We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and informative tour”

Discover Christchurch Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
US$51.02*
and up
Christchurch Sightseeing Tour by Classic Double-Decker Bus
Ranked #32 of 92 Tours in Christchurch
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Enjoy a fun and informative Christchurch City tour on-board our classic 1960's London double decker buses. First, take a one hour highlights tour of the 'must see' central city attractions aboard the open-top double-decker bus. Our local drivers provide an entertaining and informative commentary along the route highlighting various points of interest including the Arts Centre, Hagley Park and Botanical gardens, Cathedral Square, Re:Start Container Mall, New Regent Street, Margaret Mahy playground and much more. Learn about the history of Christchurch including the vision to rebuild and restore the city following the 2011 earthquake. Once your central city tour is completed you then board a closed-top double decker bus and spend 2 hours exploring the outer suburbs of Christchurch. We visit the spectacular Mona Vale Gardens and then journey up the Port Hills to enjoy incredible views of the city, mountains and ocean. Next we take a scenic drive out to the seaside village of Sumner and take time to enjoy an ice-cream or walk along the beach before returning to the city.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great and informative tour”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We did the 1 hour tour of Christchurch and loved it. Our tour guide had just the right balance of informative and humour which made the tour really enjoyable. It's really hard to see a city in such a state of flux due to the earthquakes and is really heart breaking but would definitely recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Littleprobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    10
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
PHOENIX
Level Contributor
146 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“3 hour tour”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Double decker bus for the three hour tour,was wondering if it would get up the hill but we made it. Nice to see the city and the commentary on the earthquake devastation, my city will never be tge same. Being on top of the open air double decker was great for photos

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank kiwiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Double decker bus”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Did the one hour trip as we had time constaints. Loved the tour absolutely devastated to see the damage it was like a warzone. Anyone that has left the city will come back to a new city when it's finally done. Anyone still there will be feeling homesick as so much has gone. Tour operator was local and really good.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great bus tour. ”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We did the 3 hour tour and it was great. First hour took us all around the city, even after living here for a year it was great to find out information on the buildings and the cities future plans. Last two hours took you on outside the city and up around the port hills. Views were amazing and lots of photo stops. Hop on hop off bus. Would definitely recommend the tour. Tour guides very friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Anonomou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
205 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Took One Hour Discover Christchurch Tour”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is the one hour tour which just covers the highlights of Christchurch and does not get outside of the city. It is on an open-top double decker bus. It was a sunny day and this gave us a perfect view of the various sights. The tour guide was excellent in describing the earthquakes and there aftermath. He pointed out where many buildings had stood and were now just empty lots. He also told us about the building he had worked in before retiring and where over a hundred people died when it collapsed. The tour guide was very optimistic as he talked about the rebuilding process and the future of Christchurch. I would recommend this tour to anyone.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rrobbinsCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Discover Christchurch Tour also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Discover Christchurch Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing