We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms. Good service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
298 Westside Motor Lodge
Ranked #67 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great rooms. Good service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We were in Christchurch for a stopover and had to leave early the next morning. Everything about this hotel was awesome except for one incident which I'll share last. But from the moment we entered the lobby, we were attended to with courtesy and care. Our 2-bedroom accommodation was very clean and nice. Loved the a/c and heating. There was also grocery shopping at a short distance and a few shops and cafes. If we needed anything, they were more than willing to try and cater to our needs. Loved our stay. Would definitely go back and stay here in Christchurch, especially for the price! Awesome!

The only bad thing was that the shuttle to pick us up from airport wasn't coming for 1.5 hours after we arrived. Even though I had told them we would arrive at 4pm, for some reason they booked it for 5.30. Regardless, they were nice enough to transport us back to the airport very early the next morning before service hours. I would not let this incident detract me from staying here. Nor should you.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    36
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
26
22
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed one night before a flight. The location was excellent, close to the airport, and on a main room so easy to get to. The room was spacious, quiet and had a small kitchen area like most NZ motels. The spa bath was huge and relaxing. We walked about 20-30min to westfield shopping mall and had a good cheap meal at an pasta pizza resturant. Check in was easy and the service was good.

Room Tip: The studio with spa bath was big and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heloni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

Found this motel as one arguably closest to the airport and hence recommended for families/friends who'd want to fly-in/fly-out of Christchurch without the worries of airport transfers. The hotel is on riccarton road and a short distance away from malls and restaurants in the region.
The motel is (of course) family run and well maintained though the outdoors are a bit of crammed in terms of parking space for patrons. The rooms are all well done with all kind of amenities you could think of.
Recommended..

For 150NZD/night, I found the motel fairly expensive though worth the stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nandu_forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Nice motel accommodation within walking distance of supermarket/ retail shopping and restaurants.

Free easy-to-use WIFI and in-house laundry. No fitness centre facilities.

Comfortable beds and adequate kitchen and bathroom - no complaints.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluejack45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

This motel is on a busy suburban road yet it was not noisy. We had a two-bedroom unit which was OK except that the kitchen only had a microwve and hob (no oven). There was a generous wi-fi allowance.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

We landed in Christchurch on 30/10/2011 midnite. We didnt want to travel so far and so I booked this plc which was just 10 mins away from the airport. Very decent place and just nice for a nite stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srisha_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

Very nice, comfortable, clean and well equipped room. Very good and friendly service.
Well equipped laundry for guests. The lodge has a good location in Upper Riccarton with
shopping centre and lots of choices for eating. The room is not big but big enough for a
couple.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margareta189852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.8 mi away
Academy Motor Lodge
Academy Motor Lodge
#75 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.6 mi away
Athena Motel & Apartments
Athena Motel & Apartments
#86 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#88 of 144 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vita Nova Motel
Vita Nova Motel
#62 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.1 mi away
315 Motel Riccarton
315 Motel Riccarton
#22 of 130 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.4 mi away
FYFFE on Riccarton Motor Lodge
FYFFE on Riccarton Motor Lodge
#47 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 298 Westside Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 298 Westside Motor Lodge

Property: 298 Westside Motor Lodge
Address: 298 Riccarton Road | Upper Riccarton, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
#43 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 298 Westside Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
298 Westside Motor Lodge has 18 well appointed units ranging in size from studio (two with spas) to three bedroom units. All units have a full kitchen, with attached bathroom and off-street parking. Queen and King size beds plus a combination of twin beds and a sofa bed in the lounge enable units to accommodate a variety of family and friend combinations. While communal facilities such as a free guest laundry and BBQ Area help to make your stay more comfortable. All of these facilities and features ensures that we have some of the best accommodation Christchurch has available. Our motel is an extremely popular choice for those looking for temporary Canterbury of University accommodation. Just 800m from campus, we couldn't be much closer. We are conveniently located. Here's a few key places within a short distance. 1km to Westfield Riccarton - the largest mall in the South Island 500m to the Bush Inn Centre - restaurants, bars and retail outlets 800m to the University of Canterbury 1km to the College of Education 3.5kms to the CBS Canterbury Arena - concert, exhibition and sports centre 3.5kms to Addington Raceway - trotting and dog races 3.5kms to Riccarton Racecourse - gallops 5kms to Christchurch City Centre 7kms to Christchurch Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your 298 Westside Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
298 Westside Motor Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing