We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & close to mall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
298 Westside Motor Lodge
Ranked #66 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean & close to mall”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

I booked the spa studio room. The rooms are clean, appear to be recently refurbished. The small kitchenette is well equipped. The bathroom is a good size.. spa was awesome on the cold night! Short drive to westfield mall. No complaints.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xxajcxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
298Westside, Owner at 298 Westside Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 16 December 2014
Thank you for your review,

We wish you a happy Christmas and have a relaxed festive season:)

Kind Regards,

Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    36
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
26
22
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed in a studio unit for just one night while some painting was being completed on my home.
It was a very small room but clean and had the essentials.
With it being a very cold night, I decided to try the electric blanket but did notice that there were wires showing on the controls which was a bit offputting.
The parking was great and I love that it's not that far to shopping at Bush Inn and Westfield up the road. Public transport is also very close.

The only thing that really bugged me was the heatpump set up. It had been quickly explained to me when I checked in but I found it really annoying that it would turn off every hour and if you wanted it to continue you had to go right over to the wall and press a button.
It may be that there's some way to turn that annoying feature off... but I didn't manage to so was glad I was only there for one night.

They also seemed to have a couple of dead light bulbs in that room which was a bit annoying for reading.

It's an ideal place for short stays though

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islander191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
298Westside, Owner at 298 Westside Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 16 December 2014
Hi there,

thank you for your review.

Hope you enjoyed your stay with us in christchurch, and looking to see you again.

Please do call the office and let us know if there is anything wrong in the unit ( such as bulbs), we normally just go and change it straight away:)

The heat pump timer is required by QUALMARK Enviro Bronze, that what we need to do to deserve it:) and it would turn the heat pump off every 2 hours as it normally heat up the room quite warm after that.

Sorry about the inconvenient.

Kind Regards,

Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
126 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel is very comfortable indeed. With nicely sized rooms and living areas as well as a well equipped kitchen. 3 of us stayed in the motel, with 2 in the master bedroom and one on a single bed in the lounge. Cleaners are very efficient and effective which is very positive during a stay of more than a couple of nights. The motel is on the long distance side, in terms of walking distance to Riccarton mall, but parking is ample so not really an issue in the area. The main thing is that the Shower was extremely bad. The water pressure was very very poor and at times was little more than a dribble. This was the only negative thing about the motel but it's something that sticks in the memory when you barely feel clean after showering. But as I say, this was the only thing, and in general the place was great. Owner is also extremely friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
298Westside, Manager at 298 Westside Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 16 December 2014
Thank you for your review,

happy to hear that your enjoyed your stay:)

we had replaced the shower head for the unit and it would be no problem for the show at all now, as all the units have their own cylinders:)

wish you have a merry Christmas:)

Kind Regards,

Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The rooms were neat and space was adequate. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. While the motel was away from the town center, it was close to some really good food places and shopping for provisions was also convenient. It was also a 15 minute walk to the intercity bus stop which worked well for us since we were touring the South Island by bus.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rashdahod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
298Westside, Manager at 298 Westside Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 16 December 2014
Thank you for your review,

we wish you a merry Christmas and happy new year.

Kind Regards,

Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

When we booked in, we were allocated an upstairs studio unit. The ensuire had a steeply sloping ceiling, not doubt imposed by building regulations to avoid shading adjoining properties, and care was necesssary to avoid bumping your head. Otherwise there was little to complain about. The motel is on a busy road with umpteen other motels giving competition which helps moderate prices. There is a bus stop right outside the front entrance.
We had no hesitation in booking again after a brief 3 day break outside Christchurch. This time we were allocated a ground floor studio unit. No problem with the ceiling. There was a net curtain over the entrance and front window allowing daylight into the unit and giving privacy from people in the courtyard, but none over the rear window. Occupants of 1st floor units had a clear view into our unit. There are of course heavy curtains for drawing at night.
If a taxi is required to the airport there is a cost advantage in ordering it through the office rather than ringing from the unit.
It may be some time before we visit Christchurch again, but see no reason why we would not stay again at this motel, which thoroughly deserves the 4.5 star ranking it has been given.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
298Westside, Owner at 298 Westside Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 16 December 2014
Thank you Henry,

we wish you a merry Christmas and happy new year.

Looking to see you again.

Kind Regards,

Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom that we found was clean and quiet, service was good, small lounge with large TV and small TV in one bedroom but as only staying one night was ok .Car parking was good and easy to get into and exit

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
298Westside, Owner at 298 Westside Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 16 December 2014
Thank you Nigel,

we wish you a merry Christmas and happy new year.

and we just had our sky 50+ channels installed in all the unit now, more channels and more like home.

Looking to see you again.

Kind Regards,

Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This motel is great value for money. Well located in Christchurch. Rooms are clean and tidy with a big Sony TV and all amenities. Ideal for large wedding parties which they seem to have quite a few of. We stayed for 4 nights. Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnycash72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
298Westside, Owner at 298 Westside Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 16 December 2014
Thank you review

we wish you a merry Christmas and happy new year.

Looking to see you again, and you will enjoy our new 50+channels for your next stay:)

Kind Regards,

Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.8 mi away
Academy Motor Lodge
Academy Motor Lodge
#72 of 144 in Christchurch
66 reviews
2.4 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#61 of 144 in Christchurch
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#79 of 144 in Christchurch
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
FYFFE on Riccarton Motor Lodge
FYFFE on Riccarton Motor Lodge
#47 of 144 in Christchurch
128 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vita Nova Motel
Vita Nova Motel
#67 of 144 in Christchurch
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apollo Motel Christchurch
Apollo Motel Christchurch
#101 of 144 in Christchurch
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 298 Westside Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 298 Westside Motor Lodge

Property: 298 Westside Motor Lodge
Address: 298 Riccarton Road | Upper Riccarton, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
#41 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 298 Westside Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
298 Westside Motor Lodge has 18 well appointed units ranging in size from studio (two with spas) to three bedroom units. All units have a full kitchen, with attached bathroom and off-street parking. Queen and King size beds plus a combination of twin beds and a sofa bed in the lounge enable units to accommodate a variety of family and friend combinations. While communal facilities such as a free guest laundry and BBQ Area help to make your stay more comfortable. All of these facilities and features ensures that we have some of the best accommodation Christchurch has available. Our motel is an extremely popular choice for those looking for temporary Canterbury of University accommodation. Just 800m from campus, we couldn't be much closer. We are conveniently located. Here's a few key places within a short distance. 1km to Westfield Riccarton - the largest mall in the South Island 500m to the Bush Inn Centre - restaurants, bars and retail outlets 800m to the University of Canterbury 1km to the College of Education 3.5kms to the CBS Canterbury Arena - concert, exhibition and sports centre 3.5kms to Addington Raceway - trotting and dog races 3.5kms to Riccarton Racecourse - gallops 5kms to Christchurch City Centre 7kms to Christchurch Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your 298 Westside Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
298 Westside Motor Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing