We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst hotel in New Zealand” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Redwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Redwood
Ranked #110 of 139 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
107 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The worst hotel in New Zealand”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

I had the misfortune of staying here...
We choose the Hotel because Family event at Hotels buffet restaurant. We booked in total 5 rooms for family members from NZ/Aussie and Canada
From the road side the Hotel.... more a basic Motel, looks great.
The Hotel has a in house Buffet Restaurant, Bar and bottle store
Checked into the room... a basic twin room... okay beds... time warp light/tv system, and furnishing. But its cheap
On the Friday night the place come to life... the road in front of Hotel is popular with Boy Racers, Bottle store/Rear Pub is busy with cars and people.
The Saturday night was just as noisy.. The Family unit is meters away from the Bar. I know a family member had huge issue with noise and complained to Hotel Manager twice on the Saturday night.. The sad thing was that Manager was more interested in getting money from the Bar and KICKED out a family at midnight, including the kids from the unit. This is totally unbelievable...
Family Members complained at check out... the lady at the front desk apologize and stated that there is issues here.. however she could not do anything. Some of the Family have stayed here in the past... and will not be staying here again
I had to laugh at the comments from other guest about the Gardens and signs... I know my elderly mother did see the humor on the Sunday morning when leaving there room to be sprayed with sprinklers pointing at the room door.
I will NEVER EVER come back to this TERRIBLE Hotel... The Management need to revisit there customer service... I am surprise that the guest is not king or wanted here...

Room Tip: Do not stay in the Family Rooms they are next door the Pub and back onto the Bottle Store... I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Otagopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    3
    6
    9
    23
See reviews for
11
5
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in February 2013. Just a basic basic "motel" definitely not a hotel, even though it is called a hotel.
Our room had the ranch slider to the lawn area locked shut so that it couldn't be opened, and we had to rearrange the fridge and tv in the room so that we cold use them as they were both in areas where they couldn't be operated. The TV only had 4 channels available, and none of them where clear quality. (Tv 1, Tv 2, Tv3 & Sky sport.).
The funniest and stupidest thing though was the exterior. From the road, the place looks very very nice, and its not until your inside that you see all the signs everywhere saying "stay off the grass" & "Grass areas out of bounds". This was just plain crazy. no one could walk on the grass, or sit in any of the garden areas on the chairs & benches that are provided. All of the outdoor furniture was also chained up so tightly that you couldnt move it, nor in 1 case even sit on the chair.
The best part about the motel was the restaurant. great food, all you can eat buffet selection of 88 different dishes.

Room Tip: rooms had 2 single beds in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Flopsynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

This is the most unwelcoming hotel I have ever stayed at. The lawns were out of bounds. We were treated liked children with the staff coming twice to check on us (presumably to see that we were not on the lawn as we were told to get off). The rooms are very dated, and smell quite musty. I will never go back

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Justme209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Christchurch hotels

Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

This was the least comfortable bed we slept in while we were in New Zealand and the room smelled kind of institutional. With that said, the room was quiet, the shower was good, our wake up call happened exactly as requested, the location was satisfactory, and we enjoyed the veranda and free internet. The service was indifferent but mostly effective. I rated it "average" overall because I think we got decent value for $89.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the redwood for 1 night travelling back home to Dunedin. 1 night was enough. Reception staff not very obliging and when I wanted a snack after checking in it was not possible. You have to remember to prebook breakfast the day before. They have a large restaurant and kitchen staff but try getting any food when you want it and you will be sorely disappointed!
I don't understand how it can be advertised as a hotel as it does not provide the facilities of a hotel.
I think the owner has illusions of grandeur it is on the same level as a cheap motel.
Rooms were basic and very dated.
The unit I was in had only 1 PowerPoint. Tv was broken and there was a gale force wind coming in through the door.
Next time I travel through I will stay at one of the excellent motels just 5 minutes up the road.

Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

Stopped at this hotel about 3 weeks ago. I wouldn't call it a hotel more of a budget motel. It was advertised as being 5 mins from airport. Make that more 25 mins!
Rooms very basic. It reminded me of faulty towers as the owner or manager was a nutcase.
Very rude. No breakfast supplied unless you ordered it the night before. Not what I would class a hotel at all.
Would not recommend !!

Room Tip: Find another motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tauranga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

agree with previous people rooms dirty(mould) carpet dirty furniture dirty staff rude unhelpful asked for my money back they refused shower dirty rang owner twice.he would not answer phone have a beautiful big lawn which is OUT OF BOUNDS so your kids can play on sh 1 or the carpark there is a large broken heater in the room a fridge you need to move to open the door and a jug gaurenteed to burn your kids if you turn your back

Room Tip: keep expectations down
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank angus d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
4.2 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
3.5 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
3.2 mi away
At The Right Place
At The Right Place
#131 of 148 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 111 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
4.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redwood

Property: The Redwood
Address: 340 Main North Road, Christchurch, New Zealand (Formerly Redwood Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great value basic, clean, comfortable accommodation. Recently refurbished. New beds. Buffet restaurant on site, with buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner available. Also, the public bar. Wireless internet. Self catering available in small kitchen. Self serve laundry available. Lots of car parking and parking for larger vehicles. Close to airport, beach, Burwood Hospital, golf courses, The Groynes. Bus at gate. Friendly staff with staff available 24/7. Conference/event/function facility available - we will take care of all your individual needs. Good AV equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Redwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing