We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 130 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Gorgeous gardens”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the beginning of our NZ tour. The gardens were gorgeous, rooms were good size for a few nights. Hosts were welcoming and Maddie the dog is cute and gentle.
Pams knowledge of good restaurants was fab (Italians in merrivale named Tutto Benne is great. If you want to go you have to book as its very busy)
Good selection at breakfast but for us the bacon too fatty and poached eggs overcooked.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    28
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
207
16
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at Pam and Dennis' beautiful villa for 3 nights and had a wonderful relaxing time. As hosts Pam and Dennis were fantastic making us feel at home and sharing with us a good understanding of the Canterbury region places to go see etc.The Garden room offers a lovely outlook to Pam's garden and the bed was lovely and comfortable. Not far from town we were able to go visit the terrible destruction of the Earthquakes and then return to the shopping center nearby and enjoy a selection of affordable restaurants and food outlets. We highly recommend you give Pam and Dennis and the Lilac Rose serious consideration if you are looking for a Bed & Breakfast stay in Christchurch you won't regret it. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The garden room is spacious, has direct access to the garden and is the closest room to the spa if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Me and my brother had the most amazing stay there. Sometimes I wondered if I'm in a movie. To nice to be true?!
Pam and Dennis are lovely, welcoming and they will do all they can to make you feel at home. I loved the pup maddy! And the hot tub just made my day.(even on rainy days) The brekky was outstanding and I could recover well on my last 2 days of my 3 month travel. Thank you so much!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claudia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed at the Lilac Rose before and after our camper van trip around New Zealand in October 2013. So glad that we found this little gem in Christchurch. Pam and Dennis were very welcoming and Maddie the dog is just so adorable. We stayed in the Garden room, which was immaculately decorated and furnished. The power shower in the bathroom (located next to the room and not en-suite but still very private) was exactly what was needed after arriving having been traveling for close on 30hrs!! Breakfast was as good as we had been led to expect by other reviewers, with the special tomato sauce!! Would definitely recommend staying here, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Warm and helpful hosts. Beautifully vintage and inviting house. Great value for money. Clean and modern amenities provided. Friendly Labrador Retriever called Maddy included. Top notch, no room for improvement. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yong C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
205 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here to tour Christchurch and to make an all day trip on the Tranzalpine Railway. We booked the attic room which has a private bath adjacent to the room but not en suite. There was a home office on this floor so you had to make sure you had something on to go to the bathroom. The room and bathroom were modern and comfortable although small as might be expected for an attic room. The bathroom had a heated floor which was great. You had to be careful not to hit your head on the sloping ceilings when getting out of bed. Pam, Dennis and Maddie, their golden retriever, were gracious host. Dennis suggested places to eat and Pam provided us with muffins and cookies to take on the train with us. Dennis cooked breakfast to order including waffles on Sunday morning which was much appreciated.

Room Tip: Opt for a room other than the attic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrobbinsCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Grateful that this was our first stop in NZ.

Hosts Dennis and Pam were just great. Their breakfasts were delicious, the room was comfortable and we loved the long claw foot bathtub in our en suite.

Oh and if you like dogs, they have an adorable retriever, Maddie.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tym6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.2 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
589 reviews
2.0 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,265 reviews
2.7 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
611 reviews
3.6 mi away
Designer Cottage
Designer Cottage
#5 of 130 in Christchurch
260 reviews
1.8 mi away
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 130 in Christchurch
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Property: Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Address: 172 Blighs Road | Strowan, Christchurch 8052, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for stunning bed and breakfast accommodation in Christchurch, New Zealand? The Lilac Rose is a charming 100 year old villa that has been completely restored to offer luxury bed and breakfast accommodation. We are conveniently located 7 minutes from both Christchurch airport and the city centre. As a guest at the Lilac Rose you can enjoy generous hospitality and spacious rooms with stylish decor, antiques and fresh flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing