We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
219 on Johns Motel & Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Basic and affordable”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Reasonably priced family motel unit accommodation … had all the necessary appliances in the kitchen; one bedroom had direct door leading to bathroom … road traffic noise barely noticeable when windows closed. Couldn’t see any recycling bins. Light in toilet not working. Plenty of power points for everyone to charge their cell phones. Burger King down road should be avoided - they took 45 mns for our simple order!

Room Tip: If traffic noise is likely to disturb your sleep, ask the owner for a unit as far away from the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkStWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    58
    24
    2
    0
See reviews for
51
45
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

My husband and me stayed for one night in a two bedroomed chalet although we had only booked and paid for a one bedroom one. It was basic but very clean the owners were very friendly. The double bed was so uncomfortable because the mattress dipped in the middle that I moved after a couple of hours of no sleep to the bunk in the other room. We left early to travel to Franz Joseph and found there was nowhere to deposit our key, we were not the only ones wanting to do the same. It was a shame there was no facility for this especially as it is so near to the airport.

Room Tip: Away from noisy road if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catsmum654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callala Beach
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We left our run a little late to find a motorhome site. Rang at 9:30pm.... they answered to phone and met me at 9:50pm. I would not hesitate to recommend and stay again. A great beginning to our South Island trip. The Owners realise they are in the game of assuring and accomodating "people". Definate value in staying here.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2013

A excellent place to stay if your on a budget. It is comfortable, clean basic cabin, With everything you need. Is a lot of traffic noise but apart from that it was wonderful The owners are lovely. Cant wait to go back there. One place I will not return to in christchurch is the coffee shop in the hub mall "Esquires Coffee House" It was a very slow wait for a very cold coffee. We waited half an hour for a cold coffee.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester
Level Contributor
144 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Nothing wrong with this place. Units are first class - clean - everything one needs - including the pot of milk for tea/cereal in the morning. Bed comfortable and so on.
The only thing is it is very close to main road, so there is traffic noise at night. Otherwise it's excellent, especially if you're getting an early morning flight out - the airport is a very short distance away, along with all the car hire/camper van hire places.
We would use it again, because it's so useful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motueka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed for two nights either side of a trip to sydney. Really affordable (which meant more spending money for Sydney) and so close to airport. Cabin was clean and basic. Own carpark and everything required for our short stay, 2 bedrroms, kitchenette, shower, toilet, little living area, tv, alarm clock. A little home away from home. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louimay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

219 On Johns is a very good starting or finishing point for your South Island adventure, if you're budget-conscious. We came in very late at night with three little ones, found the key easily as well as a map with hand-written instructions. Room was fine for the price - nothing flash but clean and comfy. Hosts were exceptionally friendly and really went the extra step to help us out - including a lift back towards the airport so we could get our campervan, called a connecting shuttle for us, made sure we were looked after, etc. Very happy with the service and happy to recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
3.8 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
2.1 mi away
North South Holiday Park
North South Holiday Park
#13 of 103 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
2.7 mi away
Christchurch TOP 10 Holiday Park
Christchurch TOP 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 103 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Amber Kiwi Holiday Park Christchurch
7.7 mi away
No photo provided
Christchurch Kiwi Holiday Park &...
#30 of 103 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
4.8 mi away
At The Right Place
At The Right Place
#129 of 144 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 219 on Johns Motel & Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 219 on Johns Motel & Holiday Park

Property: 219 on Johns Motel & Holiday Park
Address: 219 Johns Road | Northwood, Christchurch 8051, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Qualmark 4 Star Christchurch holiday park is just 10 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from the city centre. It offers a choice of low cost, self catering accommodation options ideal for couples, families, backpackers, groups and campervans. Choose from fully self contained family and studio motel units and park chalets with kitchen, ensuite bathroom, TV, WiFi internet and all linen provided. Or standard cabins, camper van and tent sites using our excellent communal park facilities including well equipped kitchen, TV room, free showers, BBQs, internet kiosk and guest laundry. Wheelchair accessible motel and chalet accommodation is available. And our Christchurch Holiday Park is pet friendly. We offer free airport transfers during business hours and free vehicle storage for guests. A number of popular Christchurch attractions are nearby including the Antarctic Centre, Willowbank Wildlife Park and Orana Park. We are directly opposite The Groynes Recreational Area with walkways, picnic areas, a dog exercise area and several ponds. We are also 5 minutes drive from most of the camper van and car rental operators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your 219 on Johns Motel & Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing