We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away form CLT”

Canterbury Leisure Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$75.36*
and up
Waipara Wine Trail Tour from Christchurch
More Info
US$90.43*
and up
Waimak Gorge Jet Boating from Christchurch
More Info
US$74.61*
and up
Christchurch Sheep Farm Visit
Svizzera Italiana
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stay away form CLT”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We booked online a sightseeing tour of Christchurch, departing from our cruise ship in Akaroa.
We cannot recommend this company at all:

Bad points:
- We wanted to see Christchurch. The bus drove into Christchurch, left us for 30 minutes by the botanical gardens for toilet-needs. Then it drove through downtown without any possibilities to get out of the bus and drove straight to a beach, where we had to stay for 90 minutes with nothing to do. Coming from a cruise, nobody was interested to eat, but everybody wanted to visit the town.
- We paid 85 $ in advance via internet, noticing that the same tour was sold for 50 $ at the shore.
- We booked 4 tickets, but our son was ill and remained on board. The company didn't pay back anything, but sold all the tickets to other people, including the seat of our son.

Good points: the driver was really good (he was hired for the day from another company) and explained us a lot about Christchurch and the earthquake. He also apologized many times for the tour and for the fact that we didn't have any time in Christchurch, but he had to do what the boss wanted.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pepeto_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterburyleisure, General Manager at Canterbury Leisure Day Tours, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
The contents of the review are a fabrication which were threatened by the reviewer prior to the commencement of the tour as we were unable to issue a refund for one of the group who was unable to travel.
The reviewer with three others were booked for this tour via a third party who took full payment in advance. On the day of travel only three of the four passengers presented themselves for the tour and the reviewer requested a refund. It was explained that no refund could be given on the day as we were not holding payment and the request for a refund would have to go back through the party with who the booking was made. At this time the reviewer became very aggressive and abusive demanding an instant refund. When this was not forthcoming he threatened that he would publish a bad review.
To date we have received no request from any party for a refund.
With regard to the issues raised we can advise as follows;
1. We sell a total of six tours from Akaroa from a $50.00 shuttle to tours valued at $140.00, the tours being sold on the wharf were for the same value as the tours that had been pre-purchased.
2. The reviewer requested a boarding pass for the person that was not traveling, this was issued so it was not possible to sell this unoccupied seat even if we had wanted to do so!
3. From the direct feedback we received from other passengers on the day and subsequently the remainder of the the review is a complete fabrication!
4. The sightseeing tour of Banks Peninsula and Christchurch follows a published itinerary with timings, the tour followed this itinerary and was in Christchurch for over three hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    14
    6
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Akaroa Shore Excursion Option”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Late last month my wife and I booked an Independent shore cruise experience from Akaroa to Christchurch whilst our cruise ship was berthed in Akarao for the day, we pre booked online with this company although the cruise ship advised us against using independent companies and advised we used their own products. This tour was nearly half the price and was such a great day. We traveled from Akaroa to Christchurch on a modern comfortable coach and were given a wonderfully informative tour of the peninsula and Christchurch City, including the very badly earthquake damaged central city. I highly recommend this tour to anyone calling in Akaroa whilst cruising around New Zealand.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Swimming with Dolphins”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

My wife and I went on a day tour with Canterbury Leisure Tours to Akaroa, about 70 miles from Christchurch to swim with dolphins. We were collected from our Christchurch accommodation and with three other couples traveled to Akaroa. The journey there was most enjoyable with spectacular scenery throughout the journey. The tour driver was very knowledgeable and friendly and we have some wonderful photographs. Akaroa is a very quaint village with a French heritage and some wonderful restaurants on the water. The dolphin swimming was excellent, although it was winter and the water was cold we were given dry suits and didn't get wet or cold. The dolphins were all around us and the entire day was an experience my wife and I will cherish forever. This is a tour you should do if you are travelling to Christchurch.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hanmer Springs Tour”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Our Hammer Springs Day Tour started with a trip to a sheep farm for a very brief tour and a sheep shearing demonstration. We then moved on to Thrillseekers Canyon for an exciting jet boat ride. After the jet boating we had lunch at the Garden House Cafe at the Hanmer Springs Thermal Reserve and spent the rest of the afternoon relaxing in the Hanmer Springs Thermal Resort Pools. On the journey back to Christchurch we made a brief stop at a North Canterbury Winery for wine tasting. Overall the trip was fine, we enjoyed the driver and the other guests on the tour. We did note that our arrival appeared to be a shock to each of the places we visited other than the sheep farm, I suspect that the tour company did not inform the Thermal Reserve or the winery that we would be stopping by. Our lunch was supposed to be ready for us when we arrived at the Garden House Cafe but due to a mixup we had to re-order when we got there and lost an hour that we could have spent in the pools or walking around the adorable town. Overall, the trip was fine but better planning would have been helpful.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank lainmav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Pass this one”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

A bit disappointing. Our friends had told us about the Antarctic Center and
Christchurch. There was some confusion with the tour as to what bus or van we were supposed to be on. We were directed to get on a bus to Christchurch, and then transferred to a gentleman's car, who took us to the Antarctic Center. Although the gentleman who took us around Christchurch was personable, the tour was not as we expected.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Harris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canterbury Leisure Day Tours also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Canterbury Leisure Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing