We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 17:30
Save
Review Highlights
Alps to Ocean cycle tour

If you love off-road cycling in spectacular scenery then this is the tour for you. Adventure South... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Gill H
,
Inverness, United Kingdom
Awesome trip awesome scenery awesome guides.

Just completed " the wilderness tour" with heather and Johno. 2nd to none service and... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
NicolaUsa
,
Perth, Australia
via mobile
Read all 48 reviews
  
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
45
2
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
2
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews otago rail trail crown range great group milford sound new zealand wonderful trip amazing scenery train ride bas cyclists company alps abilities queenstown motel route tandem
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

This was our second trip with Adventure South and had another great time. This one was the Alps to Ocean ride covering around 270kms over 6 days. Excellent riding over a variety of tracks, quite demanding so get an e bike to make life easier. You still have to pedal, just not so hard. Plus you get to beat all the youngsters. As with the first trip, our guides were fantastic and worked very hard to ensure everything went smoothly although we still managed to get lost (our fault but great fun). Accommodation was mostly good, only one motel below expectation. Last night particularly memorable staying in a 120 year old heritage listed homestead. Great group of fellow riders which helps a lot but on both of our trips with Adventure South this has been the case. Haven't even got home yet and are planning our next ride. If you enjoy bike riding you must give this a go.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank C974ISjeffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip W, General Manager at Adventure South NZ, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Many thanks for your repeat business and travelling with Adventure South NZ. We are thrilled that you had another fantastic time exploring the South Island.

Great to hear your comment about ebikes. We encourage them and they allow many riders to not worry about possible headwinds or hills and just to enjoy the ride and admire the scenery!

We hope to see you again soon and keep riding.

Regards,

Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

Four of us did the signature challenging Great West Coast cycle ride and have nothing but good to say. Considerate, friendly experienced guides. Well thought out route, food, lodging. This is a week of hilly riding but so beautiful.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank eschindler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip W, General Manager at Adventure South NZ, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2018

A huge thank you for travelling with us and for your great review.

We are pleased those hills passed by a little easier by enjoying the stunning scenery the West Coast is well known for and you had a great time.

We hope you come riding with us again.

Regards,


Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

Our guides Bas and Rossco made this an incredible vacation. The cycling was wonderful as they modified routes to give us the best experience. The non cycling parts of the itinerary were awe inspiring. First class operation, great value for the cost. We will be back!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank dbl2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip W, General Manager at Adventure South NZ, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Many thanks for travelling with Adventure South NZ and for your review.

Bas and Rossco are some of New Zealand's most experienced guides and what they don't know about NZ is not worth knowing!

We are thrilled you had a great time and we would love to see you travel with us again.

Keep on riding,


Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

Great guides, very professional, prepared, and personable. Good food, nice bikes, and a not to be missed rail trail on the South Island. I highly recommend Adventure South

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank MaMcA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip W, General Manager at Adventure South NZ, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Thank you for travelling with Adventure South NZ and for your review and recommendation.

I am pleased you enjoyed the Otago Rail Trail and our included services.

We hope to see you back in New Zealand in the future.

Safe travels and keep riding!

Warm regards,


Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

We have recently returned from Vietnam having completed the Mekong hidden trails tour. We both had a fantastic time with my wife learning more Vietnamese from the driver, while I clocked up 300+ Km of village trails. ADV South's Vietnamese agents organised everything to perfection, so much so I actually had to ask the guide to cut down the size of the lunchtime meals as I felt like a nap rather than a ride after struggling through 5 courses of Vn food.
Both the guide- Viet and the driver – Mr Son were of high standard and friendly and welcoming. Nothing was too difficult for them and in particular Viet was extremely informative about the region, while being able to react to the varying changes in route due to local village road/trail works. In all I only have high praise for both gentleman.
Accommodation was of a high standard for Vietnam, don't expect 5 stars in the rural area's of Vietnam as it just doesn't exist, however all our hotels were clean, neat and the food was of a good standard. English is spoken in varying degrees by hotel staff, however they all made an effort to understand and assist us with any request.
It was of course the riding that made this trip. Viet was quite willing to explore new tracks and roads whenever we encountered an obstacle such as a missing bridge, etc. This of course made the ride all the more unique and exciting! In one case I was apparently the first westerner to stop in a village since the end of the war in 75, so far off the tourist trail we were!

In summary we both had a wonderful experience and would happily recommend this tour. Once again thanks to all the staff at Adventure South in making this trip possible and I will certainly give consideration to further adventures with you guys.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank buncha2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip W, General Manager at Adventure South NZ, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Dear "Buncha',

Xin chao!

Many thanks for your review and thank you for travelling with us in Vietnam.

I will forward your feedback and message of thanks to our team in Vietnam, especially to Viet and Mr Son who all work so hard to make our trips run so smoothly.

We believe that riding your bike through remote rural villages is one of the best ways to explore and get to know a country and our unique Hidden Cycle Trails of Vietnam itinerary is a perfect example of that.

Congratulations on riding 300+km of Vietnamese village and jungle trails and we hope to see you travel with us again.

Safe travels and keep riding!

Regards,


Phil


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews