We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West Coast and Glaciers Cycle - fantastic tour better suited for stronger riders”
Review of Adventure South NZ

Adventure South NZ
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Since 1992, Adventure South has been operating the best and most comprehensive range of guided trekking, cycling and adventure holidays available across New Zealand. Our mission statement is Small Groups, Great Guides, Superb Holidays… and we’re confident that the originality, scope and quality of our program ensure that there is an adventure for everyone. Enjoy the pristine splendor of New Zealand’s north and south islands. From the magic of the Southern Alps to the volcanoes and geothermal regions of the north, New Zealand’s forgotten Sub-Antarctic islands to the wild west coast of the South Island, our unique range of guided small group active holiday’s will take you beyond the popular trails to discover the true essence of New Zealand’s pure wilderness.
Reviewed 17 February 2018

Just finished a fantastic "West Coast and Glaciers Cycle" of 6 days and over 450km of cycling from Queenstown, over the Crown Range and up the West Coast, then towards Arthurs Pass ending with a spectacular train ride to Christchurch. A great group of 11 cyclists from North America, UK and Australia. A real highlight were our 2 fantastic guides Dave and Brett - who were well organised and managed the group very well despite cyclists of very differing abilities, yet remained very friendly and gave lots of tips and Kiwi culture and history along the way. Accommodation was generally basic motel-style but a good dry and warm place to rest at the end of a long (and sometimes wet) day. Food was plentiful in good restaurants and cafes, as well as some picnics at beautiful lakeside rest stops along the way, and a snack box in the bus. Only piece of advice is that if you want to spend most of the day riding then you should feel comfortable riding 75km or more most days including some big hills, but if you are happy riding the bus some of the way then you could do as little as 25km per day.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Aussie-Travel-lerzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip W, General Manager at Adventure South NZ, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Many thanks to you for travelling with Adventure South NZ and for your great review.

Dave and Brett are quality guides and enjoyed the riding and travelling with you all.

Keep riding and we hope to see you back over here again soon.

Regards,

Phil and the AS Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"otago rail trail"
in 9 reviews
"crown range"
in 2 reviews
"great group"
in 2 reviews
"milford sound"
in 3 reviews
"new zealand"
in 12 reviews
"wonderful trip"
in 2 reviews
"amazing scenery"
in 2 reviews
"train ride"
in 2 reviews
"bas"
in 7 reviews
"cyclists"
in 6 reviews
"company"
in 9 reviews
"alps"
in 7 reviews
"abilities"
in 4 reviews
"queenstown"
in 8 reviews
"motel"
in 4 reviews
"route"
in 9 reviews
"tandem"
in 2 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2018

My wife and I are in our early 60's, avid cyclists. Adventure South hit the 'sweet spot' for cost, miles, challenge, support, accommodations, basically everything. We did the Great West Coast trip in February 2018, and just loved it. The guides were perfect, took care of everything and then some. Make sure you are in reasonably good shape; some days had long miles, and two passes, Haast and Crown Range were challenging. Be prepared for some rain, bring your own saddle and pedals if you can. Accommodations were good, often the best (or only) in town. Their bikes were fine if you don't bring your own.
This is a very good, competent company, very well run, stable and with good guides. Communication with the staff prior to the trip was answered promptly. We would book with them in a heartbeat.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank dochendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip W, General Manager at Adventure South NZ, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thank you for travelling with us and for your review.

We are pleased you enjoyed the riding and found that all the included services exceeded expectations.

We hope to see you again soon on one of our other riding trips.

Keep riding and thanks again.

Regards,

Phil and the Adventure South team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

We had an experience of a lifetime on our Adventure South tandem tour of the south island. Our Adventure South guides Bas and Rossco provided first-class leadership, including amazing on-the-fly route updates based on weather / road conditions and wonderful stories and highlights of NZ history. Included with the tour were fantastic meals and accommodations (eating and sleeping well are so important on a bike tour!).

We rode over 500 miles of the South Island's roads with 8 other tandem couples on this special 15-day tour, combining destinations from several of Adventure South's popular bicycle tours. From Christchurch and the Banks Peninsula, we traveled to Dunedin, riding in the area 2 days, then on to Kaka Point and the postcard scenery of the Catlins. Riding onward to Bluff, we took the ferry for for a 2-night stay on lush Stewart Island (beautiful!). On return to Bluff, we rode from Riverton to Manapuri, followed by a hike on the Kepler Track and magical overnight yacht cruise in Doubtful Sound. Continuing with rides from Te Anu (with hanging glaciers framing the mountains) we ended the tour in Queenstown and a final challenging ride to Glenorchy, with ever-changing lake and mountain vistas.

We would have loved to stay at any of these destinations for at least 3 or 4 days, so we will likely be returning to NZ!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank susangrant2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip W, General Manager at Adventure South NZ, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018

A huge thank you for travelling with us and for your very kind and informative review.

We look forward to meeting you again when you return.

Keep riding!


Regards,


Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

This was our second trip with Adventure South and had another great time. This one was the Alps to Ocean ride covering around 270kms over 6 days. Excellent riding over a variety of tracks, quite demanding so get an e bike to make life easier. You still have to pedal, just not so hard. Plus you get to beat all the youngsters. As with the first trip, our guides were fantastic and worked very hard to ensure everything went smoothly although we still managed to get lost (our fault but great fun). Accommodation was mostly good, only one motel below expectation. Last night particularly memorable staying in a 120 year old heritage listed homestead. Great group of fellow riders which helps a lot but on both of our trips with Adventure South this has been the case. Haven't even got home yet and are planning our next ride. If you enjoy bike riding you must give this a go.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank C974ISjeffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip W, General Manager at Adventure South NZ, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Many thanks for your repeat business and travelling with Adventure South NZ. We are thrilled that you had another fantastic time exploring the South Island.

Great to hear your comment about ebikes. We encourage them and they allow many riders to not worry about possible headwinds or hills and just to enjoy the ride and admire the scenery!

We hope to see you again soon and keep riding.

Regards,

Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

Four of us did the signature challenging Great West Coast cycle ride and have nothing but good to say. Considerate, friendly experienced guides. Well thought out route, food, lodging. This is a week of hilly riding but so beautiful.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank eschindler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip W, General Manager at Adventure South NZ, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2018

A huge thank you for travelling with us and for your great review.

We are pleased those hills passed by a little easier by enjoying the stunning scenery the West Coast is well known for and you had a great time.

We hope you come riding with us again.

Regards,


Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Adventure South NZ also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Adventure South NZ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing