We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 17:30
Save
Review Highlights
Awesome trip awesome scenery awesome guides.

Just completed " the wilderness tour" with heather and Johno. 2nd to none service and... read more

Reviewed yesterday
NicolaUsa
,
Perth, Australia
via mobile
Quick holiday

We have just returned from our week with adventure south on our tour around Nelson district. What a... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
958jodiem
,
Yackandandah, Australia
via mobile
Read all 47 reviews
  
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
44
2
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
2
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews otago rail trail crown range great group milford sound new zealand wonderful trip amazing scenery train ride bas cyclists company alps abilities queenstown motel route tandem
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

Our guides Bas and Rossco made this an incredible vacation. The cycling was wonderful as they modified routes to give us the best experience. The non cycling parts of the itinerary were awe inspiring. First class operation, great value for the cost. We will be back!

Thank dbl2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip W, General Manager at Adventure South NZ, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Many thanks for travelling with Adventure South NZ and for your review.

Bas and Rossco are some of New Zealand's most experienced guides and what they don't know about NZ is not worth knowing!

We are thrilled you had a great time and we would love to see you travel with us again.

Keep on riding,


Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

Great guides, very professional, prepared, and personable. Good food, nice bikes, and a not to be missed rail trail on the South Island. I highly recommend Adventure South

Thank MaMcA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip W, General Manager at Adventure South NZ, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Thank you for travelling with Adventure South NZ and for your review and recommendation.

I am pleased you enjoyed the Otago Rail Trail and our included services.

We hope to see you back in New Zealand in the future.

Safe travels and keep riding!

Warm regards,


Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

We have recently returned from Vietnam having completed the Mekong hidden trails tour. We both had a fantastic time with my wife learning more Vietnamese from the driver, while I clocked up 300+ Km of village trails. ADV South's Vietnamese agents organised everything to perfection, so much so I actually had to ask the guide to cut down the size of the lunchtime meals as I felt like a nap rather than a ride after struggling through 5 courses of Vn food.
Both the guide- Viet and the driver – Mr Son were of high standard and friendly and welcoming. Nothing was too difficult for them and in particular Viet was extremely informative about the region, while being able to react to the varying changes in route due to local village road/trail works. In all I only have high praise for both gentleman.
Accommodation was of a high standard for Vietnam, don't expect 5 stars in the rural area's of Vietnam as it just doesn't exist, however all our hotels were clean, neat and the food was of a good standard. English is spoken in varying degrees by hotel staff, however they all made an effort to understand and assist us with any request.
It was of course the riding that made this trip. Viet was quite willing to explore new tracks and roads whenever we encountered an obstacle such as a missing bridge, etc. This of course made the ride all the more unique and exciting! In one case I was apparently the first westerner to stop in a village since the end of the war in 75, so far off the tourist trail we were!

In summary we both had a wonderful experience and would happily recommend this tour. Once again thanks to all the staff at Adventure South in making this trip possible and I will certainly give consideration to further adventures with you guys.

Thank buncha2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip W, General Manager at Adventure South NZ, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Dear "Buncha',

Xin chao!

Many thanks for your review and thank you for travelling with us in Vietnam.

I will forward your feedback and message of thanks to our team in Vietnam, especially to Viet and Mr Son who all work so hard to make our trips run so smoothly.

We believe that riding your bike through remote rural villages is one of the best ways to explore and get to know a country and our unique Hidden Cycle Trails of Vietnam itinerary is a perfect example of that.

Congratulations on riding 300+km of Vietnamese village and jungle trails and we hope to see you travel with us again.

Safe travels and keep riding!

Regards,


Phil


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

We could not have been happier and more impressed with the way Bas (Sebastian) and Sue guided our group of 12 cyclists from Christchurch to Queenstown. Bas was a cheerful, funny, story-telling driver and occasional cyclist and Sue was an expert at leading or trailing the group, keeping an eye on all of us. My wife and I, in our late 60s, were the slow pokes among our group of mostly very experienced and much stronger, younger cyclists. No matter. If we couldn’t make it up the steepest hills, Bas would take us in the van to the next stretch of flatter or rolling or downhills. The scenery was often spectacular. The accommodations were modest, decent and clean. We upgraded on our own to s couple of more boutique or luxurious places along the way. The food and wines also were good. This trip was more about the ride and the scenery — Frank Josef and Fox Glaciers; gorgeous waterfalls; breathtaking coastline views of the Tasman Sea; peaceful beaches; old gold mining towns — than it was about luxury or fine dining. For that we went on to Fiordland in Te Anu. We also took a fabulous cruise from there in the magical Milford Sound. Our only complaint about the bike ride was the traffic that sometimes whizzed by us at high speeds. Having ridden this route 25 years ago when I rarely saw cars, and when the pastures were more filled with sheep, I was disappointed to now be confronted by cars and trucks and many fewer sheep. It felt a little like Paradise Lost. There are just more cars driven by tourists from all over and more commuters and delivery trucks. I’d probably recommend that riders going to New Zealand consider off-road trails, which Adventure South offers. One other thing: the cost of our trip was about one-half the virtually same trip to the same places as Backroads. That may be in part because Backroads charges in U. S. dollars while Adventure South charges in New Zealand dollars. Or it may be because Backroads simply charges more. With the routes and most of the accommodations the same or similar, Adventure South offered much better value with guides who were superb.

Thank StevenandSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip W, General Manager at Adventure South NZ, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Steven and Sara,

Many thanks for travelling with Adventure South NZ and for your informative and flattering review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed our Great West Coast road riding itinerary and hope that it is not 25 years between your next visit!

Safe travels and keep riding.

Regards,

Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

We completed the Great West Coast Cycle guided by Sue and Bas on December 15, 2017. The trip was just amazing. Sue and Bas planned our days well, and were extremely flexible when opportunities to improve the ride became apparent. They were both attentive to the needs of the group, and they greatly exceeded our expectations. If we return to New Zealand, we will certainly ride with them again.

Thank alcantra2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip W, General Manager at Adventure South NZ, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Dear 'Alcantra',

A huge thank you for travelling with Adventure South NZ and for your incredible review, we do greatly appreciate it. I will certainly forward this onto Sue and Bas and congratulate them on their efforts.

The guiding and depot staff teams all work hard to provide travel experiences which exceed expectations for our guests and we get a real buzz when we hear that is the case.

The West Coast of NZ is a magic place to ride and we hope to see you again in any of the other regions across the the country we ride through.

Many thanks and keep riding,


Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews