to present to a dear family friend on our return.
I wouldn't have dreamed of asking them to do all of this but it's just one of many examples of the care shown to us by Mary and Tina. The fact that this level of service is given in such a willing and yet unobtrusive and unussuming manner just makes a stay here all the more pleasing and comfortable and I'd thoroughly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morrid12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noumea, New Caledonia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

It begins with a warm welcome by two charming ladies .They advise their guests very efficiently and friendly.The motel is really at a short walking distance from the very heart of the City.The unit in every detail is perfect.We have now a second home in Christchurch.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank berema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#31 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#17 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
1.4 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#28 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#37 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.1 mi away
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
#5 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.1 mi away
Admiral Motel
Admiral Motel
#25 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Centre Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Centre Motel

Property: City Centre Motel
Address: 876 Colombo Street | Christchurch Centrial, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Centre Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Tripadvisor Traveler's Choice Award for 2011 and 2012, this much sought after central city motel offers quiet comfort and yet is only 400metres to some of the city's best restaurants and bars. Winner of the Summer 2009 Garden Awards for Hotel/Motels, the City Centre Motel is a peaceful haven in the heart of our glorious Garden City. All apartments are set well back from the road and we offer free WiFi and lots of free off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your City Centre Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing