We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
298 Westside Motor Lodge
Ranked #68 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel is very comfortable indeed. With nicely sized rooms and living areas as well as a well equipped kitchen. 3 of us stayed in the motel, with 2 in the master bedroom and one on a single bed in the lounge. Cleaners are very efficient and effective which is very positive during a stay of more than a couple of nights. The motel is on the long distance side, in terms of walking distance to Riccarton mall, but parking is ample so not really an issue in the area. The main thing is that the Shower was extremely bad. The water pressure was very very poor and at times was little more than a dribble. This was the only negative thing about the motel but it's something that sticks in the memory when you barely feel clean after showering. But as I say, this was the only thing, and in general the place was great. Owner is also extremely friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
298Westside, Manager at 298 Westside Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 16 December 2014
Thank you for your review,

happy to hear that your enjoyed your stay:)

we had replaced the shower head for the unit and it would be no problem for the show at all now, as all the units have their own cylinders:)

wish you have a merry Christmas:)

Kind Regards,

Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    36
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
26
22
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The rooms were neat and space was adequate. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. While the motel was away from the town center, it was close to some really good food places and shopping for provisions was also convenient. It was also a 15 minute walk to the intercity bus stop which worked well for us since we were touring the South Island by bus.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rashdahod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
298Westside, Manager at 298 Westside Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 16 December 2014
Thank you for your review,

we wish you a merry Christmas and happy new year.

Kind Regards,

Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

When we booked in, we were allocated an upstairs studio unit. The ensuire had a steeply sloping ceiling, not doubt imposed by building regulations to avoid shading adjoining properties, and care was necesssary to avoid bumping your head. Otherwise there was little to complain about. The motel is on a busy road with umpteen other motels giving competition which helps moderate prices. There is a bus stop right outside the front entrance.
We had no hesitation in booking again after a brief 3 day break outside Christchurch. This time we were allocated a ground floor studio unit. No problem with the ceiling. There was a net curtain over the entrance and front window allowing daylight into the unit and giving privacy from people in the courtyard, but none over the rear window. Occupants of 1st floor units had a clear view into our unit. There are of course heavy curtains for drawing at night.
If a taxi is required to the airport there is a cost advantage in ordering it through the office rather than ringing from the unit.
It may be some time before we visit Christchurch again, but see no reason why we would not stay again at this motel, which thoroughly deserves the 4.5 star ranking it has been given.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
298Westside, Owner at 298 Westside Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 16 December 2014
Thank you Henry,

we wish you a merry Christmas and happy new year.

Looking to see you again.

Kind Regards,

Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom that we found was clean and quiet, service was good, small lounge with large TV and small TV in one bedroom but as only staying one night was ok .Car parking was good and easy to get into and exit

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
298Westside, Owner at 298 Westside Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 16 December 2014
Thank you Nigel,

we wish you a merry Christmas and happy new year.

and we just had our sky 50+ channels installed in all the unit now, more channels and more like home.

Looking to see you again.

Kind Regards,

Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This motel is great value for money. Well located in Christchurch. Rooms are clean and tidy with a big Sony TV and all amenities. Ideal for large wedding parties which they seem to have quite a few of. We stayed for 4 nights. Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnycash72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
298Westside, Owner at 298 Westside Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 16 December 2014
Thank you review

we wish you a merry Christmas and happy new year.

Looking to see you again, and you will enjoy our new 50+channels for your next stay:)

Kind Regards,

Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I found the reception lady/manager/owner to be cold and of no real wanting to be there or to be friendly.
Room was ok, but kept knocking my head on angled ceiling , shower had good temp and water pressure

Room was a little noisy from street noise, but was clean and tidy

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment, which we found to be very clean, quiet and comfortable. The staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful, especially the cleaning staff (they do amazing job). The unit had everything you needed, well equipped kitchenette, tv in lounge area, plus one in the second bedroom. The overall size of the unit was smaller than I had expected , however there were three adults staying and we had enough space. Location is good, very easy access to buses, the university and short drive to city centre. In the unit was good information about things to do in Christchurch and an outstanding book about restaurants by location , very handy. Recommendation - don't look any further stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
162 Kings of Riccarton Motel
162 Kings of Riccarton Motel
#78 of 144 in Christchurch
39 reviews
0.8 mi away
Academy Motor Lodge
Academy Motor Lodge
#74 of 144 in Christchurch
67 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Elms
Quality Hotel Elms
#35 of 144 in Christchurch
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aalton Motel
Aalton Motel
#53 of 144 in Christchurch
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vita Nova Motel
Vita Nova Motel
#71 of 144 in Christchurch
41 reviews
0.1 mi away
ASURE 306 On Riccarton Motel
ASURE 306 On Riccarton Motel
#40 of 144 in Christchurch
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 298 Westside Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 298 Westside Motor Lodge

Property: 298 Westside Motor Lodge
Address: 298 Riccarton Road | Upper Riccarton, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
#42 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 298 Westside Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
298 Westside Motor Lodge has 18 well appointed units ranging in size from studio (two with spas) to three bedroom units. All units have a full kitchen, with attached bathroom and off-street parking. Queen and King size beds plus a combination of twin beds and a sofa bed in the lounge enable units to accommodate a variety of family and friend combinations. While communal facilities such as a free guest laundry and BBQ Area help to make your stay more comfortable. All of these facilities and features ensures that we have some of the best accommodation Christchurch has available. Our motel is an extremely popular choice for those looking for temporary Canterbury of University accommodation. Just 800m from campus, we couldn't be much closer. We are conveniently located. Here's a few key places within a short distance. 1km to Westfield Riccarton - the largest mall in the South Island 500m to the Bush Inn Centre - restaurants, bars and retail outlets 800m to the University of Canterbury 1km to the College of Education 3.5kms to the CBS Canterbury Arena - concert, exhibition and sports centre 3.5kms to Addington Raceway - trotting and dog races 3.5kms to Riccarton Racecourse - gallops 5kms to Christchurch City Centre 7kms to Christchurch Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your 298 Westside Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
298 Westside Motor Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing