We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 133 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

A fantastic B&B with extremely nice hosts. We stayed in the maroon or crimson room and it was great--very quiet with a nice large bathroom with everything you would need. The breakfast was delicious and Pam & Dennis were fun to chat with. Christchurch was fascinating to see with all of the reconstruction still going on in the downtown.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hofol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    28
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
207
16
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here after 3 weeks in a camper touring NZ. Hosts Pam and Denis were very welcoming and made our stay very enjoyable. The rooms are beautiful as are the gardens and very peaceful to relax and read a book in. We stayed in the Mulberry room with a lovely freestanding bath and nice touches such as candles and matches. Breakfast was varied and tasty. It was a very nice end to our trip and we were sad to leave. There is also a wonderful Golden Retriever Maddie who was so friendly and always up for a play!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We enjoyed staying at the cosy B&B, the house is beautifully decorated and Pam and Dennis are very hospitable - including their great dog. We got lots of helpful tipps on what to do in the city and loved the breakfast menu. You have to try the Eggs Benedict.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjoernrichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Garden Room for 1 night.

The room itself, although nicely decorated, with the most comfortable bed, did not fully meet our expectations for those reasons : we found it to be a little small ; there is no veiling, meaning anyone in the garden could see us unless we shut the curtains; and the bathroom (although very nice and spacious) is outside the room.

Despite that, the Lilac Rose remains an excellent B&B in our opinion. The house is very cosy and comfortable. It is perfectly located in Christchurch. The garden is lovely. The hosts, Dennis and Pam, are naturally welcoming and helpful. They have the cuttest dog. And breakfast was one of the best we had during our 3 weeks stay in NZ.

Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Lilac Rose Boutique B&B in October 2013 in the Attic Room. Pam and Dennis were very kind and welcoming and were able to give my wife and I dinner recommendations on the water at Sumner since we wanted a good view before we flew back home :) The room was very nice and clean with a private bathroom. Also, the location was great for us, as we were only in Christchurch for one night and the next morning we had to wake up early and drive to the airport (the airport is only 5-7 min away). We highly recommend Lilac Rose to anyone choosing to stay in the Christchurch area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We spent our first night in New Zealand at lilac rose and had a great stay. Lovely warm greeting, and the very welcome sight of Maddie the dog, and a cold glass of wine. The room was gorgeous, as we're the gardens along with a lovely, spacious en-suite. After an excellent nights sleep we had enjoyed a lovely breakfast of eggs benedict (our best breakfast in our month away), a dip in the hot tub and then we were on our way feeling relaxed and delighted with our first night choice!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Beautiful home, wonderful homely atmosphere, well behaved dog, welcoming hosts, glass of wine, beautifully decorated bedrooms, comfortable beds, wonderful breakfasts...... What is there not to like, just wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_Shillito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.2 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
621 reviews
1.8 mi away
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 133 in Christchurch
648 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
#2 of 133 in Christchurch
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Designer Cottage
Designer Cottage
#3 of 133 in Christchurch
274 reviews
2.3 mi away
Orari Bed & Breakfast
Orari Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 133 in Christchurch
374 reviews
2.8 mi away
Eco Villa
Eco Villa
#18 of 133 in Christchurch
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Property: Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Address: 172 Blighs Road | Strowan, Christchurch 8052, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for stunning bed and breakfast accommodation in Christchurch, New Zealand? The Lilac Rose is a charming 100 year old villa that has been completely restored to offer luxury bed and breakfast accommodation. We are conveniently located 7 minutes from both Christchurch airport and the city centre. As a guest at the Lilac Rose you can enjoy generous hospitality and spacious rooms with stylish decor, antiques and fresh flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing