We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Miners Arms Farmstay Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #27 of 134 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed at the Miners Arms for one night, as the last night of a trip to New Zealand. The location is rural and quiet, outside of Christchurch, and perfect for the airport and travelling. The owner (Lorna) was extremely friendly and helpful and made plenty of time to show us the farm and feed the animals.

The accomodation itself is more like a self-contained appartment - there are two bedrooms (a queen and a single), a living room, a large balcony facing the farm and a bathroom. Our breakfast was freshly prepared and fantastic.

Overall, we would whole-heartedly recomend this place to anyone lucky enough to confirm a booking - it is pretty much fully-booked and we can see why! Many thanks to Lorna for making our stay memorable and enjoyable, and to George the fierce guard dog (not!!!!) for being so friendly.

By the way, buy some of the home-made plum jam to bring with you when you leave....

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna T, Owner at Miners Arms Farmstay Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thank you, Nick,for your wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed staying here and hope to see you both again, perhaps with the baby too! All the very best for the rest of your pregnancy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed at the Miners Arms after arriving at Chch airport after a long journey and our stay was perfect. The accomodation was large and comfortable, the breakfast was superb with real butchers' sausages and free-range eggs. Lorna showed us the animals and allowed us to stay until the afternoon before taking us to the airport for our next flight. No comparison to staying in an airport hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D_L740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna T, Owner at Miners Arms Farmstay Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope you had a good flight down to Queenstown and a great visit with your family, especially the new baby!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

We spent 1 night in this lovely b&b with my bf and his parents. It is conveniently located not far from the airport and very quiet. The hosts were very friendly. She cooked a beautiful breakfast on the morning and the highlight of our stay was to feed the animals :-) It is very good value for money!
Daphnee

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MissFlamby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna T, Owner at Miners Arms Farmstay Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Thank you Daphnee. It was a pleasure to meet our first guests from Paris and I hope you enjoyed Oamaru and the rest of your holiday round the south island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

The whole of christchurch is like a dry desert. You can hardly find any accommodations within the city at all. Thanks to the district free wifi, we chance upon this hideout just about 15 min away from the christchurch airport and about 20 min to the city. Perfect location if you ask me. The place is very friendly with loads of animals to keep you occupied. Alpakas, sheep, chicken, sheepdogs and their very friendly and responsive home dog George. Breakfast was sumptuous too. Would highly recommend to anyone who is looking for accommodations around christchurch if you are searching someone near the city and airport. Good size is 4-5 people.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelvinSeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna T, Owner at Miners Arms Farmstay Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Thank you Melvin, for your brilliant review. We are so glad you enjoyed staying with us even though it was such a flying visit. It was a pleasure to meet you and Ling, and both your Dads.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

It is great place to stay whether you are a couple or family with kids - ideally 1 kid. You have your privacy (upstairs all to yourselves). They have 1 queen bed room & 1 single room & although the sofa bed in the lounge can be used, it would be pretty cramp (IMO). there's 1 toilet for all.
everything is spotlessly clean & organized & a joy to stay.

Lorna is great & welcoming and offers to bring you to meet the animals & we would not hesitate to recommend this property to family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kembara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna T, Owner at Miners Arms Farmstay Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Thank you for being such lovely guests. It was a privilege to be included in your very special honeymoon holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Lorna greeted us with a welcome tea, so perfect for our snowy arrival. SO enjoyed the sheep, curious alpacas (apparent they were bottle fed, so friendly), dogs and getting to feed them all. A very agreeable setting. The chickens were out on winter holiday for all their hard work, but thought that was fair!

The quarters are very private, upstairs and separate from the rest of the house. Plenty of room for the family of four, with two bedrooms and another living space with fridge, couches, telly, table. We could make coffee in the morning and a microwave was available as well. The bath is quite spacious with both shower and separate tub. All scrupulously clean. There is an extra heating units for each room if needed, but we definitely enjoy sleeping with the cooler temperatures.

Lorna is such a gracious and friendly hostess! Loved the very proper English breakfast, replete with eggs to order, sausage, beans, bacon, and broiled tomato, the only such one we had in two weeks of inn stays.

Location cannot be beat, just minutes from downtown and CHC, but one would never know while staying there in the country setting. Could not have been any happier with our stay! Thank you, Lorna!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlayk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna T, Owner at Miners Arms Farmstay Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you so much, jlayk, for your very generous comments. We will remember our 'snowy' guests for a long time and hope you will visit next time you're in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I've stayed at Miners Arms twice; in 2008 and in early 2012. It's a superb location for a Canterbury visit, and both Lorna and Steve have good suggestions for touring and getting to know the region. Miners Arms is close to the center of Christchurch but far enough away to allow one to feel part of nature. Breakfasts are well presented and delicious. Accommodations are more than comfortable, and I felt immediately at home both times I've stayed there. For those of us who love to be around animals, this is a great spot. I look forward to coming back and starting my next visit to the South Island at Miners Arms.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daguchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna T, Owner at Miners Arms Farmstay Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Thank you, Daguchan, for your great review. We're looking forward to seeing you again and being part of your next adventure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
10.8 mi away
Eco Villa
Eco Villa
#17 of 134 in Christchurch
21 reviews
12.5 mi away
Silverstream Alpaca Farmstay
14.4 mi away
Pete's Farm Stay B&B
Pete's Farm Stay B&B
#1 of 4 in Rangiora
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 145 in Christchurch
1,846 reviews
9.1 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
5.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miners Arms Farmstay Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miners Arms Farmstay Bed & Breakfast

Property: Miners Arms Farmstay Bed & Breakfast
Address: 441 Old West Coast Road | West Melton, Christchurch 7676, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes from Christchurch International Airport and on the western edge of Christchurch city and its attractions. A warm welcome to Miners Arms and enjoy an attractive and comfortable private first floor suite to yourself. Our home is set in a peaceful 10 acres of orchard, paddocks and woodland with alpacas and sheep to meet. Most B+Bs give you a room - at Miners Arms you will have our whole first floor suite to yourself. Sleeping 1-4, the suite has 4 comfortable, attractive and well-equipped rooms overlooking the garden, paddocks, orchard and woodland - queen bedroom, twin bedroom with single bed and king single bed), lounge with comfortable seating, fridge, microwave, complimentary hot drinks, Sky TV, DVD and a variety of DVDs, books, board games), full bathroom and shower and your own balcony with seating and a great view of the property, sunset and the stars. Relax, or explore our 10 acres, feed the alpacas, sheep and chickens , get to know our dogs Frankie and Sky. After a restful night's sleep, we will serve you a generous breakfast of cooked/continental choices at a time to suit you. 5-10 Minute drive to , Rolleston Tranz Alpine train station, malls at Hornby and Rccarton, Dressmart outlet store, West Melton and various wineries (Larcombs, Tresillian, Trents, Langdales), 5 golf courses, Orana Park, Antarctic Centre. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing