We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A terrible welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
298 Westside Motor Lodge
Ranked #68 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Selangor
1 review
“A terrible welcome”
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Our family of 9 adults and 1 child was travelling in a 12 seater ford transit. We noticed that the host was being very suspicious..he was peeking out of the window when we arrived. He barged into our room soon after we entered and accused us very loudly saying we had 12 people more than the number of people allowed in the apartment which was meant for 7 people. Even the next door neighbour opened their door to see what was going on. Yes we had 9 people at that point of time but that doesn't mean that all 9 will stay in the apartment. Are we not even allowed to get together in the room? He even mentioned that he will come later at 11pm to do a headcount.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fan04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    36
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
26
22
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangi, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We booked an apartment for 7 person and there were only 4 adults and a child in our group. But we ran out of hot water the next morning. Thank God we stayed for one night only...Because of the shower curtain, the bathroom gets wet all over the place. We also had to hurry to reach the place before 9 pm which we find quite inconvenient because we had a long drive from Mt. Cook Village.Would not recommend a stay at this motel..

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank anilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Rooms are clean but not as cosy as we would like it to be (as with most other motels and guest house in South Island). Stayed there for one night and by morning the main heater was no longer working and hot water also ran out.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bez7017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We received our usual warm welcome at this good motel. The rooms was fine though ours opened virtually onto the main road. However (and this could be just us) the noise was not too bad and we both slept well.

The motel was awkward to get out of during the rush hour onto the main road especially if you are not are confident. Having said that the motel was in a convenient location near to a large shopping mall and a short distance from the airport.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper do avoid the rooms near to the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnystaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We had a 2 bedroom unit for $175 incl GST a night. Very quiet even though on a main road though being on the ground floor we could hear all the goings on in the unit above so the floors/ceiling not well insulated as could hear their alarm go off at 5.00 a.m and when they went to the toilet! Apart from that, clean and tidy, warm and free wifi a bonus.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Only stayed one night, lodge isn't too far from the airport - think it was 15 mins drive away. We got reception to book the shared shuttle that will pick you up from in front of your unit - you lock up and can leave the keys to your unit in a small outdoor box outside reception if you're leaving early.

Friendly welcome, got showed around, free milk. Very modern unit - very clean, well equipped and nice jet bath to relax in plus shower.

Basic cooking facilities and a/c unit. Some tea/coffee and a few biscuits were left out too.

Next to a busy road, noise wasn't an issue.

Nearby shops for supplies!

Free internet and use of the washing machine was helpful :)

Each unit has a car space outside.

Grounds were well kept.

Would stay here again as rates were good, property offered was of a good standard and modern.

Room Tip: Share the cost to the airport and book the shared shuttle - they arrived on time and were much cheap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 27L09R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Booked this motel through the Qantas website. Stayed two nights. Arrived late. Emailed prior and arranged for late check-in. The room was modern with good bathroom facilities and the bed was comfortable. Hot water ran almost instantly. The room had a "heat pump" or reverse cycle air conditioner which was great for the cold mornings. Bed made up during the day.

Only draw back, which was not for me, but for others maybe the noise from the roadway.

I really enjoyed my stay here. I will stay here again when next in Christchurch.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qantas_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
162 Kings of Riccarton Motel
162 Kings of Riccarton Motel
#78 of 144 in Christchurch
39 reviews
0.8 mi away
Academy Motor Lodge
Academy Motor Lodge
#74 of 144 in Christchurch
67 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Elms
Quality Hotel Elms
#35 of 144 in Christchurch
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aalton Motel
Aalton Motel
#53 of 144 in Christchurch
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vita Nova Motel
Vita Nova Motel
#71 of 144 in Christchurch
41 reviews
0.1 mi away
ASURE 306 On Riccarton Motel
ASURE 306 On Riccarton Motel
#40 of 144 in Christchurch
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 298 Westside Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 298 Westside Motor Lodge

Property: 298 Westside Motor Lodge
Address: 298 Riccarton Road | Upper Riccarton, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
#42 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 298 Westside Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
298 Westside Motor Lodge has 18 well appointed units ranging in size from studio (two with spas) to three bedroom units. All units have a full kitchen, with attached bathroom and off-street parking. Queen and King size beds plus a combination of twin beds and a sofa bed in the lounge enable units to accommodate a variety of family and friend combinations. While communal facilities such as a free guest laundry and BBQ Area help to make your stay more comfortable. All of these facilities and features ensures that we have some of the best accommodation Christchurch has available. Our motel is an extremely popular choice for those looking for temporary Canterbury of University accommodation. Just 800m from campus, we couldn't be much closer. We are conveniently located. Here's a few key places within a short distance. 1km to Westfield Riccarton - the largest mall in the South Island 500m to the Bush Inn Centre - restaurants, bars and retail outlets 800m to the University of Canterbury 1km to the College of Education 3.5kms to the CBS Canterbury Arena - concert, exhibition and sports centre 3.5kms to Addington Raceway - trotting and dog races 3.5kms to Riccarton Racecourse - gallops 5kms to Christchurch City Centre 7kms to Christchurch Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your 298 Westside Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
298 Westside Motor Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing