We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy Memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fendalton House

Fendalton House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fendalton House
Ranked #30 of 130 Christchurch B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Happy Memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

Thank you Pam for looking after us so well and helping to make our time in Christchurch so special. The rooms so comfortable and the breakfasts unforgettable. Just to prove the point to our friends we have a photo of the breakfast table and of the waffles! Definitely recommend Fendalton House to anyone visiting Christchurch.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fendie, Owner at Fendalton House, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Thankyou very much, as I am sure you can see I enjoy having guests and I really enjoyed having your family here . Delighted that the memories are so happy, and hope you return to NZ and to Fendalton House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
14
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Wonderful stay, had a great time.

Great to see the snow, and what a fantastic breakfast.

thank you!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3Dprintingsystems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Bar, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

Pam is a wonderful hostess, providing not only very comfortable and quiet accommodation with excellent breakfasts, but also very interesting to talk with. The complimentary sherry and port in the room is an additional treat! We will stay again if we are back in Christchurch.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ralowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

New Zealand is full of high standard B&Bs. FendaltonHouse is one of them. What sets it apart is the host. There are people with whom you feel at home at once and you are said when parting - even though you spent only very little time with them. Pam is one of these persons - and her American pancakes are the best I have ever eaten. I will miss her company and her breakfast when I am back home and I am sorry I could not stay longer with her.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Queeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

Fendalton House is a comfortable B&B located in a quiet neighborhood halfway between the airport and center city. It is within easy walking distance to restaurants and shops. The guest room is small, but nicely appointed and has a very comfortable bed. Pam, the owner, was very helpful and friendly. She cooked a terrific full breakfast in addition to a continental breakfast with great croissants. The house has a lovely garden and off street parking. It's a good choice for being close to Christchurch without the bustle of the city.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

We have just returned from Christchurch. We stayed at Fendalton House which is conveniently situated between the City and the airport. Pam Rattray ran a bigger B and B for many years so knows how to make guests feel at home. She greeted us warmly, was full of useful information and gave us a jolly good breakfast very early before we caught our plane. Her one room is comfortable, well appointed with ensuite facilities. Port, sherry and wine were on offer for the thirsty guests. In a very quiet cul de sac with off road parking. Strongly recommended if you are passing through or wish to spend a few nights in Christchurch.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matelot67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.5 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
2.3 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#30 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
2.6 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
1.8 mi away
At The Right Place
At The Right Place
#129 of 144 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
2.2 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fendalton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fendalton House

Property: Fendalton House
Address: 28A Kotare Street | Fendalton, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine Bed and Breakfast in small family home, run by very experienced host. NZ $195 per night. Free wifi. One en-suite room with super king bed, walking distance to town centre, situated in lovely suburb between city and airport. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing