We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish we had stayed longer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 139 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wish we had stayed longer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Four of us stayed here for one night at the beginning of March 2014. We were welcomed with tea/coffee and home-made cookies and were made to feel immediately at home in their wonderful house.
Although Lilac Rose is on a busy road, the house itself is very quiet and our room was at the back.
The bedrooms are beautifully decorated, the bathrooms have gorgeous toiletries for your use and the garden is a lovely place to sit and read - not forgetting the hot tub which is available for guests' use.
The breakfast (Eggs Benedict) was absolutely delicious with home-made Hollandaise Sauce as well.
Pam and Dennis are excellent hosts - extremely friendly and helpful, making sure all your needs are catered for.
Like so many others, we all fell in love with their Golden Retriever Maddie - she is so soft and friendly and very well behaved.
We would highly recommend the Lilac Rose B&B if you're looking for somewhere to stay in Christchurch.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nickie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    28
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
207
16
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
world
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Lovely house. Comfortable rooms and welcoming, genuine hosts.Dennis gave us tea and a chat on arrival and told us where to find a good evening meal. Really couldn't ask for more but we got it in a wonderful breakfast. We just felt like we were friends who'd been invited to stay. What's better than that?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsymaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Pam and Denis were absolutely wonderful hosts and have the most beautiful home.
The house is stunning and despite being on a busy road it is incredibly quiet. We stayed in the Attic Room and slept very peacefully. The shower was especially fantastic and I could have stayed in there all day!
Breakfast was a fantastic feast, with both a continental and cooked breakfast offered. Denis's tomato sauce is definitely recommended.
My personal highlight has to be the roaring fire in the lounge room, I spent a very comfortable and happy evening there enjoying the company of their golden retriever.
It genuinely felt as if we were house guests in their home rather than paying customers. Denis helped us with our bags while Pam equipped us with maps and advice about Christchurch.
I am definitely planning on coming back to the Lilac Rose and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys that little bit of luxury.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Socahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed with Pam & Dennis in their beautiful home for 1 night before collecting our camper.

We loved the double attic room which had a very comfy bed and a lovely clean bathroom (not en suite but for our sole use).

Dennis cooked a mean breakfast and their beautiful Golden Retriever added a relaxed charm - I could have taken her with us!! :-)

We wish we had stayed longer but would highly recommend Lilac Rose to everyone and we would not hesitate to stay again if we were in town.

A+++++

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn_L81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Our first stay on our tour through NZ and what a welcome from Pam & Denis. They have got this B&B just right with lovely rooms and a relaxing atmosphere. Breakfasts (cooked by Denis) were great and the whole experience was just what we needed after long flights. Nothing bad to say!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claptonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Pam and Denis are the most amazing hosts and a great example of why Kiwis are known for being so friendly. Normally I shy away from B & B's as I prefer the anonymity of a hotel, however from the moment you walk in the front door of this lovely gracious beautifully restored home and are offered tea, coffee or a glass of wine this sets the tone for your stay. Nothing seems too much bother and they make you feel like you are their personal guest rather than a paying visitor. I enjoyed a very comfy night in the Mulberry Room with it's very generous bathroom including a clawfoot bath and even a Mohair throw - not too many places provide that level of comfort. I had to leave early so didn't stay for a cooked breakfast which I understand is one of the best but I did enjoy Denis' Raspberry Friands and they are probably the best I've ever tasted (my own included!). Lilac Rose truly is a lovely place and Denis, Pam and the beautiful Maddie will make you feel completely at home.

Room Tip: Attic room has steep narrow stairs - if you are old or inform forget it as tricky navigating with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DP2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed at the Lilac Rose in early January 2014 in my home town of Christchurch - so sadly affected in recent years by two terrible earthquakes. We were on holiday from the UK where we have lived for many years. It was a relaxing and charming experience thanks to the hosts Pam and Denis, whose attention to detail and apparently effortless high standards of hospitality were very welcome. The Garden Room is quiet, very comfortable, and has lovely garden views. The adjacent bathroom is easily accessed, private, and impressively classy. The breakfast was excellent. We are so grateful to Pam for getting our washing done, and to Denis for lending us some implements for cleaning a family grave. We left very early to catch flights to London and this was made easy for us. Many thanks.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myrtle1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.2 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
2.0 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
2.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
3.6 mi away
Designer Cottage
Designer Cottage
#5 of 139 in Christchurch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.8 mi away
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 139 in Christchurch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Property: Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Address: 172 Blighs Road | Strowan, Christchurch 8052, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for stunning bed and breakfast accommodation in Christchurch, New Zealand? The Lilac Rose is a charming 100 year old villa that has been completely restored to offer luxury bed and breakfast accommodation. We are conveniently located 7 minutes from both Christchurch airport and the city centre. As a guest at the Lilac Rose you can enjoy generous hospitality and spacious rooms with stylish decor, antiques and fresh flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing