We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Governors Bay Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$185
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$127
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$143
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
US$281
US$226
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Classic Villa(Christchurch)
US$167
US$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch(Christchurch)
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Airport Palms Motel(Christchurch)
US$106
US$102
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
27
39
5
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
39
5
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared facilitieslyttleton harbourcontinental breakfastshared balconygreat spot to relaxdiamond harbourguest roomssmall roommin drivenew zealandaccommodationkaikoura
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Firstly lets be clear, this hotel is several kilometres from Lyttleton and Christchurch city. We took a cab the first day from the airport and it was expensive. Second day we caught the local bus to Lyttleton, paused for a refreshment at a charming bar and then took a cab to the hotel. Much cheaper option. So we would recommend having a car of your own. The hotel is a refurbed old wooden hotel. We had fantastic views across the green water of the Bay from a balcony. Percet for drinking our champagne. It has been done up with taste and is clean and modern with a shared breakfast room. There are 2 shared bathrooms and no ensuites which may put some people off but we found it fine as the hotel is quite small and they provide fluffy white robes for any foray into the hall.
The host is very welcoming and looks after you well. The only place to eat really is the hotel, as apart from a chocolate cafe over the road there is no other shop in Governors Bay. That's its charm! Luckily the restaurant is excellent. We had a Valentines Day special menu. There is a good selection of local wine as well.
There are some lovely walks in the area - around the edge of the Bay. We walked to Christchurch one day, the locals thought we were mad as its over fifteen km, but it was a fantastic way to see a wide range of scenery and to see first had the terrible damage the earthquakes had done to the outer suburbs.

Room Tip: Book a balcony room of course - good value
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magda011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggles63, Owner at Governors Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Dear Magda, thank you for your review, I do admire your energy in climbing over our hills. Once upon a time the early settlers did this on a regular basis and they are a few mad cyclists that do it today, far too regularly.
You are most welcome back anytime, kind regards, Jeremy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

The rooms are not ensuited. But if you are comfortable with this, the Governors Bay Hotel is a great tip. It is very clean, the staff is familiar and you have direct access to the Bar and Restaurant which serves really good food. We were there for four nights to be close to Christchurch. From Govenors Bay to Christchurch it's just a 20 minutes drive by car. The View is great, even in the night.

The rooms are equipped with Wireless Internet, a Flatscreen TV, a washbasin and a queen-size bed. You also have access to the balcony with its great view to the Governors Bay. The Hotel has two separate showers and two toilets. There is also a Laundry with a dryer for your clothes and a parking lot for your car. You can have a continental breakfast in a small room on the floor wich is equipped with coffee-making-facilities or outside on the balcony.

Give it a try!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggles63, Owner at Governors Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Dear Max,
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review and we're so glad your enjoyed your stay. I hope your New Zealand trip was memorable and wish you all the best for the future,
Kind regards,
Jeremy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Really enjoyed our stay over. Real sense of history and character but still well maintained and neat. Room was nicely done and very cosy (1 metre more of space to get past bed would be great but more an irritation than showstopper). Balcony is really nice and you are sure to chat to your neighbours at some point which adds to the appeal. Had a great meal downstairs, excellent wine list and good menu. Pub looks like good local spot, probably get quite rowdy at times but we had no problems. Breakfast room nicely stocked for light breakfast. All round, a good experience.

Room Tip: view of bay advised
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Although we checked in pretty late on a Friday night, the staff was very friendly & accomodating and served us a lovely dinner and drinks. There was a lively but comfortable crowd that had overflowed out on to the porch tables and garden. Even if you don't book a room, this is a great place to go for drinks and dinner. We loved our bay view room upstairs, that opened onto a large verandah overlooking the beautiful bay! We slept very well. Although the bathrooms are shared and across the hallway, this was not a problem at all. A nice surprise was long terry robes in the room. A small breakfast room down the hall had everything to fix up a continental breakfast, which you could eat there or take out to the verandah, which had plenty of seating for guests and a telescope to watch boats on the bay.

Room Tip: I didn't see the other rooms, but I think the little extra price for the bay view with access to the verandah is well worth it.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosalind C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Delicious dinner in the garden, great view over the harbour, high ceilings and french doors onto a deep verandah, a buzz of conviviality from the patio and a good sleep in lovely white linen. We loved the friendly service, lingering sense of history (with a walk down the passage to the bathroom and a downstairs pub)- this old lady sure has a past- combined with the simple finishes and modernised conveniences like bathrobe, bedside basin, breakfast room and great reading lights. Luckily twe were there on a week night so the pub noise died down early enough for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews