We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Day Tours”

Canterbury Leisure Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$92.04*
and up
Christchurch Maori Concert and Kiwi Viewing
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My husband and I had three nights in Christchurch as part of our 10 day South Island Tour and did two day tours with this company, one to Akaroa and the other to Arthurs Pass, we also did a half day city sightseeing tour prior to our departure. All three tours were fantastic.
We booked the Akaroa day tour prior to leaving Australia and enjoyed it so much asked the driver what else he recommended for the remainder of our stay and following his recommendations did the Arthurs Pass tour, including the TranzAlpine Train the following day and a half day city sights tour of Christchurch on our final morning.
All three tours were very informative and the scenery was spectacular. Although Christchurch is very badly damaged as a result of the earthquake there over three years ago, I really recommend doing the city tour. The extent of the damage, especially to the central city is sad but at the same time a real eye opener with many of the older buildings that have been badly damaged still standing.
There are other other parts of the city which appear unaffected by the earthquake and are very beautiful.
Had a wonderful time in Christchurch and the surrounds and really highly recommend these tours with this company.

2  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterburyleisure, General Manager at Canterbury Leisure Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit the very flattering review, your comments are much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"sheep shearing"
in 6 reviews
"cruise ship"
in 9 reviews
"waipara valley"
in 6 reviews
"wine tour"
in 6 reviews
"whale watching"
in 5 reviews
"visited wineries"
in 3 reviews
"arthur's pass"
in 8 reviews
"change buses"
in 2 reviews
"city sights tour"
in 2 reviews
"different wineries"
in 2 reviews
"knowledgeable commentary"
in 2 reviews
"new zealand"
in 13 reviews
"would highly recommend this tour"
in 3 reviews
"franz josef glacier"
in 2 reviews
"half day tour"
in 2 reviews
"jet boating"
in 2 reviews
"great driver"
in 2 reviews
Filter

122 - 126 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

Had a wonderful full day tour across the Canterbury plains by coach to a train which took us up into Arthur's Pass. Views were spectacular. Back to our coach again for a pleasant drive into may of the scenic areas offered.

Our second tour with Canterbury was again only our party of four and once more in the capable hands of our driver / guide "Ross". Very knowledgeable about the area. A wonderful lunch was included at a small roadside pub / restaurant.

As an added bonus Ross managed to fit in a bonus stop at a small farm that included sheep. Had a wonderful visit with the owner "Ivers" who in his 802 has more energy than most 40 year olds. Experienced first hand sheep shearing and then were given a sheep herding demo by his oldest dog. finished with a wonderful tea accompanied by sandwiches and mini pastries.

Would highly recommend this tour company as pick ups were prompt and the staff very accommodating.

A warning for all those coming off cruises ships or only stopping over by other transportation means to see Christchurch itself. The earthquake here was devastating in so many ways. After three years they are still struggling to deal with the aftermath and trying to get back to normal services, etc. The downtown was especially damaged and many buildings are earmarked for eventual demolition, but this work doesn't take precedent over getting basic services back. The shortage of tradespeople has helped and there is a shortage of housing to bring these people in.

We managed to get into the downtown areas thanks to a friend who lives there and can understand the logistics of anyone trying to provide touring in or around what is the downtown area, Our suggestion? Enjoy the many wonderful tours that take you out into the beautiful countryside that surround the city.

1  Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

It was a long scenic drive from the port of Akaroa to Christchurch. The time spent viewing the great damage in Christchurch could have been a little shorter. The bus had two tours on it. After Christchurch we dropped a group off at the Antarctic Center on the way to Willowbank Wildlife Reserve. Willowbank had the best setup to see the Kiwi. It had other native birds, reptiles and animals and a knowledgeable guide to take us through the Reserve. There was a Kea parrot that liked sitting and pulling on my hat. This was a great Wildlife Reserve. We could have had more time there as this was where we purchased our lunch. I booked this trip through Shore Excursions Group. Com and paid up front. Took out their trip interruption policy since Akaroa is a tender port and has times where the tenders cannot be used. There were several tours selling trips including CLT selling this trip.

1  Thank Fieldagent648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I highly recommend Canterbury Leisure Tours and had a great tour from Akaora which I have been telling everyone about and why I am writing this review. I recommended the Banks Peninsula and Christchurch sightseeing tour to friends who were taking a cruise to New Zealand next month only to be advisored that after lookng into it they saw a review by Pepeto63 on Trip Advisor and asked me what i thought. The tour i was on out of Akaroa was on the 15th December 2013 and I am certain that it was the same tour as reviewed by Pepeto63. As I was boarding the coach for the tour I over heard a man who was also about to board the coach, being very abusive towards a Canterbury Leisure Tours staff member who was directing passengers to various coaches. I overheard the man say "if you don't refund me now, I am going to write a terrible review about your company online!"
The tour itself was well organised on a comfortable coach with a wonderful driver that provided an excellent commentary. I was very shocked att he damage in CHristchurch altough I had seen the images on TV at the time. For anybody coming into Akaroa on a cruise ship this tour is a must and i wouldn't believe anything that Pepeto63 has writeen.

2  Thank ohart007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We booked online a sightseeing tour of Christchurch, departing from our cruise ship in Akaroa.
We cannot recommend this company at all:

Bad points:
- We wanted to see Christchurch. The bus drove into Christchurch, left us for 30 minutes by the botanical gardens for toilet-needs. Then it drove through downtown without any possibilities to get out of the bus and drove straight to a beach, where we had to stay for 90 minutes with nothing to do. Coming from a cruise, nobody was interested to eat, but everybody wanted to visit the town.
- We paid 85 $ in advance via internet, noticing that the same tour was sold for 50 $ at the shore.
- We booked 4 tickets, but our son was ill and remained on board. The company didn't pay back anything, but sold all the tickets to other people, including the seat of our son.

Good points: the driver was really good (he was hired for the day from another company) and explained us a lot about Christchurch and the earthquake. He also apologized many times for the tour and for the fact that we didn't have any time in Christchurch, but he had to do what the boss wanted.

Thank Pepeto_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterburyleisure, General Manager at Canterbury Leisure Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

The contents of the review are a fabrication which were threatened by the reviewer prior to the commencement of the tour as we were unable to issue a refund for one of the group who was unable to travel.
The reviewer with three others were booked for this tour via a third party who took full payment in advance. On the day of travel only three of the four passengers presented themselves for the tour and the reviewer requested a refund. It was explained that no refund could be given on the day as we were not holding payment and the request for a refund would have to go back through the party with who the booking was made. At this time the reviewer became very aggressive and abusive demanding an instant refund. When this was not forthcoming he threatened that he would publish a bad review.
To date we have received no request from any party for a refund.
With regard to the issues raised we can advise as follows;
1. We sell a total of six tours from Akaroa from a $50.00 shuttle to tours valued at $140.00, the tours being sold on the wharf were for the same value as the tours that had been pre-purchased.
2. The reviewer requested a boarding pass for the person that was not traveling, this was issued so it was not possible to sell this unoccupied seat even if we had wanted to do so!
3. From the direct feedback we received from other passengers on the day and subsequently the remainder of the the review is a complete fabrication!
4. The sightseeing tour of Banks Peninsula and Christchurch follows a published itinerary with timings, the tour followed this itinerary and was in Christchurch for over three hours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canterbury Leisure Day Tours also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Canterbury Leisure Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing