We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful hosts, Delightful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 132 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful hosts, Delightful Experience”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed with Faye and Lindsay for two nights early May. This was our first experience at a B & B and we loved it. Everything was so clean and comfortable. Faye cooked us a special, delicious vegetarian meal and nothing was too much trouble for them both. We felt like pampered family guests. We were collected at the airport late at night and taken into Christchurch the next morning after a delicious breakfast. Lindsay was extremely helpful in the planning of our road trip around the South Island. We just love NZ! Thank you so much for your help and hospitality. We would love to come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
We are pleased to have introduced you both to a quality bed & breakfast experience. We pride ourselves on making our guests stay as personal as we can. The opportunity to dine with our guests is a highlight for us as well as our guests. Fay enjoys any opportunities to extend her culinary skills. We look forward to a return visit from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
106
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Fay and Lindsay were so friendly and as I requested dinner upon the evening of my arrival I got to visit a bit with them both- I felt privileged to share their time. The food was fabulous and beakfast was really memorable with fresh juice aned homemade granola- fruit , cheese and yogurt and everything yummy you could dream of in the morning,.
The room was lovely and cozy- (I wa so happy to be warm) and the bathroom very luxurious.
I loved the location which was very private and I could walk to the nearest mall and nice restaurants in minutes and felt safe.
I also fell in love with their sweet demure little bijon frisee dog Zach!-Nothing was missing from this perfect stay!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
It is always our aim to provide a quality experience for our guests. Our homemade breakfasts are a great way to start the day. Thank you for your review, we are humbled by your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We spent the first and last nights of our honeymoon at Finlay Banks and enjoyed our stay very much! Fay and Lindsay (and their doggy Zac) were great hosts, and we especially appreciated Lindsay driving us to Christchurch's city centre to show us the aftermath of the quake. The couple also shared their family photos with us and made the experience truly personal. Now that's all above a beautiful home, clean rooms and a sumptuous breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aarongrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
We are glad you both enjoyed our personal style of hosting. We endeavour to make our guests stay as memorable as we can. Thank you for your kind words. we look forward to your return visit to explore more of our wonderful country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Well, where to start ! Fay and Lindsay are such a lovely couple, and run the best B&B we stayed at in our 3 week tour of NZ. Their house is very well designed, and they happily throw it open so that you get a real homestay experience. They were as enthusiastic to have us there as we were to be there. The bedrooms and bathrooms are equipped better than just about any 5 star hotel I have ever stayed in.
Lindsay very kindly picked us up from the station when we returned from Greymouth, and ran us to the airport when it was time to leave. We also arranged to dine with Fay and Lindsay on our last night in NZ, and what a treat that was ! I could hear no crashing of pots, and suddenly Fay brings out, what had to be the best meal we ate in NZ...not sure how you do it all so calmly Fay !
You are a great couple, who run a top quality B&B, and my only feedback to you both is, carry on doing what you're doing, don't change a thing.....it was perfect in every way !

Mark & Anna

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrownieHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in our home. We enjoy every opportunity to welcome new guests to share our home. Your kind words reinforce the quality experience that we aim to provide to all of our guests. We don't have sea or mountain views but pride ourselves on the quality, service and personal experience offered to all guests. We enjoy the company of guests dining with us and this becomes a highlight of their holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We had a wonderful experience staying with Fay, Lindsay and Zac. The house is located in a nice area, the room was clean and beautiful and breakfast delicious. Fay and Lindsay's knowledge about Christchurch helped us a lot with our plans and their company was delightful.
Would be happy to stay there again and recommend the place to anyone who enjoys great service and a warm feeling of staying at a friend's home.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlgaS200413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
We are pleased that you both enjoyed your stay in our home. We pride ourselves on offering a quality and personal service. Breakfast is an enjoyable opportunity to mix with guests and share our local knowledge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We really enjoyed staying with Faye, Lindsay (and Zak), so much so that we stayed with them twice. Their facilities are second to none and the welcome was genuinely warm and friendly. We stayed at b and bs almost exclusively during our 6 week stay in NZ, mainly so that we could meet local people and benefit from their knowledge. Nowhere were our hosts more helpful. Lindsay effectively saved us a day. We had planned our trip in such a way that we could only afford to spend one night in Dunedin but he spent time redrafting our route so that we visited everything we wanted to and yet were able to spend two nights in Dunedin. Helpfully he also, on our map of Christchurch, marked out the roads which were open which saved us a great deal of trouble. Lovely people. If all b and bs were like this wouldn't it be great?

Room Tip: We had the upstairs room which was faultless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
It's great to have guests return to stay with us. It confirms to us that we are doing it right. We are pleased that you enjoyed both your stays at Finlay Banks. We do try to make guests stays as comfortable and welcoming as possible. it is good the stay at a place and be able to relax and consider yourself at home. We really enjoy helping guests discover the hidden treasures of New Zealand and assist them in their travels. We look forward to a third visit to renew our friendship.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conflans Sainte Honorine, France
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Fay and Lindsay are really nice and lovely people. The house is beautiful, clean and well located in a nice neighborhood, near the river Avon. They told us a lot about the city and the country. And the breakfasts are very good. We had a great time in Christchurch with them.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AurelieBaptiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
We are pleased that the start to your honeymoon was pleasurable. It was our pleasure to be your hosts. Our quality standard is important to us. Breakfast is the opportunity to share information with our guests about our city and country. We take pride in providing in our home made breakfasts. Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.1 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,303 reviews
2.1 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
613 reviews
1.9 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 132 in Christchurch
647 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
#2 of 132 in Christchurch
828 reviews
2.2 mi away
Orari Bed & Breakfast
Orari Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 132 in Christchurch
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Property: Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Address: 7 Banks Avenue | Burwood, Christchurch 8061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality home hosted accommodation in an architecturally designed family home with two superior en-suite guest rooms. Enjoy genuine kiwi hospitality, delicious continental breakfasts and home cooked evening meals by arrangement. Centrally located to shops, restaurants, bars and theatres. The ideal base for regional day trips, for arrivals and departures from your South Island holiday or while in the area on business. Finlay Banks is a smoke free and child free property with off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing