We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Definately up to scratch!”
other travellers have booked this property
Red Door Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Red Door Cottage
Restful Master Bedroom Peaceful 2nd Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Red Door Cottage
Restful Master Bedroom
Peaceful 2nd Bedroom
Trendy Decor
Plenty of Space
Dining for Six
Comfortable Couches
Relax in Comfort
Sunny Lounge
Spacious Living Area
Modern Kitchen
Outdoor Living
Sunny Verandah
Tranquil Private Garden
Outdoor Garden Seating
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Christchurch, Canterbury Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alison H
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Definately up to scratch!”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Red Door Cottage is perfect! Two very spacious bedrooms, a large living area, ideal location (easy walk to shops and eateries in Merivale. Every thing you need is here, comfy beds with very cosy bedding, heaps of towels, a well equipped kitchen and so cosy and warm. Reeally can't say enough about how great this accomodation is. It is really easy to find and access, very reasonably priced and just right for two couples.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort
Liked least: Both electric blankets had one side not working, but the house was so warm it didn't really matter.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexvonw
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 11 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We absolutely loved the Red Door Cottage! It is so warm and cosy and the kitchen is incredibly well stocked. It rained for the entire 3 days we were in Christchurch and we simply didn't want to leave the house! It is so well set up and in a great location - definitely the best place to stay in Christchurch! I wish I could give it 6 stars!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So comfortable, just like home
Liked least: the rain! but this was a great sanctuary from it!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2013
Lovely to hear you enjoyed Red Door, and thanks for your kind comments. Sorry our weather wasn't that kind to you, but we do try to make our guests comfortable no matter what Mother Nature does. Thanks for choosing to stay with us, you'd be welcome to return any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee-Anne...
Cooloola Cove
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed 6 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Red Door Cottage was the perfect place for my family's 2 night stay. We loved everything about this cottage - great location, comfy beds, beautiful art works, fluffy towels, spotlessly clean, huge living & dining areas, quiet lane as well as lots of pantry and fridge items to use. It was like a home away from home. This was our favourite place to stay on our New Zealand travels. I would definitely choose Red Door Cottage to stay if I ever visit Christchurch again. Thank you so much for your warm welcome note too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - it was just perfect!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2013
Thanks for your lovely review - we're so pleased you enjoyed Red Door and all it has to offer. Your family were model guests, and any time
you'd like to return to stay with us, we'd love to see you.
Thank you for taking the time to place the feedback, much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Reviewed 8 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Finikity
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Charming home away from home”
Reviewed 16 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

I agree with all the other reviews praising this lovely cottage. SO much nicer than a hotel, and yet such a convenient location in a very nice suburb. Thanks Jenny for all the personal touches and helpful advice. The outdoor area was a relaxing bonus!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Room to move, with lovely outdoor area to boot!
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
Reviewed 2 December 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Richland
Reviewed 20 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Oct 2012
Thank you, lovely to hear you enjoyed the stay at Red Door and in our lovely Christchurch. So have managed to resist the Toblerone - many thanks! Jenny.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;