We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
298 Westside Motor Lodge
Ranked #69 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

The accommodation is at a good location, takes only few mins to Westfield mall, church corner mall and university. It is at the main road of Christchurch,restaurants are nearby. Staffs are nice. Good stay, would like to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sevenroro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    36
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
26
22
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Right on Riccarton Road which is a main road into Christchurch. Close to a market and eating places but a bit away from the center of the city. But we were leaving the next day from the airport and the motel is only about 10 minutes away. Nice, clean rooms, good wifi and the room we got was away from the street and very quiet.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wekims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed just outside of Christchurch at Upper Riccarton, the accomadation we required was 3 rooms this place suited our needs. We were in walking distance to the local shopping centres and amenities, but had to drive approx 15 mins into the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debnkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for an overnight stay while traveling through Christchurch. The room was great. Large, clean, modern. Good bathroom and shower. Toaster and microwave. Friendly staff. The laundry was free, with washing machine and drier, you just need your own detergent, or buy it from reception. Loved it.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Our family of four stayed one night on the way to Dunedin. We booked in late and were welcomed by the friendly owner. The car-parking was a bit tight - but the unit was well appointed, compact and clean. The beds were comfortable - and low noise being at the back of the complex away from the road. Proximity to Ric Road shops was helpful. Would stay again for short term visit to Chch.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from Ric Rd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G4_Whanau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2012

It was our last night in the beautiful South Island but unfortunately it was also the most shocking! Upon checking in this motel and carrying our luggage to our upstairs apartment, we had a terrible shock. The owner suddenly appeared in front of our door and in raised tones was asking us how many people were in the apartment. He even said that he would do a headcount at 11pm! We had nine adults altogether but two were scouting for other motels nearby. The point is here, the owner did not have to yell at us. He could have asked us politely instead of having a preconceived mind about how many people were staying in. It would have made our stay a more pleasant one. Luckily, we only stayed for a night and checked out early the next morning.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mika08_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selangor
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Our family of 9 adults and 1 child was travelling in a 12 seater ford transit. We noticed that the host was being very suspicious..he was peeking out of the window when we arrived. He barged into our room soon after we entered and accused us very loudly saying we had 12 people more than the number of people allowed in the apartment which was meant for 7 people. Even the next door neighbour opened their door to see what was going on. Yes we had 9 people at that point of time but that doesn't mean that all 9 will stay in the apartment. Are we not even allowed to get together in the room? He even mentioned that he will come later at 11pm to do a headcount.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fan04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
162 Kings of Riccarton Motel
162 Kings of Riccarton Motel
#78 of 144 in Christchurch
38 reviews
0.8 mi away
Academy Motor Lodge
Academy Motor Lodge
#70 of 144 in Christchurch
67 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Elms
Quality Hotel Elms
#35 of 144 in Christchurch
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aalton Motel
Aalton Motel
#54 of 144 in Christchurch
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vita Nova Motel
Vita Nova Motel
#66 of 144 in Christchurch
41 reviews
0.1 mi away
ASURE 306 On Riccarton Motel
ASURE 306 On Riccarton Motel
#41 of 144 in Christchurch
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 298 Westside Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 298 Westside Motor Lodge

Property: 298 Westside Motor Lodge
Address: 298 Riccarton Road | Upper Riccarton, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
#41 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 298 Westside Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
298 Westside Motor Lodge has 18 well appointed units ranging in size from studio (two with spas) to three bedroom units. All units have a full kitchen, with attached bathroom and off-street parking. Queen and King size beds plus a combination of twin beds and a sofa bed in the lounge enable units to accommodate a variety of family and friend combinations. While communal facilities such as a free guest laundry and BBQ Area help to make your stay more comfortable. All of these facilities and features ensures that we have some of the best accommodation Christchurch has available. Our motel is an extremely popular choice for those looking for temporary Canterbury of University accommodation. Just 800m from campus, we couldn't be much closer. We are conveniently located. Here's a few key places within a short distance. 1km to Westfield Riccarton - the largest mall in the South Island 500m to the Bush Inn Centre - restaurants, bars and retail outlets 800m to the University of Canterbury 1km to the College of Education 3.5kms to the CBS Canterbury Arena - concert, exhibition and sports centre 3.5kms to Addington Raceway - trotting and dog races 3.5kms to Riccarton Racecourse - gallops 5kms to Christchurch City Centre 7kms to Christchurch Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your 298 Westside Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
298 Westside Motor Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing