We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St James Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 133 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Many thanks to Margaret for a wonderful stay.
We arrived in Christchurch very late, before beginning our motorhome adventure in the South Island. Margaret was fresh faced and full of smiles as she settled us all into our room. We were all spoiled at breakfast time next morning and Margaret and Spoodie took the children on a tour of the garden and paddock, with special treats for the pony.
We returned at the end of our adventure, with an overnight stay before heading back home. Again, a continental breakfast was ready for our disgracefully early departure and the children couldn't wait to get in and tell Margaret all about their adventures!
Brilliant location, we were able to bus in and out of town at minimal expense and were ridiculously close to the airport.
Don't bother with the stale and cold airport motel, book in here and you won't regret it!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
43
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I love this place. I wanted a place close to the airport and the city centre, yet quiet and restful for me. This is it. Set on tranquil grounds and gardens, this home is just devine. I stayed in the Magnolia room which was bliss for me. Unfortunetely Margaret was unable to be there at the time of my visit due to personal reasons; but ensured that I was very well looked after. Happy to recommend highly and should I return to Christchurch, this will be where I will be staying again.. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Very pleasant and convenient location in the vicinity of the airport. I enjoyed the comfortable bedroom and the great breakfast. Margaret is a very friendly hostess.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sptravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I stayed with my mother in Margaret`s B&B when we first arrived in Christchurch and before leaving. Margaret is a very friendly hostess who goes way beyond the call of duty. The bedrooms are spacious and quiet with comfortable beds. Her breakfasts are yummy and it is nice to have breakfast with her other guests at her big breakfast table. The house is set in a lovely garden and paddock for her horses. Margaret really makes her guests feel at home and is incredibly helpful in planning onward trips or tracking down relatively obscure authors living in the Banks Peninsular!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lludlam_taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmerston north
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Margaret is the ultimate hostess, the perfect combination of friendly yet uber-professional.
The breakfasts were to die for, always different and with attention paid to the smallest details. Sometimes I was even lucky enough to come by extra food for lunch - but don't expect that! This family house turned into a bed and breakfast has fortunately suffered minimal if any damage from the ongoing earthquakes and is a very welcoming place to rest and relax with bedrooms with ensuites, lovely big baths and a gorgeous outside atmosphere as well with balconies, verandas and a lovely garden. I highly recommend St. James Bed and Breakfast to anyone.

Room Tip: Discuss with Margaret what your particular needs are - I'm sure if she can help out she will.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katrina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We were here for barely 24 hours, leaving at 3am for a flight, but absolutely everything about our stay was perfect and we were so well looked after.
In rooms off a lovely family's home our every need was considered and catered for. We had a lovely big double room with ensuite shower room and doors onto the garden as well as our own sitting room. Lavish for such a short stay but such wonderful value for money.
The welcome was warm and upon hearing of our early departure we came back from dinner to find a tray of breakfast goodies to eat on the go.
It's a five minute skip to the airport and maybe 10 into the city suburbs.
Thank you for looking after us so well.

Room Tip: There are ground floor and first floor rooms depending on your mobility. The family does have dogs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiclio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I originally chose St James as it is so close to the airport and I was only staying the night to pick up a friend. I didn't expect to find such a lovely place. And so we booked to stay again at the end of a week long trip around the South Island. Relaxing and welcoming, it was the perfect place to unwind before returning home.

Margaret is the most welcoming host I have ever had the pleasure of staying with. Although my previous visit had been short and 4 months earlier, she remembered me, which made me feel very much at home.

Our room was lovely, with an adjoining lounge that overlooked the beautiful garden. Homemade mince pies were provided upon our arrival and chocolate muffins were awaiting us the next morning. In response to my chocolate allergy, Margaret kindly rustled up a batch of lemon and blueberry muffins so I wasn't left out the next day. The breakfasts were divine and it was such a pleasure to chat with Margaret as she cooked and we ate.

There is both a cat and dog on the premises, although the dog is a friendly spoodle which makes the B&B the perfect place for those with dog allergies. I can seldom recommend places I stay to my very allergic mother, so I am delighted that I can recommend St James to her, and any other travelers who similarly suffer.

We look forward to returning to St James in the future and wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone who enjoys good old-fashioned Kiwi hospitality in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.4 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
1.0 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
1.4 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 144 in Christchurch
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 144 in Christchurch
1,265 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
#2 of 133 in Christchurch
833 reviews
1.0 mi away
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
#8 of 105 in Christchurch
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St James Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St James Bed & Breakfast

Property: St James Bed & Breakfast
Address: 125 Waimakariri Road | Harewood, Christchurch 8051, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St James Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St James Bed and Breakfast is a country Paradise 5 minutes from Christchurch International Airport and 10 minutes from Christchurch City. It is set in landscaped gardens featuring a rose walk and flowers for every season. The rooms are beautifully appointed and refurbished and two full suites with lounges are available for your comfort in addition to a lovely Balcony Room with separate spa-bathroom. Also now featured is The Stables - separate apartment with a kitchenette with self service breakfast provided. This has a unique position to enjoy a country aspect with parking at the door and lovely outdoor relaxing area as well. Come and enjoy our friendly Kiwi Hospitality and sumptuous surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your St James Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing