We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 138 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I spent a few days working in Christchurch and my stay at the Lilac Rose helped to make this a very enjoyable trip. The room was excellent with good bathroom facilities and everything was immaculate and clean. The hosts were fantastic, very friendly and welcoming, and do a great breakfast! I'll certainly be staying there next time I'm in Christchurch!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pcp192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

We recently enjoyed a one night stay at the Lilac Rose. We were travelling with my mother so occupied the two beautiful rooms downstairs.. The hosts, Dennis and Pam quickly made us feel very at home. The facilities were excellent and the home is full of eclectic pieces. Happy to return there anytime I am in Christchurch.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Chrissy387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed at Lilac Rose twice on our trip. Once the first night before we left on our driving trip and the second time on our way back for 3 nights before we flew back. We loved our stay both times and felt very at home. Lilac Rose is an aesthetically pleasingly decorated home with wonderful hosts. They have a lovely golden retriever too. My 7 year old son is still talking about Lilac Rose now that we're back, and he tells everyone it is the best place to stay in New Zealand! I think so too! Thank you, Pam and Dennis, for such fantastic time. :-)

Room Tip: There is parking right out front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lunibean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This review is long overdue! My girlfriend and I stayed with Pam and Denis during the summer as part of a two week holiday in New Zealand. We made the reservation online and stayed in the Mulberry room. From the moment we arrived, Pam and Denis made us feel very welcome; recommending some places to eat, what to do while in Christchurch and helping us with directions to relatives we wanted to visit. Denis even gave us a Sat Nav the following day to help find my girlfriend's great aunt's house as roads can be closed in Christchurch. The room itself was superb with an excellent bathroom. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. We ate with the family which was a nice touch and Denis' secret sauce didn't disappoint! We had a very early flight the following day but breakfast was put out for us to have something to eat before leaving. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this B&B! You would struggle to find a nicer place to stay while in Christchurch.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank POC-CW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We emigrated to New Zealand and stayed in the garden room. From the minute we arrived, Pam and Denis were wonderful, accommodating and extremely helpful; it was like home from home for us which was very much appreciated.
Pam and Denis are super knowledgeable about the area which will help anyone gaining their feet or looking for specific things to do during their visit. Nothing ever felt like too much for Denis or Pam and they were only too willing to help which was fab!!!
The B&B building itself is stunning and breakfast was excellent; you will definitely achieve value for money and have a wonderful, memorable stay. We cannot recommend the Lilac Rose B&B enough - definitely worth a visit if you are visiting Christchurch.

Room Tip: We stayed in the garden room (ground floor room) which was stunning and great if you are emigrating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuniorMrsNev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We chose the Lilac Rose B&B from their excellent TripAdvisor reviews and our expectations were exceeded. The house is a beautiful 1895 restored Colonial and the rooms were excellent. Best of all, the hosts, Pam and Dennis, were charming and helpful making our stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeilHarrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We had the garden room at the beginning of our holiday and on the last night of our holiday in the South Island. Pam and Denis were charming hosts and the breakfasts were fantastic! We would be happy to recommend to anyone who is looking for a charming B & B close to the town centre. Maharaja's Indian restaurant is a short walk away and the food is delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilipet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.2 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
666 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
2.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 138 in Christchurch
654 reviews
3.6 mi away
Designer Cottage
Designer Cottage
#3 of 138 in Christchurch
280 reviews
2.8 mi away
Eco Villa
Eco Villa
#9 of 138 in Christchurch
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Address: 172 Blighs Road | Strowan, Christchurch 8052, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range: £79 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for stunning bed and breakfast accommodation in Christchurch, New Zealand? The Lilac Rose is a charming 100 year old villa that has been completely restored to offer luxury bed and breakfast accommodation. We are conveniently located 7 minutes from both Christchurch airport and the city centre. As a guest at the Lilac Rose you can enjoy generous hospitality and spacious rooms with stylish decor, antiques and fresh flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing