We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Include the Farmers Market”

Riccarton House & Bush
Book In Advance
More Info
US$38.09*
and up
The Original Bike Tour of Christchurch
Ranked #14 of 238 things to do in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Riccarton House & Bush is a unique New Zealand heritage site consisting of two historic buildings, flanked by beautiful open parkland and ornate gardens, bordered by the River Avon and set against extensive native bush forest featuring Kahikatea trees up to 600 years old. This tranquil 12 hectare reserve is located just 3.5 Km from Christchurch city centre.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Include the Farmers Market”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Have been there and also visited the farmers market which was held there during the time of the visit. Great time and also surroundings. If you want to see some local stuff on the market and buy some local honey, sweets, fruits ..... just check it out.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    91
    16
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bundaberg, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Native bush in the city”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The house would be a bonus to see if it reopens after earth quake damage. I went to see the native bush and it did not disappoint. I liked the fenced area to keep out pest animals. The small cottage was also interesting. We caught the public bus and walked the couple of blocks. We got off at the Westfield mall but it would have been closer an earlier stop in the main street.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leeann287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
881 reviews
547 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“I always love this place”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I started visiting Riccarton House and Bush when I was about 14. I think the house, the setting by the river, the bush.... it's just stunning. I recommend taking a tour through the house to learn the history of the Deans family, then take a walk through the bush out the back. If you're there on Saturday, be sure to stop by in the morning to check out the Farmers Market, if you're there on a Sunday you'll be able to check out the craft market!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KiaOraKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Interesting walk”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Riccarton bush is a lovely unspoiled area in the middle of suburbia.
the walk around is easy no hills:-) You can hear the various birds flying around. You could spend a leisurely walk of about an hour taking your time and taking in all the signage about the trees.This area is also used as a kiwi nursery where the kiwis go until they are a certain weight and then reintroduced to the wild.These birds will not been seen during the day and live deep into tree trunks. Good walk for elderly people as well as kids.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Historic house/garden”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This is a house that is known for an early settler who was influential in the new Christchurch city, Heaton Rhodes. A walk around the house, punt on the river here and the restaurant with also the devonshire and high teas! I like this.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank granlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riccarton House & Bush also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Riccarton House & Bush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing