We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alps to Ocean Cycle”

Adventure South Day Tours
Ranked #36 of 90 Tours in Christchurch
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Since 1992, Adventure South has been operating the best and most comprehensive range of guided trekking, cycling and adventure holidays available across New Zealand. Our mission statement is Small Groups, Great Guides, Superb Holidays… and we’re confident that the originality, scope and quality of our program ensure that there is an adventure for everyone.Enjoy the pristine splendor of New Zealand’s north and south islands. From the magic of the Southern Alps to the volcanoes and geothermal regions of the north, New Zealand’s forgotten Sub-Antarctic islands to the wild west coast of the South Island, our unique range of guided small group active holiday’s will take you beyond the popular trails to discover the true essence of New Zealand’s pure wilderness.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Alps to Ocean Cycle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

I've just completed a 5 day guided and fully supported Alps to Ocean cycle with these guys, starting and finishing in Christchurch. I would highly recommend them They are a very professional and also friendly outfit. I've been on lots of cycle tours around the world and rate this company as one of the best. Everything is organised and well thought out from start to finish. Good information, good equipment, good accomodation, good food, good choice of which sections we rode (there are a few bits in the bus). There were plenty of options to ride more or less. Nicole was an excellent guide, nothing was too much trouble for her.

There is a nice balance of cycling and other activities. The cycling is all pretty easy, a lot of it is on the level or just a small incline - you get an info sheet every morning showing the route and the cross section, so you can cherry-pick the bits you prefer to do if you want!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Suvvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    2
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't Hesitate!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Otago Rail trail cycling tour --- amazing. Every part exceeded expectation. I'm relatively fit but not much cycling experience per say, and the pace was perfect as I could push myself if I wanted or pedal lazily for a bit and take in the absolutely stunning scenery around me. The tour was organized but not contrived in a predictable, amusement park way. It was authentic. There were moments I was completely and beautifully alone. And other equally beautiful moments of shared conversations and laughs with fellow group members. I would HIGHLY recommend Adventure South - I can't see how it could be done better.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank KelleyAMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
“Fantastic slice of the Southern Alps”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

From Chris. My travel agent for hikes in Adelaide, South Australia (Monica at Peregrine) picked Adventure South's Best of the Southern Alps walking/bus tour to finish in Queenstown and be on the spot for the start of the Milford Track walk (with another company). Two weeks and two consecutive hikes (tramps) makes the trip from Aus worthwhile. I knew nothing of Adventure South or this particular trip. It exceeded my expectations. At aged 70 you need to be reasonably fit but it didn't pose any problems despite a couple of long days and some climbs and descents. Anyhow there would be the option to miss some of the walks if desired. The bus tour is pretty good in itself. There were 2 guides for 6 hikers (should have been 8 but 2 cancelled at the last moment, so normally would have been 1 guide but 2 for any number between 8 and 12 - the maximum). Steve Tulley and Nick Groves were experienced mountaineers and a font of great stories about the mountains and NZ generally. Nick had written a book on tramping in the South Island. They were great company and very accommodating. They threw in an unscheduled wine tasting at Rippon winery on Lake Wanaka which has to be one of the best locations for a winery in the world. The various views of Mt Cook from a ridge on the Two Thumb Range (up from the Rex Simpson Mountain Hut), the Mt Cook village and Hooker Valley Track and Lake Ohau were all fantastic. For the non mountaineer and amateur walker the night in the hut was a different experience. The rest of the accommodation in lodges, motels etc was all of a high standard. Also the helihike and climb on Buchanan Ridge is something ordinary hikers would not usually experience. Amazing views over Mt Aspiring and Lake Wanaka. The company was convivial and the conversation lively making for an excellent tour in a very beautiful part of the world.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Advsouth, Manager at Adventure South Day Tours, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thanks for the great feedback Christopher S. We look forward to hiking with you again in New Zealand one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ Exceptional support, natural beauty and thrilling rides”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

Exceptional experience on the Motu Trails, North Is. NZ, Bay of Plenty region. Amazing scenery and cycling where the guides Tim and associate Kaye ensured trouble free journey with a very memorable and special level of support

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FirebugD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Advsouth, Manager at Adventure South Day Tours, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thanks for your positive feedback FirebugD, Kaye & I are trying to figure out who you are - haha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
302 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Exceeded all our expectations by far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

We used Adventure South's support crew facility to allow us to take part in the Tour of New Zealand. Without it, we simply couldn't have joined in. For two of us the prices made us wince but I have to say it was worth every single cent. Tim was a brilliant driver, tour guide, hotel and restaurant arranger, soigneur, picnic and snack provider, breakfast utensils provider, luggage mover, bike mechanic, photographer and great company. I tell everyone just how Adventure South made our trip so enjoyable and let us achieve our best without having to worry about anything. Our trip holds so many brilliant memories and that's partly due to Adventure South's professionalism. Happy to both recommend and to return. Thanks!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank olthomas44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Advsouth, Manager at Adventure South Day Tours, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thanks "olthomas" from Perth, loved having you guys on board and we look forward to doing it again in a couple of years in the South?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Adventure South Day Tours also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Adventure South Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing