We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality accommodation, 'as new' facilities, great value, heartily recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
FYFFE on Riccarton Motor Lodge
Ranked #47 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“High quality accommodation, 'as new' facilities, great value, heartily recommended”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Professional and courteous customer service, facilities and furnishings appear to be brand new, tasteful decor and furnishings, compact but comprehensively equipped studio rooms with plenty of workspace for business travelers, immaculate bathroom facilities. Location is ideal, whatever the purpose for your stay, and rooms were warm, quiet and very comfortable. Free WiFi was an excellent 'extra'. External stairs and balconies to upper rooms are industrial-carpeted, and corner studios have outside patio wrought iron table/chairs - very nice touch. Didn't notice too much noise from traffic, even when sitting on the balcony which catches the evening sun beautifully. Easy walking distance to shopping mall, restaurants and University. Exceptional value for money. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Corner studio with a balcony ensured that we had no foot traffic outside our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_Max_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bessygirl, Manager at FYFFE on Riccarton Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Dear Andy, Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and the review, we will try our best to keep our rooms and services up for guests :) and hope will have a chance to see you again in the near future.

Sophia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    49
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
43
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Very well appointed studio unit which was quiet even though the Motel is situated on a main road.
Access and parking was easy
The Manager was very helpful and friendly
Only negative comment - the tile floor on entry was slippery when it was wet

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bessygirl, Manager at FYFFE on Riccarton Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear jean,

Thank you for staying with us and the comment, especially about pointing out the slippery floor when it is wet, as winter is coming it will quite wet all times. We will try to get that solved :)

Thanks

Sophia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Agree with other reviews, highlighting clean and ~new if sterile studio room, great spa bath, 5 minute walk to CU, 10 minutes to shopping, helpful and friendly staff, free wifi, good price compared to nearby sites.

Room Tip: Upstairs with good cross ventilation and privacy, though no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnGaltUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bessygirl, Manager at FYFFE on Riccarton Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 2 March 2013
Dear John, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at FYFFE and the review, Hope to see you again in the future

Sophia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

I stayed in a studio apartment in Feb 2013, beds incredibly comfortable, great selection of channels, quiet, service polite and professional... And was also struck at how well maintained the place looked. Also very well priced given the high demand on motels at the moment... Wifi was also a huge and very welcome bonus!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filipo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bessygirl, General Manager at FYFFE on Riccarton Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 2 March 2013
Dear filipo, thank you for choosing to stay with here at fyffe and the comment, hope to be of assistant in the future.

Sophia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I stayed with my 2 teenage children at the Fyffe Riccarton for 2 nights in December 2012. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. The apartment was outstanding, clean, modern, the beds were the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in, the bathroom included a lovely spa bath and there was a lovely private outdoor patio area with outdoor setting. We were away from the road (apartment 705) which meant we didn't hear any traffic noise from Riccarton Road. There were 3 TVs, one in each bedroom and the lounge room and all TVs had Sky (which my son was very happy about because he could watch the cricket). The apartment was perfect for our 2 night stay in Christchurch and was close to Riccarton Mall which was also a bonus. However I would probably not have wanted to stay for a long period with 2 teenage children because it is quite small. But for the 2 nights we were there it was ideal. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful and no query was too much for them. We will definitely be staying the next time we are in Christchurch!

Room Tip: If you want to book a 2 bedroom apartment definitely book apartment 705 which is well away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012 via mobile

Not a bad little place to stay. We stayed in two different studio type rooms as we were in town at different times. Both rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. The owners are warm and welcoming. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShereeC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
307 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Was booked to stay at the Fyffe by the company I work for, wouldn't be my first choice a bit isolated and no restaurant and none close. A 10 minute or so brisk walk to the only restaurant that did charge back not a great experience but reviewed seperately fortunately no raining. The room was modern and comfortable enough, a few hickups, bathroom flooded when I turned the shower on had to put towel down by door to stop carpet getting wet, had heater in bathroom didn't seem to work, made plunger coffee, plunger was broken coffe grounds althrough "strained coffe".
Fix up the few minor problems nice enough to stay but for location alone i would not stay there again.

Room Tip: If you stay here expect a brisk walk or drive to get something to eat, don't rely on charge back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Athena Motel & Apartments
Athena Motel & Apartments
#90 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Riccarton
Comfort Inn Riccarton
#125 of 144 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kauri Motel on Riccarton
Kauri Motel on Riccarton
#10 of 132 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Amore Motor Lodge
Amore Motor Lodge
#19 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.4 mi away
298 Westside Motor Lodge
298 Westside Motor Lodge
#67 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.3 mi away
175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FYFFE on Riccarton Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FYFFE on Riccarton Motor Lodge

Property: FYFFE on Riccarton Motor Lodge
Address: 208 Riccarton Road | Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — FYFFE on Riccarton Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Fyffe on Riccarton you can expect the very best in superior accommodation and friendly, professional service. We offer a choice of 16 Qualmark 4 star motel suites, ranging from Studio units to sleep two people to our larger 2-bedroom apartments to sleep five-six people. 2 studios with Access facilities.All our units are self-contained with kitchen facilities, ensuite bathrooms (some with spa baths), super-king and/or super-single beds, MY SKY TV with 50+ digital channels, DVD player & FREE UFB WIFI. All units have air-conditioning & are serviced daily, some also have private courtyards. We are centrally located to the Christchurch International Airport, Christchurch Railway Station, the CBD,Horncastle Arena, Canterbury University, Public Hospitals, Racecourses, Westfield Riccarton Shopping Mall and Restaurants, bars and cafes. There is a bus stop to/from the City,Airport and suburbs at our gate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your FYFFE on Riccarton Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing