We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Akaroa Shore Excursion Option”

Canterbury Leisure Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$73.94*
and up
Waipara Wine Trail Tour from Christchurch
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Akaroa Shore Excursion Option”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Late last month my wife and I booked an Independent shore cruise experience from Akaroa to Christchurch whilst our cruise ship was berthed in Akarao for the day, we pre booked online with this company although the cruise ship advised us against using independent companies and advised we used their own products. This tour was nearly half the price and was such a great day. We traveled from Akaroa to Christchurch on a modern comfortable coach and were given a wonderfully informative tour of the peninsula and Christchurch City, including the very badly earthquake damaged central city. I highly recommend this tour to anyone calling in Akaroa whilst cruising around New Zealand.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    14
    6
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Swimming with Dolphins”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

My wife and I went on a day tour with Canterbury Leisure Tours to Akaroa, about 70 miles from Christchurch to swim with dolphins. We were collected from our Christchurch accommodation and with three other couples traveled to Akaroa. The journey there was most enjoyable with spectacular scenery throughout the journey. The tour driver was very knowledgeable and friendly and we have some wonderful photographs. Akaroa is a very quaint village with a French heritage and some wonderful restaurants on the water. The dolphin swimming was excellent, although it was winter and the water was cold we were given dry suits and didn't get wet or cold. The dolphins were all around us and the entire day was an experience my wife and I will cherish forever. This is a tour you should do if you are travelling to Christchurch.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hanmer Springs Tour”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Our Hammer Springs Day Tour started with a trip to a sheep farm for a very brief tour and a sheep shearing demonstration. We then moved on to Thrillseekers Canyon for an exciting jet boat ride. After the jet boating we had lunch at the Garden House Cafe at the Hanmer Springs Thermal Reserve and spent the rest of the afternoon relaxing in the Hanmer Springs Thermal Resort Pools. On the journey back to Christchurch we made a brief stop at a North Canterbury Winery for wine tasting. Overall the trip was fine, we enjoyed the driver and the other guests on the tour. We did note that our arrival appeared to be a shock to each of the places we visited other than the sheep farm, I suspect that the tour company did not inform the Thermal Reserve or the winery that we would be stopping by. Our lunch was supposed to be ready for us when we arrived at the Garden House Cafe but due to a mixup we had to re-order when we got there and lost an hour that we could have spent in the pools or walking around the adorable town. Overall, the trip was fine but better planning would have been helpful.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank lainmav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
91 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Pass this one”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

A bit disappointing. Our friends had told us about the Antarctic Center and
Christchurch. There was some confusion with the tour as to what bus or van we were supposed to be on. We were directed to get on a bus to Christchurch, and then transferred to a gentleman's car, who took us to the Antarctic Center. Although the gentleman who took us around Christchurch was personable, the tour was not as we expected.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Harris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
103 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“What a letdown - Cantebury Leisure Tours”
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We did not even get to see the Whale Watch for TWICE!!

I would definitely never going to recommend Canterbury Leisure Tours to anyone!

We missed our whale watch trip to Kaikoura due to the volcanic ashes and CLT's staff promised us to offer an alternative date if we could extend our trip coz there would be no refund as the incident happened within 24hrs. It was well noted though we did not intentionally miss the trip that we so look forward to participate in NZ!

The sad truth was when we did extend our trip and confirm on doing it, CLT turned around and offered us a 1/2 day sightseeing instead coz it was not economical for them to do so for 2 persons as on the scheduled date we missed, they also only had 2 persons then.

Hence, the CEO wrote to our agency stating that they should not offer this goodwill to us if they knew this would cause a backlash on them. And they should simply abide by their policy for a no Refund for Cancellation within 24hrs!

Well, we as consumers paid extra for lodging, change of flight booking fees, etc thinking CLT would honor their words but this is what we get instead.

You guys be the judge then...

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank sageds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterburyleisure, Manager at Canterbury Leisure Day Tours, responded to this review, 10 July 2011
You were originaly booked with us to travel to Kaikoura for Whale Watching on the 17th June, unfortunately due to the Ash Cloud from the Chilean Volonco your flight from Singapore was relocated to Auckland and you were not in Christchurch on the day of travel.

Understanding these unique circumstances we did not invoke our standard cancellation policy, but offered an alternative day if you had one available. On the 22nd June you phoned looking to travel on the 25th June, and were advised that you would be on standby as at that stage we had no Whale Watch tour operating on that day. At that time you advised that you would call back to confirm arrangments, you were not entered into the reservation system even on a standby basis. On the evening of the 24th June you phoned to make arrangments for travel to Kaikoura on the 25th, At this time, due to no other bookings you were advised that the tour was not operating. We offered our city sights tour and included the International Antarctic Centre and Willowbank Wildlife Reserve, all without charge, this you accepted.

You can judge for yourself of whether this complaint has any merit and whether we have acted more than reasonably in this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canterbury Leisure Day Tours also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Canterbury Leisure Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing