We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Pick”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Addington Court Motel
Ranked #52 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We were coming down to Christchurch for a weekend and as we were doing the return day trip on the Tranz Alpine we wanted to be close to the Railway Station. There were several places to choose from - we selected the Addington Court Motel because it looked good on their website, was reasonably priced - and it was rated as a Qualmark 4 Star Motel. They also offered free transfers to and from the railway station and as an added bonus we discovered it was a fantastic location to be in.

The rooms are just lovely, we had a studio which was plenty big enough for the two of us for a couple of nights. It had a well equipped kitchenette so if you wanted to prepare a meal you could, however it was easy walking distance to a wide selection of eateries. We had free wifi and we were thrilled to have electric blankets so the bed was nice and toastie warm (given that it is winter).

A free transfer (taxi service) was provided to the railway station and we could have taken advantage of a free transfer back, however we chose to walk as it is actually a very short distance. On the day we checked out we left our suitcase at the motel so we could walk into Christchurch City Centre - it was an easy 20 minute walk. The map we had been given when we checked-in was handy and noted many places to eat along with distances from the motel.

The couple who run the motel are friendly and made helpful suggestions as to where to go for breakfast and what to do in Christchurch. We would definitely stay here again on our next trip to Christchurch.

Room Tip: I would say all the rooms are good - we were in a ground floor studio (number 7).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had a very pleasant stay there, staff friendly and helpful. Our unit had everything there that we needed. Proximity to restaurant and super value store was good. Our taxi fare to the train station to get on the Tranz Alpine Express was paid for by the motel which was appreciated. Highly recommend staying there

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseandRossH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Motel worth with value and it is convenience by walk to restaurant and convenience store.
If you are going take the train earlier morning, this location was a good place for a night stay.
Clean environment, great location and lovely staff ^^~

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank JiaLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addington Court M, Manager at Addington Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thank you for your review and the positive feedback. We are really pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we have ensured that your comments were passed on to the whole team. Kind regards, Maureen, Greg and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I liked this place - convenient enough location (maybe 25 mins walk to central Christchurch), good wifi, clean room and reasonably priced.

It's a motel, so it's no-frills, but I felt like I got good value out of the stay, and the staff was very friendly. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to a friend if they were headed to Christchurch.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank christophjdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Work booked me in here as I was keen for a change from the regular corporate hotels.

I was really impressed, modern rooms. Very clean, tidy and looked after.

Reasonably priced breakfast $12 is available if you order night before, and is delivers to your room on the night prior.

Location was good - just a 400-500m walk to a number of bars and cafés, and reception has a great localised map as well as good advice on the best places to go - pedals got my vote for the evening I was there.

Rooms are a good size, with plenty of space to work if needed.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank NickLanigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We traveled into Christchurch on the KiwiRail Coastal Pacific and planned an overnight stay to go out the next day on the KiwiRail TranzAlpine train.

The night before our arrival the B&B we had reserved let us know that they had double-booked our room and we were out of luck. With some calling around, we found the Addington Court Motel. And it was a good find!

The Motel is only a few minutes by taxi from the train station - and the motel pays the fare each way! Very nice!

The room was quite large and the bed was very comfortable. Everything was spotlessly clean.

The proprietor provided us with a map and recommendations for dinner.

If you are over-nighting in Christchurch, the Addington Court Motel is a good choice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roams-A-Lot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This place is an absolute gem. Friendly and clean with an eye to detail that is sadly lacking in most places. It's just off the main road, but the double glazing keeps the rooms peaceful and quiet at night.

We received a lovely welcome from the hosts, and they were very accomodating to our last minute requests o stay extra nights.

We will be returning to see the magnificent Christchurch return to her former beauty very soon.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ItsTheLittleThings22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.2 mi away
Academy Motor Lodge
Academy Motor Lodge
#79 of 146 in Christchurch
71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arena Motel
Arena Motel
#30 of 146 in Christchurch
198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econolodge Canterbury Court
Econolodge Canterbury Court
#92 of 146 in Christchurch
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
2 on Whiteleigh Motel
2 on Whiteleigh Motel
#63 of 146 in Christchurch
18 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
#21 of 146 in Christchurch
247 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gothic Heights Motel
Gothic Heights Motel
#100 of 146 in Christchurch
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Addington Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addington Court Motel

Address: 197 Lincoln Road | Cnr Lincoln Rd & Twigger Street, Christchurch 8024, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £54 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Addington Court Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Addington Court Motel is in a great location adjacent to CBS Arena, the new AMI Rugby Stadium and Addington Raceway and a short stroll to cafes and bars. Close by are the Botanical Gardens, Avon River, Shopping Mall and the city (within 3 kms)It features - warm hospitality and top customer service!17 comfortable and inviting units, FREE WIFI, FREE BBQ for your use, FREE TRANSFERS to/from Christchurch Railway to connect with the TRANZALPINE and the COASTAL PACIFIC.Continental Breakfast available, cooking facilities all units. Large flat screen TV's Sky Movie & Sports Channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Addington Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing