We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 132 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful B & B”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We had the garden room at the beginning of our holiday and on the last night of our holiday in the South Island. Pam and Denis were charming hosts and the breakfasts were fantastic! We would be happy to recommend to anyone who is looking for a charming B & B close to the town centre. Maharaja's Indian restaurant is a short walk away and the food is delicious.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilipet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    28
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
207
16
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Great find, i intend to return. Very welcoming and comfortable. I enjoyed the spa on a moonlit crisp canterbury night and a long soak in the clawfoot bath in the mulberry room, not to mention the breakfasts and the pets. Many thanks, lois

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyFunTimes747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Just an over night stay. Perfectly appointed. Pam & Dennis are wonderful hosts.spotlessley clean . A home away from home. Just loved Matty the retriever. Well done keep it up. Will certainly recommend to our colleagues and friends when next in Christ church.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed twice at this B&B during our recent trip to NZ as we flew in & out of Christchurch.
We were very happy with the accommodation - it's a lovely house & the hosts have gone to much effort to ensure guests feel comfortable & at home. Full cooked breakfast was the best we've ever had in our experience of B&B stays - it was fantastic!!!

We stayed in the Garden Room both times and although - as other reviewers pointed out - the bathroom is separate from that room we did not find this to be a problem. We had exclusive use of a huge bathroom & its door is right outside the bedroom door. Quirks of household layouts are a large part of what set B&Bs apart from motels & hotels after all.

Hosts were very keen to suggest places of interest for us to visit in Christchurch & all over NZ, and we found their advice most helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

A sweet home with everything you need provided. We enjoyed the great hospitality from hosts Pam and Denis, and Pam given us a thorough guide for our very first visit to Christchurch. We took the Attic room, though is small but is just sweet and comfortable for 2 of us. Bathroom is clean and well heated during winter time. Nicely cooked breakfast accompanied by cutie dogie Mady. Will sure be back!

P/S we also bought a nice cute bag from Pam which is uniquely designed and made.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahsiangLWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zhuhai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Location is good, the house is perfect! Cute pets!! Good home make breakfast!! Nice hosts!!
Still some flaws since the winner price will bring high expectation:
1.Garden room is noisy when preparing breakfast;
2.The bathroom is outside the bedroom;
3.No WIFI signal in the garden room;
4.No cooking;

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clover C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Good start to our south island trip. The best part are the hosts pam and denis.
Thanks to them it does feel little like home. They give great tips what to do, where to eat etc.
They were flexible and very helpful. Lilac rose has some great collection of unique items across the home.

Personally for us there were 2 minor issues.
1. We booked attic room , which was good overall but congested and you cant stand in half of the room due to ramp.

2. We are pure vegetarians from India. So meat being cooked did have an odour across the house making my partner uncomfortable. Again nothing wrong from host side but learning for us :).

Room Tip: Attic room is pretty small specially tall ppl may want to avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.2 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
612 reviews
2.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
634 reviews
1.8 mi away
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 132 in Christchurch
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
#2 of 132 in Christchurch
827 reviews
2.3 mi away
Orari Bed & Breakfast
Orari Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 132 in Christchurch
372 reviews
3.6 mi away
Designer Cottage
Designer Cottage
#4 of 132 in Christchurch
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Property: Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Address: 172 Blighs Road | Strowan, Christchurch 8052, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for stunning bed and breakfast accommodation in Christchurch, New Zealand? The Lilac Rose is a charming 100 year old villa that has been completely restored to offer luxury bed and breakfast accommodation. We are conveniently located 7 minutes from both Christchurch airport and the city centre. As a guest at the Lilac Rose you can enjoy generous hospitality and spacious rooms with stylish decor, antiques and fresh flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing