We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely large room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpha Motel Luxury Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpha Motel Luxury Apartments
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
436 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Lovely large room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I only stayed here the one night but it was a pleasant stay. I had a 1 bedroom unit and it had everything i needed to make a great stay. The only thing it did not have was a tv in the bedroom, but the tv in the lounge was huge. 2 burner, microwave, toaster etc, enough to cook the basics. The size of the apartment impressed me the most, really felt you could relax, the leather lounge suite was very comfortable, and the best was just like mine at home, not to hard and not too soft. Furnishings were lovely, very inviting and great curtains kept all the light out.

Nice additional details like a lovely soft blanket on the bed, The shower was good, and a nice spa bath as well. The bathroom itself was a lovely size, much larger than most motels.

Check in was easy and very quick.

Location is ok as long as you have a car, Blenheim road is a very busy road, and there are not really any restaurants or eating places in walking distance i think. As the units are at the back of the property (and designed well) there was very little noise.

It was late when i got in but i could not find electric blankets.

Nice table for working on which is very important when away for work. Internet was fast and reliable, cost extra.
I thought value for money was very good, I have stayed in numerous places in Chch and this one would certainly be my choice for space and comfort. If it just had a gym or access to a gym then it would tick all my boxes

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danjonelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    16
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
14
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed in 3 bedroom apartment. Very comfortable. Full sized fridge. Spacious. Quiet. One thing that would have made it more user friendly would have been a second bathroom. Lovely and clean, on main road but noise wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over New Year and were really impressed with the quality of the rooms (brand new and top quality fittings), the cleanliness (spotless) and the helpfulness of the staff (they squeezed us in for an extra night when our plans changed and looked after something I'd left in the room). We'll use them again next time we are in Christchurch.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank synthboy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is a modern new Motel. It is quite small (looks like a large modern house from the road) so it feels a lot homelier, not noisy. Rooms are more like apartments. They are clean, large and modern. I was in a single bedroom, with separate lounge. My colleague was in a 3 bedroom apartment.....fantastic - full kitchen, with huge dining and lounge area and only $40 more per night. Leather lounge and dining suites, huge TV, and at excellent value (in a town where it seems some other motels/hotels are charging more than the facility is really worth). It could be quite noisy being on a busy main road, but I was in a back room, so it was ok.

Room Tip: At the back/down the side (further from the road)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KrisBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Room was very quiet, clean and had everything we needed. All appliances/tv were modern and was a very comfortable 2 nights here. Only thing was water pressure in shower was a little lower than I like otherwise awesome

Room Tip: I stayed in room 9 the 2 bedroom apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGuyWgtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely stay thanks Charlie , although we were only there for a couple of nights your hospitality was very much appreciated. Business trips are always a pain. The rooms were all we needed and the location was ideal and easily accessible thanks again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colinglenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

My mother and I stayed here for one night before we headed down south. I booked and paid through Air NZ and the person at the counter did not know what was happening and asked me to pay, I gave the voucher and said it has already been paid. He said that that this is his friends place and he was helping out - english was a secound language so I am not sure if he understood what I was saying. We booked a spa room, but only 1 bed and I asked him to check as we booked a twin with a Spa. He never came back to confirm so we had to share a bed. I am shocked that the council had signed this place off - when you went to turn the light on the spa bath went on, the button on the spa was a hazard and has not sealed and also no plug either. This is the only reason I chose this place was to have a spa but I did not fancy frying myself. I did not sleep well either as it is located in an industrial area with lots of trucks and business/factories and is miles from any food places and the dryer/washing machine was going until 11.30pm. The next morning yet another person was at the office and asked if I could pay and AGAIN I said that I had already paid - GGrrrr,was glad to get away.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lsimpsondusty49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.1 mi away
McWilliam Apartments
McWilliam Apartments
#44 of 111 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
1.0 mi away
175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton
2.7 mi away
West Fitzroy Apartments
West Fitzroy Apartments
#26 of 111 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Focus Motel & Executive Suites
Focus Motel & Executive Suites
#3 of 111 in Christchurch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sumner Re Treat
Sumner Re Treat
#24 of 111 in Christchurch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vita Nova Motel
Vita Nova Motel
#68 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Motel Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Motel Luxury Apartments

Property: Alpha Motel Luxury Apartments
Address: 338 Blenheim Road, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Motel Luxury Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpha Motel Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing