We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St James Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 132 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here two nights, when we first arrived into Christchurch before picking up our camper van and on our return before we flew back home. We could not wait to return! We stayed with our 4 year old and we had the loft suite.......it was just what we needed and more. Comfortable beds for all three of us, crisp white linens, heated bathroom floor, a sofa, chairs and TV for relaxing after a long flight from Malaysia. Fabulous breakfast, beautiful property and grounds and a wonderful host Margaret. Margaret very kindly offered to drive us to the local tavern where we had dinner on both nights (lovely food) and she also offered to drop us to the airport too. Nothing was too much trouble for Margaret. We would love to return one day and stay again. This place is home from home and will not disappoint!

Room Tip: We loved the loft suite but the other rooms looked equally amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JManderfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
42
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
888 reviews
495 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

After dropping off our campervans we came over to the B&B to drop off our luggage and were able to get into our rooms. Rooms were excellent and very comfortable. We got great recommendations for dinner in the mall about 2 kilometers away and enjoyed dinner in the Tavern. We had an early flight but were able to have a great breakfast before we left. Awesome accommodation in Christchurch.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeeLuv2Travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

A beautiful residence with a fabulous host. Margaret was very accommodating with our after midnight arrival. The room and facilities are very comfortable, clean and quiet. Breakfast is at your selected time so we could sleep in, cooked by Margaret who was great company to chat with and get great tips of hidden NZ gems to visit. We will definitely stay here again and would recommend if you are sick of commercial hotel this is the place to go. Thanks Margaret, we hope to see you again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Casey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here twice, on our arrival into Christchurch and on our final night two weeks later. We were actually looking forward to going back to stay as it is a lovely place and Margaret did everything she could to make our stay more enjoyable.

Very close to the airport it makes a very easy first or last night stop before flying in or out.

Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisl1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Margaret the host is just amazing; nothing was too much trouble, it’s advertised as a B & B but trust me this is easily the equivalent of a 5 Star hotel. The quality of the accommodation was excellent. Truly don’t miss out on staying here!

Room Tip: Magnolia Room excellent, comes with a private lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCW105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed at St James one night on our arrival, and two as we departed Christchurch. This is a beautiful home only surpassed by the beautiful lady (Margaret) who owns it. She looks after her guests like they are special friends, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are of a very high standard and spotlessly clean. Her breakfasts are great even down to the eggs from her own chooks !! you could'nt stay at a better B & B. Very conveniently located to the airport, and the pub down the road serves great food at very reasonable rates. Thanks again Margaret for a wonderful stay !! and thank spoodle for the cuddles xx

Room Tip: all the rooms are excellent !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomadTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Dear Margaret,
It was a great pleasure to stay at your beautiful house which seemed like an oasis of piece. Thank you once again for a wonderful time we had at your place and especially for the tips about the Willowbank Reserve and the “seal nursery”. They were both fantastic! All of us had a great time there.
Thank you for your hospitality and care. And for the breakfast which was one of best we had in our lives :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrycy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.4 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
1.0 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
1.0 mi away
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
#8 of 103 in Christchurch
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 144 in Christchurch
713 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
#2 of 132 in Christchurch
827 reviews
6.3 mi away
Designer Cottage
Designer Cottage
#4 of 132 in Christchurch
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St James Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St James Bed & Breakfast

Property: St James Bed & Breakfast
Address: 125 Waimakariri Road | Harewood, Christchurch 8051, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — St James Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St James Bed and Breakfast is a country Paradise 5 minutes from Christchurch International Airport and 10 minutes from Christchurch City. It is set in landscaped gardens featuring a rose walk and flowers for every season. The rooms are beautifully appointed and refurbished and two full suites with lounges are available for your comfort in addition to a lovely Balcony Room with separate spa-bathroom. Also now featured is The Stables - separate apartment with a kitchenette with self service breakfast provided. This has a unique position to enjoy a country aspect with parking at the door and lovely outdoor relaxing area as well. Come and enjoy our friendly Kiwi Hospitality and sumptuous surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your St James Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing