We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful B&B, very friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stuart Manor Boutique Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stuart Manor Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #33 of 139 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
“Wonderful B&B, very friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights in January 2014 during our honeymoon. It was perfect. The owners John and Suzie are very welcoming and really friendly, the house and gardens are beautiful, and Suzie's breakfasts superb (and huge!). There's also a fridge with complementary drinks and snacks, just what was needed after a long drive from Queenstown!. We definitely recommend her for couples looking for a relaxing, very pleasant stay with top-notch NZ hospitality.

Stuart Manor is located just off highway 1 about 10km west of the city centre, and is very handy for the airport, Antarctic centre (well worth a visit), and the Banks Peninsula. Eating options are limited but there is a decent pub, Indian restaurant, and nice pizza restaurant in Rolleston only 5 mins drive away.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartManor, Owner at Stuart Manor Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thankyou guys for your wonderful review. It all helps . We really enjoyed meeting you and wish you all the very best. Take care and see you back again some day. Cheers Suzy & John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
81
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Both Suzy and John are truly awesome hosts. We stayed for two nights (29th - 30th Nov) and really wanted to stay more. This is such an immaculate place and my wife and I really loved the stay.The garden is so well maintained and this is a perfect spot if you want to take a day trip to Akaroa.
Both my wife and I can't thank enough for the wonderful stay we had at Stuart Manor. Highly recommend this place. Amazing gestures like wine/beer/juice etc. add to the comfort.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room called Akaroa really big room perfect for a couple and one baby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilotra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartManor, Owner at Stuart Manor Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thankyou so much for your lovely coments. We really enjoyed having you stay with us. Safe travels to you and look forward to seeing you back again. Cheers suzy & John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledon, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Staying at this accommodation was the highlight of our trip. Suzy and John are so welcoming and made us feel right at home. Delicious breakfasts, comfortable rooms with large en suite bathrooms. The garden is a beautiful place to relax and read the newspaper on a sunny day.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartManor, Owner at Stuart Manor Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thankyou so much for your kind words. We really enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you back again. I hope it wasn't too cold for you on your return to Winter. Regards Suzy & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

My family and I rented Stuart Manor for a month before John and Suzy took over and from what I have read in the reviews they sound like wonderful hosts. I just want to say that Stuart Manor is a truly beautiful house and I feel very lucky to have stayed there. I would strongly recommend that anyone visiting Christchurch should visit Stuart Manor. The gardens are wonderful and the house is stunning. It is truly a gem and I would say it is one of the nicest homes in Christchurch.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartManor, Owner at Stuart Manor Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Thankyou so much for your review. Yes we are really enjoying life at Stuart Manor and as you say a truly wonderful place to stay. Please call in again if you are out this way. Cheers suzy & John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

We stayed with John and Suzy on the 22-24 February 2013, in the lead up to our wedding on the 23 Febat the near by Melton Estate Winery/ What a perfect spot, I was able to relax on Friday night with my two boys and on the morning of the wedding Suzy and John opened there home to pre wedding preparations! The house and gardens are just so peaceful and beautifully decorated.
a lovely relaxing b n, b and great place to spend our first night as newly weds, with a great breakfast the next day.
Please send a reminder to my husband on our anniversary Suzy... so i can have an excuse to come and stay again. much thanks Lyndell and mike Levington

Room Tip: if you want a big clawfoot bath the akaroa room is the one....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndell t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greer, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

We had a wonderful night with Suzy and John and a fantastic breakfast! The room and bath were lovely. We were met with wine, beer and snacks, given a wonderful recommendation for dinner, had a great night's sleep and sent on our way with a huge breakfast the next morning. We would definitely stay there again if we visit New Zealand.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieandJohn30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

We loved the place, Suzie and John each have special talents to make your stay a memorable one. They served a candle lit dinner for us on our arrival to NZ. Special evening. The next evening was really getting to know them, Perhaps something you look for in a B&B experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1949florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
8.1 mi away
The Classic Villa
The Classic Villa
#28 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
8.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
7.9 mi away
Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Devine Bed and Breakfast
#38 of 111 in Christchurch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
8.6 mi away
Designer Cottage
Designer Cottage
#5 of 139 in Christchurch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
5.3 mi away
4 Royston Bed and Breakfast
4 Royston Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 5 in West Melton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stuart Manor Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stuart Manor Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Property: Stuart Manor Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1 Butefield Lane | Templeton, Christchurch 8042, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stuart Manor was built in 1905 and was one of the original farmhouses for the Templeton area. Today Stuart Manor is offering boutique bed and breakfast accommodation, in a tranquil, private setting on three quarters of an acre of established and progressing gardens. We cater for six only guests and our three en-suite guest bedrooms are all on the ground floor. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing